We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for what we needed”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White House
Ranked #164 of 186 Galway B&B and Inns
Murrumbateman, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fine for what we needed”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We (two adults, 14yo and 11yo) stayed a night here during our drive around Ireland. The B & B was in a great location - enjoyed a beautiful meal in the village of Salthill at a lovely little restaurant (the name escapes me, but it has a piano and they have meal specials - great!).

The beds were a little tired, however we enjoyed a good night's sleep, followed by a big breakfast in the morning. Sharon was very helpful, however her offsider looked as though someone had run over her cat!

A beautiful part of the coast - would recommend to fellow travellers!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    44
    47
    28
    45
See reviews for
48
58
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This is a wonderful B & B. Not an upscale fancy hotel but a warm and friendly Irish place to spend several nights at a great price. Breakfast is included, Sharon is a local and knows where to go for dining, pubs, and almost everything else. Made our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

I must admit I was a bit weary about some of the reviews/comments in here, but nothing further from our experience: from the moment we arrived we were made feel very welcome. Our rooms (attic) were very nice & clean. If anything, the bathroom was on the small side, but still nice & clean. This was our first time in Galway, and we loved to find out we were only 15 min from the heart of the city, with al the pubs & restaurants at hand. 1st night we had traditional Fish & Chips @ McDonagh, in Quay St (Great food, but could do with nicer customer service). The next 2 nights, we discovered a little jewell, just a block away from Shop St: Finnegans (in the corner of Market St & Abbeygate St Upper), where we had dinner for 4 people, for €30. And it was plenty & good food.

We used this place as our base, as we explored nearby attractions as the Cliffs of Moher or the Aran Islands.

Back to the White House, we highly recommend it and we'll certainly be staying there again when we go back to Galway.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpanishGulliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

The room we stayed in (the bigger attic room) had so much character, space and a beautiful washroom with a jacuzzi. It was less expensive than the hostels in the city that we were trying to book and included breakfast. The staff were great. I would definitely recommend this spot. It's right on the promenade and it is a nice walk into the city, not far at all and very nice to actually be a little outside.

The bed was not the most comfortable bed in the world, but it does the trick and the hot water was limited in our room. But all in all, I'd really recommend staying here!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfoozalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Winter hit early in Nov. and boy did it hit. Temps were in the negatives and that was during the day. When we arrived at 3pm, we expected to be welcomed to a warm Bed & Breakfast establishment. This was completely the opposite. It was FREEZING. They told us the heat only is on from 5pm and they didn't even have the fireplace going in the living room. So we left and had dinner and a few drinks to warm up somewhere else. We couldn't even unpack or get freshened up, as it was too cold to take your gloves off. When we arrived back at 11pm, the place was still unbearable. We would have left and eaten the cost, if it wasn't in the middle of the night and a blizzard outside. We were told at that time that the heat goes off at 10pm and there was nothing they could do. Now I know this was a weird cold storm, but I can't imagine it being very warm in Ireland anytime. Shouldn't someone have control over the heat to adjust for the weather? During normal winter time, shouldn't the heat be on more? They brought us an extra comforter for the bed, but that wasn't even close to being enough.
I took the hottest and longest shower possible, dressed fully, put on my coat and went to bed. Barely slept because I was shivering and then woke up with the worst head cold that stayed with me for the rest of the trip.
I will never return and never recommend this place to anyone. Stay away if you think the weather might even be a bit chilly.
By the way, I am from the snowy mountains, so I am not a wimp when it comes to snow and cold.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctabtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galway hotels

Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

A friend from the U.S. visited Ireland for the first time and we stayed 3 nights at The White House. I chose this area because of it's proximity to Galway Bay and the Promenade. Sharon was very helpful and suggested two day tours which turned out to be fantastic. The breakfast each morning was superb and enhanced by the view of Galway Bay from the dining room. There was a lovely little balcony from where one could sit and have a cup of tea or coffee while taking in the lovely vista of Galway Bay. Very good value. We had a large, airy twin room which was more than adequate. Within reasonable walking distance to Galway City Centre or Upper Salt Hill. Very quiet at night, as well.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank eireseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel in august fot two days,myself husband twelve year old son 21 year old son and his girlfriend.we had been to a family wedding in county kerry and decided to extend our stay and travel to galway.we arrived earlier than expected book in time but to our friendly host that was no problem/we were given a spacious clean ground floor room and my older son an attic bedroom/we were informed of local attractions and information on local restaurants etc.the breakfasts were served in a lovely dining room with views over galway bay which had a balcony that you could sit out have a coffee read papers.we had a great stay great position too for the many treats in galway/definitely one place i would recommend!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynesslater45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 km away
Ocean Crest  B&B
Ocean Crest B&B
#33 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#34 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.3 km away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#17 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
0.0 km away
The Wave
The Wave
#126 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.5 km away
Sli Na Mara
Sli Na Mara
#18 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: The White House The White House The White House 2 Ocean Wave, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Galway Bay, offering luxurious accommodation close to all main amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing