We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,942)
Filter reviews
3,942 results
Traveller rating
2,675
777
336
100
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,675
777
336
100
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews galway bay the lobster pot restaurant harvest cafe dan murphy top class sea view kids club wedding reception wedding venue leisure centre from start to finish restaurant staff would highly recommend this hotel great weekend staff were so friendly food was lovely fantastic hotel
Filter
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 3,942 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

A lovely hotel which has become slightly outdated. Rooms are fine but again could do with a makeover! Shower and toiletries provided weren't great. Staff were lovely and helpful. Stayed 2 nights and breakfast both mornings was great quality! Had dinner in the restaurant one night and food was good but nothing amazing. The bar is bit dark and dingy so we sat out in the conservatory. In terms of location salt hill is nice if you get good weather. We were here in April and it definitely was too cold to venture far so we relied on taxis into city centre. If you're only staying one or two nights and want to see Galway city I would probably stay somewhere closer to city centre.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Niamh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan M, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear Niamh,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we welcome all feedback as this helps us improve and maintain the high standards that we are renowned for.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our location overlooking Galway Bay. During the coming months we are embarking on a refurbishment programme around the hotel.

We do hope that you will return in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dan Murphy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

We arrived last Thursday to a warm welcome. Our group consisted of two adults and two young kids accompanied by their two grandparents. The holiday started off with 2 x Easter eggs in the room for the kids as a surprise from the hotel, such a simple gesture created a fantastic buzz. We ate in the restaurant the first night and the bar the second. Both fantastic meals, no issue with the orders and small gestures from the staff made it great. The waiter delivered two desserts in the bar as the men in the group didn’t fancy something sweet. I think the bar man looked at our bellies as he came with four spoons in case we wanted to share. The small things matter. The bar decor was fab as it was recently renovated and the live music was great. Mary was very friendly but to be fair they all were on Friday night but I just didn’t get their names. The in laws are from Wales and couldn’t believe the friendliness, quality of the food and hygiene of the hotel. It was a Xmas present for last Xmas but I think it might become an annual trip after this. Thank you to all the staff, too many to mention. Great trip, great food, great fun.

The above is all based on opinion but To help travelers that might be interested the rest is factual:

Great coffee in the harvest cafe. The sea views are fantastic, bring good walking shoes. Flat large pavements along the sea front, fab for running or walking. The pool and gym are small but have everything you need, very child friendly. The city is a 15-20 min flat walk. There is plenty of parking. WiFi is good and fast. They have sky sports in the bar and live music. Great pint in the bar too. A very relaxing hotel and extremely child friendly.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank GALWAYSEEKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan M, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review of your recent family stay with us.

It's always a pleasure to hear such positive reviews from our guests. I'm delighted you enjoyed all elements of your stay and the team are thrilled that their hard work hasn't gone unnoticed.

Hopefully we will see you back in the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dan Murphy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

Had a mix up with the deal we booked. We were supposed to get wine included with our meal. We were told by reception to mention it to our waitress at dinner, however she didn't seem to know what we were talking about, sent my husband out to reception to tell them to sort it. They said they would ring through to the waitress to give us the wine, but this didn't happen. It seemed like the waitress just didn't want to know so we just gave up. Breakfast was also a major disappointment. Not usually fussy eaters but couldn't eat it. Lukewarm, left under heat lamps. Not good enough for prices being charged.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank elainemquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Once again we had another fabulous stay at the Galway Bay Hotel..What can i say. From check in with Catherine efficent and professional and so welcoming..Met with Carmel and Sergi who made us so welcome.This Hotel is home from home for us..Every detail of this Hotel is 5 star..We decided to stay an extra night and were looked after by Trevor thank you for making our stay possible as i know how busy this Hotel is..You are all so kind reason why we keep going back to you. I was sorry to be leaving today holiday over for now but see you all again very soon..I have recommended this Hotel to many...

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mmcleish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan M, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear Guest,,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide such a wonderful review. I’m thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all of the elements of your stay.

It is our duty to ensure that guests thoroughly enjoy their experience and I’m genuinely delighted that you did.

I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Dan Murphy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

Stayed here recently for a night, great hotel, fab food, service from staff is exceptional we particularly found Stephen very helpful throughout our stay, nothing we asked for was an inconvenience. We will definitely be returning

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank adinacostell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan M, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing this wonderful review.

We always hope that our guests enjoy every minute of their stay and thankfully judging by your review, it would seem that we succeeded in our efforts.

I will pass on your lovely comments to our team and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Dan Murphy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews