We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Exactly what we needed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Martin's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Martin's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #65 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exactly what we needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

Always admired from across the bridge and now we got to stay in it. Could not think of anything to better it. The comments are saying it all. Enjoyed it immensely. Miss the dogs though!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mixedfeelings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    12
    2
    0
    6
See reviews for
9
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Proprietor Mary Sexton really helps put St. Martin's over the top. She is warm and welcoming, and very helpful in orienting your Galway visit. Of course the location is not bad either. St. Martin's is right on the river, just a block or so from the center of town -- near music, food and the sweet streets and alley ways of Galway. Great food, good prices. My wife and I and another older couple spent just one night at the B&B. Finding Mary and St. Martin's was the highlight of our visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David-Mila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

As we approached the place on foot, we saw a sign in the back yard. Mistaking it for one that we had called and that had no availability, my daughter said "I wish that was our B and B." And it was a wish come true. Mary was marvelous in all of the ways others have mentioned; kind, concerned, funny, full of good travel tips and a SUPER host. We loved tea-time (the bread and jam were great) and our perfect room (the one at the top of stairs to the left.) We would go back to Galway just to see Mary. We were away from our pets for a month and Mary let us play with Millie and Rambo (the two best-mannered dogs on the planet.) Thank you Mary! Be nice to her everybody; we want her to keep opening her home to travelers like us. (Mom and 26 year old daughter)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lunashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

Our stay at St. Martins' was one of the highlights of our trip. Mary and her two precious little dogs made us feel welcome from the moment we stepped over the threshold. She offered us a beautiful tea in the garden where we could unwind from our long drive. And in the morning served a delicious breakfast in one of the most charming dinning rooms. Mary really made the stay special because she clearly cares about her guests. Thank you, Mary!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

My husband and I stayed in Galway at St. Martin's B&B for two nights on July 17-18th. Mary is one of the nicest people we have ever met. She was extremely helpful and informative. We both felt like we were visiting a distant aunt. She was able to give us advice on parking, dinner, night life and places in the area to visit. She had a very clean, beautiful B&B. It is in a small area somewhat off the beaten path. Just a VERY short walk away you are in the heart of Galway. Galway is such a beautiful, friendly town. The view from the breakfast room is perfect and her food is more then we could ask for. Excellent service and quality. Her dogs are sweet and we enjoyed our room. There are only a few rooms, and ours was the first to the top of the stairs. We had our own bathroom which was very spacious and the towels were the softest and most beautifully smelling we have ever had!!! We got her secret ; ) The room's only negative was that it seemed a little crowded. It was a full and a twin size bed. We didn't mind much however because we spent so much time site seeing. The beds were comfortable and very clean. One of our best night stays. We will definately visit again!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erinkka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

We spent two nights here on our trip to Ireland and would have to say were very well catered for. Very friendly host and a relaxing atmosphere helped put us at ease. Location was just splendid. Would advise a stay here for firdt class access to all but the ability to return to a lovely environment.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redstone909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

I read all the reviews but couldn't find any pics - even had a tough time contacting the B&B (the only way is by phone - # is -------) but it was SO worth it! The only downside was that since it's in the city center proper there's no driveway but we arrived early on a Fri. night so Mary set us up with a place to park for free. Street parking is metered but free from 6:30 pm - 8:30 am. Our room was beautiful - lots of wood, so quiet & cozy! And even had two flat screen t.v.'s! Mary is so witty & welcoming we felt like we were visiting an aunt! Playing with her two pups, Millie & Rambo, was one of our favorite parts of the stay. And breakfast was delicious! Mary also had great recommendations for places to eat/things to do. The location is PERFECT - we were able to just leave the car & stroll all over. Overall, a great room in a fantastic location with a fabulous host all for EURO 70!! My only regret is that we didn't have more time to spend there... I can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvl_mama7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 km away
The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast
1.1 km away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#8 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.4 km away
Adare Guesthouse
Adare Guesthouse
#43 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Number 7 Cross Street
Number 7 Cross Street
#99 of 197 in Galway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.0 km away
Galway Arms Inn
Galway Arms Inn
#147 of 197 in Galway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.4 km away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 50 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Martin's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Martin's Bed and Breakfast

Property: St. Martin's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2 Nun's Island St, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
St. Martin`s b&b
St. Martin`s Hotel Galway
Bed Breakfast Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing