We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family break”
Review of Galway Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Galway Bay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 22 April 2012

we had a lovely Easter break for two nights here and found the food was excellent
and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank con L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear ‘conl_l’,

Thank you for taking the time to post your views regarding your recent stay and for sharing your positive views with all trip advisor viewers. Thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel and all on the team are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

Your positive feedback is most welcome and I have passed your views on to all on the team – all have requested that I pass on to you a very sincere thank you! Your positive feedback regarding the excellent food is most pleasing as our Executive Chef and his brigade have restructured all menus in the recent past which are receiving superb feedback from guests.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Warm regards,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,610 - 2,616 of 3,241 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

Went with a group of friends for the weekend. Hotel was lovely, we had a huge room. Staff were superb and certainly went the extra mile. Hotel is well located beside Salthill Promenade and only a short journey to the city. Didn't get to try out the leisure centre but it looked nice. Will definetly be back

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eimeargDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear ‘eimeargDublin’,

Thank you for posting this review and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently.

I am delighted to read your positive comments regarding the superb staff – it certainly is very rewarding and a great boost to morale. It is a shame that you did not get to use the leisure facilities but I do hope that you had to opportunity to walk the promenade here on our doorstep – our numerous repeat guests call it our natural leisure centre.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to us at some stage in the future.

Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

excellent hotel...great location....professional staffs...probably you can not get better than this in galway....we went in March 2012 and very satisfied with our stay..

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tandra_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear ‘tandra_g’,

Thank you for your feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. All on the team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your positive feedback regarding the excellent hotel, great location and professional staff is most welcome and all on the team pass on to you a very sincere thank you.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Sincerely,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed at the Galway Bay hotel this Easter and really enjoyed our visit. The location overlooking the bay was great and the views stunning which could also be appreciated on the large terrace or from the conservatory. We were lucky enough to have good weather and walks along the bay were very scenic, alternatively a short drive, bus or taxi would get you into the town. We booked a superior room and it was both spacious and very tastefully furnished, not to mention the extremely comfortable bed. There was a bar, restaurant and coffee shop/cafe and food was very good in all of them. A key point was that we found all of the staff to be super helpful and friendly, will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed at Galway bay hotel for 2 nights. Location is fabulous if you get the right weather as beach is just across the road. Breakfast was fine but would advise not to leave it late for breakfast as you could be put in midday lunch restaurant and the tables in there are to small for a family of 4. Pool was basic and not very big but kids can go into jacuzzi once accompanied by adult.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBOYLE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear ‘NBOYLE007’,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently and thank you also for your feedback. All on the team are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us.

We serve breakfast in our Lobster Pot Restaurant daily, over looking the beautiful Galway Bay. We have a mix of all table sizes to suit all groups, large and small. The hotel has been recently refurbished and is receiving super feedback from numerous guests. All on the team look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed here with my daughter, Mother and Niece sometime back for a short vacation. The hotel is fine and I cannot say to much against it however I have never in all my life come up against such a rude and unaccommodating senior receptionist in my life. She was the one person who ruined our break by not facilitating us with some changes to the room for the two 6 year old girls. She told the children off on several occasions when they were playing and not doing any harm. I got the feeling that this particular person had notions of being the manager. On the other hand the manager of the hotel was very nice. I think the Galway Bay makes exceptions for this particular person and cannot really do much to deal with her.

It's a pity it went the way it did. I also heard other people giving out about this receptionist also.

Room Tip: Front facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillieEggery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Willie,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. Thank you also for this feedback. Needless to say, I am terribly embarrassed and most disappointed to read your review. Your experience certainly seems out of character with all on our reception team, indeed all on the hotel team. I can say with confidence that I have never received a comment such as this in the past regarding any member of our team. I have addressed this very serious issue and all on the team have requested that I apologise to you most sincerely – all are most upset to have let both themselves and indeed a very valuable guest of the hotel down in such a way. We live by our Core Values here in the Galway Bay Hotel of which they are very much a part of our everyday culture. Positive Personality and Flexibility are two of these Core Values and these have been addressed as part of our ‘Exceeding Expectations’ training programme – a programme whereby all members of the team attend structured daily training sessions in their respective department with specific emphasis on customer relations at all times. Unfortunately, you did not receive this and once again I do sincerely apologise. I would really welcome the opportunity to liaise with you in person as part my investigation of this very unfortunate issue. Unfortunately, I do not have a reservation under your name listed above and would appreciate it if you could drop me a line at dmurphy@galwaybayhotel.com.

Sincere Regards,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Spent a weekend at the Galway Bay Hotel and it was definitely an excellent choice. Staff went out of their way to make you felt as if it was home from home. Got the feeling that they genuinely wanted to as well - not just because a Manager may be watching. Food was not a patch on Masterchef! Need I say anymore. Rooms were fabulous and all at spectacular value. For anyone reading this, STOP and BOOK. I'll definitely be a returning customer!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Fiona,

Thank you for your very valued feedback and thank you also for choosing the Galway Bay Hotel for your recent rip to Galway.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and your positive feedback regarding the excellent quality of food, the team and indeed the bedrooms are all very welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Regards,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 km away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,601 reviews
2.4 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,027 reviews
3.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,855 reviews
4.6 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,744 reviews
2.0 km away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: $137 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galway Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Europe's Top 20 Resorts by the prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast, the Galway Bay Hotel is situated in Salthill overlooking breath-taking views of the famous Galway Bay and Clare Hills. The hotel is only 5 minutes from Galway City and is within easy access to Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way route. Facilities include fully equipped gymnasium, pool, steam room and sauna. The Lobster Pot Restaurant offers modern style cuisine with fresh fish and lobster from the tank. 'An Scadan Caoc' Bar has an informal dining experience with live music at the weekends. Complimentary broadband access in all guest bedrooms and conference suites is available also. The hotel provides an array of complimentary activities to all guests including; Wine Tasting, Ballroom Dancing, Beauty Demonstrations and more. During school holidays the Galway Bay Hotel offers family packages that include kids camp and family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Galway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing