We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Arus Grattan was my home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Arus Front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Arus Front
sea view standard double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Arus Front
sea view
standard double bedroom
salthill peer
quay st
long walk
connemara
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Galway, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
AnneAlexa...
Alexandra
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Arus Grattan was my home away from home”
Reviewed November 21, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My stay at Arus Grattan for the month of September 2012 was a delightful experience. I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in a friendly, centrally located vacation rental. The owner, Sean Treacy, was professional and very responsive to all of my questions and requests. In fact, just this afternoon, I was singing Sean’s and Arus Grattan’s praises to friends. Arus Grattan is a great value for your money, and I’d definitely hope to stay there if I’m ever lucky enough to be back in Galway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lassie2O0...
Hamburg, NY, U.S.A
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, Spacious, Convenient”
Reviewed October 11, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Found Arus Grattan a perfect stay for touring West Ireland. Our host, Sean was very helpful with lots of information. We were able to tour Aran Islands, Connemara, Cliffs of Moher and walk to the City Centre of Galway. It was a perfect combination of driving the countryside and walking to town. The apartment was spacious and clean with many amenities.

I would stay there again and would recommend it highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The closeness to town
Liked least: no complaints
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuntieJan...
AZ
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spotless Salthill Vacation Rental”
Reviewed August 18, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

If you love to walk this is the place for you! You walk one way and you are in City Center in about 15 mins. You walk the other way, and you enjoy the Promenade along Galway Bay, in 2 mins., The village of Salthill is around the corner! View from the the smaller two bedroom two bath apt.,while narrow, does overlook the bay and provides a welcome respite after a trip to the busy City Centr. Apt. is spotless, and the intrepid landlord is on sight every day! He is most helpful and there to make sure all amenities are ship shape. If you are a huge partier, ie, loud drinker, forget it. Premises is for respectful folks. No loud parties encouraged. Landlord, Sean, and his son are friendly and ready to offer helpful tips for your trip. Building is in a quiet spot and has a car park underneath. Furnishings are adequate and compact. Perfectly elevated dining bench provides an excellent view of the sea. Main bathroom is bright and and larger than ensuites. We stayed for 4 weeks and really felt at home. A great location, a great value, and a great space, makes for an excellent vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Liked least: Strong sweet smell in ensuite bath
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LG798500
Worcester
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed May 20, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We booked these apartments and from the online images we expected a fairly nice place but nothing special. We were wrong.

The apartment is very spacious and immaculately clean as well as being very modern. There was everything that we needed and wonderful shops close by.

Mr. Treacy was very welcoming and I would say to him "You undersell your apartment online. Boast more about it because it is worth it".

We had an excellent time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and cleanliness
Liked least: Cooking Utensils could be better quality
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royCapeTo...
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment,stunning view over Galway Bay”
Reviewed April 24, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay in the penthouse apartment on the top floor looking out over the bay. Excellent facilities and friendly, helpful attention and advice from our host Sean Treacy. I can recommend it wholeheartedly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dinalew
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spotless, comfortable apartment”
Reviewed December 14, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Our host Sean was very efficient with the booking & communication and very friendly/helpful when we arrived & during our stay. There is a detailed notebook of information for guest use and he also shared some ideas about where to eat during our short stay. The apartment location is about a 10 minute walk from the center of Galway village. There are groceries, pubs and restaurants within a 2-5 minute walk too. We would definitely stay at this property again if we make it back to Galway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway01
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish I had found this sooner!”
Reviewed October 16, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here recently for the Galway Bay half marathon (October 2011) – and had a fantastic week with family (5 adults). The location could not have been more perfect, the apartment was spotless and provided everything you could need to cook, do laundry, etc ( a huge savings over having to eat every meal out)
There is a spectacular view from the living room, kitchen and huge balcony directly overlooking the bay. (Perfect for watching the sun go down on Galway Bay!). The price was extremely reasonable and the owner could not have been more accommodating. Anything extra we needed, from a bed to extra parking spaces, was provided free. Parking is inside a secured locked parking area, which is comforting, and access to the apartment building is also locked. Sean was a great host and goes out of his way to provide anything you would need. He lives across the road so is always accessible. There is free wifi an iron, and hairdryer.
The apartment is perfectly situated directly on the "prom" (a 3 mile section of boardwalk) great for running, or walking. It is only a 10 minute walk from the Latin Quarter and the center of town. I grew up not far from here and only regret not having found this place sooner. I return to Galway almost yearly and this is absolutely the best place hands down I have stayed in over 20 years, including hotels. I will definitely be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic view and location
Liked least: leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing