We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good clean hostel but common room close at 10.30pm”
Review of Snoozles Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Snoozles Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good clean hostel but common room close at 10.30pm”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I stayed in this hostel for 2 nights with friends. The rooms were clean. The shower curtains were too short for the shower so the bathroom turned into a lake! The staff were very friendly on the phone but once we arrived they were not very nice and not accommodating what so ever. We wanted to have a couple of drinks before we went out to a nightclub however the common room closes at 10 pm or 10.30 pm. There was no pressure in the shower and the water was only lukewarm.

The hostel is in a great location & is great value for money.

Most hostels I have been to are great fun however this hostel doesn't tolerate noise & if you are looking for a hostel that you can have a drink and the craic in (like we were!!) then this hostel should not be for you!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    105
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
28
52
65
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tipperary
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

It was my first time staying in a hostel and i was pleased with it. Clean comfortable and great location. very reasonably priced and quiet enough for a hostel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandyryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I have not stayed in any other hostels but this was just ok the rooms were fairly clean but there was some kind of film on the floor and the bathroom had no hand soap and when we asked for soap they said they would bring it up and then we finally got it filled the day we left 10 min before we checked out. We had 1 extra bed in our room and they let someone check in after midnight when we had already gone to bed not a very nice wake up call. their breakfast is toast and cereal so not much for the "free" breakfast. It did have a nice location and the staff was nice but I don't have any desire to stay at another hostel anytime soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed just for one night. The only problem was that the shower didn't get so hot. The staff was nice and the room was clean.
Good location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We were looking for a triple room when I was looking for accommodations in Galway. I was having a hard time finding anything reasonable as this was also the Galway Oyster Festival week. I talked to my friends and we decided to give it a try. Then one of my friends became sick and we were down to to two. I kept the reservation and the first night we were in a room with two others. We asked for a private twin room and they did move us the second and third night. The girls the first night were so interesting and we really enjoyed them. The shower was to get a renovation the next day and wow did it need it. Our private room bath had been renovated but not hot enough and the shower curtain was so short that water went everywhere. The second morning we had a cold shower, the third morning a warm one since we told the staff. I borrowed the hair dryer and it rocked though. Do not use the shared computer, I lost so much money in that thing. Mostly just trying to log off of my email account, i had logged on and then it went to a Euro site and could not get back because it locked up. I put more money in just to be able to log off as this kind man warned me he got hacked when he didn't properly log off. Ok, enough of that. The breakfast had toast and cereal and was ok for the price. I don't know if I will ever do this again but tried it and the discount for the Galway tour company was fab and the location could not be beat. The staff was great.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flpab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bocas Town, Panama
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Great reception area, very modern and clean. Measures are taken to make sure your things are secured and safe. We stayed here two nights. 1st night we were in a 10 room bunk and as it goes with Hostels, no guarantee as to who your bunk-mates will be. The first night was a large group, loud and there to party hardy. Which they did and we didn't get much sleep, but that's to be expected. The 2nd night we transferred to a private double room on the 3rd floor. Slept great!
As for the amenities, the bathroom leaves a little to be desired. Water gets everywhere despite your best efforts and no way to dry it up and no where to really hang your clothes so they don't get wet. Maybe a sanitary bathmat would help as well as a towel bar? Otherwise great place to crash for a few days if your want to keep it the price tag down and be close to everything.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greerd2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I stayed at Snoozles as part of the Young Fine Gael delegation at the National Conference, Galway 2011! The event itself was fantastic so the accommodation probably wouldn't have bothered me, regardless of how bad it was. However, this hostel was far from bad!
The room I was in (Room 101) was adequately large, the beds were comfortable and the temperature was pleasant throughout the day.
I shared with 5 others from the delegation so it was always going to be quite difficult to get much sleep but that didn't really bother me. The hostel was fine so I would have got sleep had I wanted it.

As for the breakfast, I can't comment there. I stayed two nights but I didn't wake up in time for the breakfast either morning so that was a pity but I heard from colleagues that it was fine.

In the hostel, there is a common room, with television, video games, internet access, books, pool table, jukebox and even a keyboard. There is also a terrace for when it's a nice day! The hostel really caters for all the needs of prospective travellers so I would thoroughly recommend it.
If I am back in Galway any time soon, I will be staying here again.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonzostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
0.1 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,683 reviews
0.2 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.3 km away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 50 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.5 km away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 50 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snoozles Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snoozles Hostel

Property: Snoozles Hostel
Address: Forster Street, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Snoozles Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snoozles Hostel is a multi award-winning purpose-built hostel in the heart of Galway City. Our accommodation range includes dorms for 10, 6 or 4 guests along with double, single and twin rooms, female only dorms and family rooms - and every room is en-suite. Snoozles staff are friendly and informative and will give you all the tips on how to make the most of your time in the west. Ideally located in a semi residential area, beside Galway's City coach station yet only seconds walk from Eyre Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Snoozles Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing