We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel! Clean and modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sleepzone Hostel Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great hostel! Clean and modern”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Sleepzone is one of the cleanest and more modern hostels I have stayed in.
We stayed in a double ensuite which was very comfortable and clean although it was a bit cold in our room.
The kitchen/lounge area is great! Free wifi and plenty of space to prepare meals and eat as well as quite zones with couches and chairs.
All the staff were friendly from the day we arrived and were more than happy to help with advice and recommendations.
Will be recommending sleepzone to anyone who is going to Galway :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ausamanda11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    194
    64
    17
    22
See reviews for
31
59
102
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Had a good time in Sleepzone. The place is extremely clean (apart from the foul smell, couldn't figure it out from where but not that bad and it came occasionally.) Good value for money. Big enough space in the kitchen to cook and big space for dining. Cosy corner with sofa for reading and stuff like that. Friendly staff, who helped me to call the laundrette before I went over, to check if it opens.

Overall, it is a good place to stay. No doubt about it. Worth for your money.

Room Tip: I didn't get any wifi from my room 14, coz it was all the way to the end of the building. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurAkmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2011

From my experiences from traveling throughout Europe I found that Sleepzone's cleanliness and utilities were of such a high standard.

I must say my stay in Galway was truly amazing due to the exceptional staff at the hostel. There was not one moment that staff were unwilling to help, and all staff went about their day with a smile. Stephanie was a stand out charcter for me, she knew Galway like the back of her hand, was stern on lay of the land but was might craic!

I would reccomend Sleepzone to every and anyone! I had such a lovely time there!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I stayed in this hostel with a group. While the rooms were clean and comfy we were never told about the no alcohol rule until we arrived. Any alcohol in our rooms unopened or otherwise was taken by the cleaners, they even searched through a girls bag to find it. I don't think any hostel no matter how nice, should think it's ok to search through people's belonging's.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dlax2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleepzone2011, Manager at Sleepzone Hostel Galway, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
We did not search anyone's belongings !

It's disappointing that Trip Advisor seems to allow anyone to say anything at anytime without any verification with management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Had a wonderful stay in Sleepzone this weekend. Staff were excellent and had great knowledge of the area, particularly Stephanie, who knows galway like the back of her hand!! Pleasant woman, well able to hold her own and lay down the law when necessary! Overall, everyone enjoyed their stay!! Thanks to Sleepzone and Steph!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdjk92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed here for one night in April. It was a weekend so it was very busy, as were all hostels in Galway. It's a decent hostel. The staff was friendly.

My biggest gripe was that my room didn't have lockers for my stuff (though you can rent lockers in the lobby, but it's inconvenient to go all the way down there).

The place was crowded and the breakfast area was full of tables squeezed together. Does its job, but I've been to hostels whose common areas are much more inviting and open to the solo traveler wanting to meet new people (more open space is what I crave...this is a personal preference so if you're like me you might feel the same). This would be a good place to go with groups. I saw several groups from different countries and they were having a blast. People with accents, from Germany, from France. Many cool travelers come here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triad47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incheon, South Korea
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed here with a friend in a 6 person room. The beds were comfortable and lockers were available downstairs. The kitchen was really nice too as was the dining area and the lounge. My only problem wasn't actually with the hostel itself but rather the other people staying with us. There were some really annoying French girls who kept coming in and out of room and the bathroom connected to our room had paper thins walls so even someone just turning on the faucet in the middle of the night was obnoxiously loud. The staff was really friendly and the location of the hostel is right off a few streets with restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alionr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
0.4 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.7 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
0.4 km away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 50 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepzone Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepzone Hostel Galway

Property: Sleepzone Hostel Galway
Address: Bothar Na Mban | Woodquay, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleepzone Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleepzone is Galway's leading hostel for over a decade. Much imitated but still not matched! Leading hostel in Galway on TripAdvisor. Clean, safe, friendly - and always great value for money. Daily discounted tours to Connemara and The Cliffs of Moher with Galway Tour Company departing from our front door daily. Free internet and Free Wifi (with international socketing). Superb, fully-equipped self-catering kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sleepzone Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing