We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location not great - rooms are disjointed”
Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location not great - rooms are disjointed”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This hotel appears to have been built in various stages - the bedroom I stayed in was about a five minute journey to the room from the reception. The main lift did not bring you to the room. So you had to walk down to corridors over to another set of lifts and than down another corridor to get to your. Also if you don't get to park your car at the front of the hotel you might get a place down in their basement carpark. A fire alarm went off several times during the night. This I did but again there was no facility to bring you back to the main entrance. Food was average.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear 'Mary M',

Thank you so much for your tripadvisor review.

You are indeed correct that the hotel has been redeveloped in stages to become what it is today. We actually have a very interesting story of the hotel redevelopments which date back to the very early 1960s - we celebrated our 50th Anniversary on Saturday last having opened as a hotel on St. Patricks Day in 1962.

While we have developed over the years, we have worked the best that we can at all times in the planning to ensure guest convenience and comfort. With the original building dating back to 1840 it has meant that we have had to introduce two additional elevators to do so.

I am not sure what room you may have stayed in as it is not necessary to take two elevators to any of the rooms in the hotel. All rooms are accessible via one elevator or the gardens. Sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you seem to have experienced during your stay with us.

Apologies also for the inconvenience in relation to the fire alarm sounding. Unfortunately this was beyond our control at the time but we made every effort to silence them as quickly as possible and I thank you for your understanding.

We would be very interested to receive more feedback from you in terms of your dining experience with us. We are disappointed that you felt it only average but feedback is very important to us, and is always addressed where it is necessary to do so, so we would be very happy to discuss further with you if you would like to make contact with us.

Thank you again for having chosen to stay with us and we hope to have you back as our guest again in the future.

Warm Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    398
    192
    99
    61
See reviews for
369
548
34
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Ardilaun Hotel in Galway for 2 nights from 14th March 2012. Reception staff were excellent. Room and bedding were very clean. Breakfast was excellent. We would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear 'mary m',

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are deighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2012

My husband and I recently stayed in The Ardilaun Hotel. We had a very enjoyable time and were very impressed with the hotel. The rooms were lovely, very comfortable, the hotel itself had a lovely relaxed atmosphere and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. We ate in the hotel restaurant one of the nights and the food was great, the menu offered lots of variety and the service was excellent. I visited the beauty salon during our stay and really enjoyed the treatments, the staff were excellent and added to the experience. All in all it was a very enjoyable stay and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear 'edel h',

Thank you, most sincerely, for yoru very kind reveiw. It is lovely to know that you enjoyed your stay wtih us.

We look forward to the possiblity of having you as our guest again in the future.

Kindest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Ardilaun Hotel in Galway, Ireland during our trip to Ireland in March of 2012. The front desk personel were excellent, the rooms were very clean and comfortable and the restaurant/bar offered great food as well as a wide variety of beer, spirits and wine. The price of the room includes breakfast which is an "all you can eat" experience offering you a choice of eggs, ham, sausage, fried potatoes, cooked mushrooms, baked beans, toast, a variety of jams, cereals and fruit. The breakfast also includes tea, coffee, milk and a selection of juices. The hotel is a few minutes drive from the city center and from a "promenade" along the ocean. We used this beautiful hotel as a "base" for several days and found that it was convenient for everything we wanted to do.

Room Tip: I always ask the front desk personel about the rooms at the hotel. We will make a decision based on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rand H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear 'Rand H',

Thank you so much. We are very grateful to you for having taken the time to post your review following your recent stay with us.

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your trip to Ireland and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your Ardilaun experience.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Co. Donegal
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I stayed here recently with my wife and our 3 year old, check in was quick. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable.The breakfast was fantastic,one of the best and freshest selections of food I have had. The staff on at breakfast were extremely helpful and brought us a refill of fresh coffee without us having to ask for it. The bar is very nice and there was a great crowd in from the wedding that was on. We had dinner on the first night and it was really nice. I asked for my steak medium to rare (A request that seems alien to some establishments) and it was done just so. The leisure centre was clean and well run by the friendly staff and our son loved the kiddies pool.
All in all, we had a great couple of days. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KopGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear 'KopGar',

We are very grateful that you have taken the time to post your review following your stay with us recently and, more importantly, to know that you had such a good time with us.

Thank You.

We very much look forward to having you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kindest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fermanagh
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed in a standard room for one night. Very average room. Would expect more from a 4 star hotel. Room and bathroom very dated. Sound proofing awful. We could here everything in the hall outside and from the rooms either side. The double bed was very small. The reception and lobby are the only redeeming features of this hotel. We had to leave very early the next morning and were the first down to breakfast. We were a definite inconvenience to the waitress! Breakfast very basic. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonifermanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear 'Tonifermanagh',

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we are unable to ascertain the specific details of your booking with us so are not sure if you brought any of your concerns to the attention of our duty manager when you stayed with us.

All rooms in the hotel, which have not been involved in our redevelopment, are included in our refurbishment programme which is ongoing. I can, however, assure you that the double beds in the hotel are of a standard size.

I apologise that you feel you were an inconvenience to our waitress but can assure you that this certainly was not the case at all. Customer service is of the utmost importance to us. Throughout breakfast service time we offer a wide choice of hot and cold options and are always happy to facilitate personal preference requests where it is possible to do so.

Should you wish to consider and return to stay with us again in the future, we would be more than delighted to assign a very nice room to you.

Thank you again and we hope that you will return.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Kerry, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Was attending a wedding there with my wife and daughter, so we stayed for the convenience.(wished we didn’t) The hotel itself is set in a lovely, quiet location, While the staff were friendly and helpful, I found the hotel overpriced and dated the bedrooms let them down. 310 room was very small with 3 beds and poor bathroom (just check light over mirror caked with dust) very old fashioned, could do with new TV sets,linen,towels and furniture. What’s with the wall light fittings and the energy saving light bulbs that are way too big. Bedroom doors have an inch gap from top to bottom and you can hear everything thing that goes on outside. 312 window does not close properly and the noise from an air conditioning unit outside kicking in every 30min was very annoying, bathroom was better but water pressure was very poor and a lack of hot water. Bedrooms are very tired and in need of an overhaul, maybe knock the two of them together for a room fitting of the prices charged. 310 and 312 are not international standard 4star rooms just the outdated AA rated would be pushing at a 3 star http://www.theaa.com/travel/accommodation_restaurants_grading.html Above was mentioned at checkout with receptionist and put on her list. Hope the builders are on the way
Food was just ok, got bar food when we arrived, poor enough chicken wraps with cold chips, service ok. Breakfast got down early around 9am ordinary to poor - hot plate buffet cold and limited cold plate with yellowing cheese and crusty German sliced meat. Head to Aldi get some nice cheese and cold slices, won’t cost much. Very poor again for a 4 star hotel, very limited selection, food was cold on the hot plate, asked for poached eggs, got very under cooked poached eggs. Said nothing as the staff were getting enough grief from a CIE Tours International guide about the cold food.
It wasn’t all bad there is a fantastic gym, pool and the staff are very helpful.
Overall won’t be back as this hotel is overpriced!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Turners a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear 'Turners a',

We are most disappointed to read your review. Feedback is very important us to us here and is always communicated throughout the hotel to each department, is investigated and is addressed where necessary to do so.

The Ardilaun Hotel takes great pride in every aspect of the services we offer each and every guest or visitor.

We have looked into each element of concern which you have raised in your review.

The furniture in the rooms you refer to is new and all linen and towels which are used, as is the case throughout the hotel, are to four star standard. The TVs are large with good picture quality and the energy saving bulbs in the fittings are of a standard length. Maybe the reason you noticed the bulbs more is that they are fitted into downlighters. The water pressure in the rooms is in perfect working order as is both the hot and cold water.

The light over the mirror which you referred to was checked immediately once we read your review and it was free from dust. Our accommodation team ensure a continuous close focus in terms of cleanliness throughout the hotel and have recently been awarded the IASI Accommodation Silver Star Award in Accommodation Services.

All doors throughout the hotel must be, and are, in line with fire safety standards. The doors of the rooms you stayed in comply and are adapted with brushes on all surrounds of the doors.

In terms of food service, 09:00 is typically a lull time when the breakfast buffet would be in the process of being replenished after an initial busy period. At all times however, food is hot. We provide a wide variety of foods and juices to ensure that all tastes are catered for - including orange / grapefruit / apple / cranberry juices, wide range of cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit salad, apricots, prunes, grapefruit and melon. Our selection of cheeses and meats may be limited but are to a very good standard. Poached eggs are by request as they are cooked to order - from experience guests tend to favour them cooked softly but we are certainly happy to cook to personal preference once we are made aware of this. Our bread selection is specifically chosen to meet with all international tastes and a fish choice is also available each day. A selection of teas are also available as is coffee.

As mentioned previously, feedback is very important to us. All received is documented at all times. On the morning in question the manager on duty was Tom. Tom met with the CIE tour guide who was very happy with everything - he also checked with three CIE guests and they too were happy. In line with our focus on customer service, it is our aim that all who visit the hotel enjoy a most memorable experience with us and we welcome and encourage feedback.

We are truly sorry that you feel you did not experience what we set out to provide in terms of high standards and would be delighted if you would reconsider and return to us again at some point in the future.

Thank you

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.2 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,129 reviews
2.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.3 km away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,600 reviews
1.9 km away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
348 reviews
10.3 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Property: The Ardilaun Hotel
Address: Taylors Hill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing