We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed in the Forster Court Hotel as part of a group trip. The hotel is 3/4 minute walk from the train station and is right beside Eyre square. The rooms were bright, clean and comfortable. The evening meal in the restaurant was gorgeous as was the breakfast the following morning.
The bar staff were very friendly. Great spot, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    322
    86
    38
    8
See reviews for
110
404
35
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Lovely hotel, greeted by warm, friendly, helpful and efficient staff who kindly provided suggestions of how best to spend our time in Galway. The room was spacious, as was the bathroom, with large windows overlooking the street. The room was immaculate with a big, comfy bed. Good location - Galway is fairly small anyway, but the hotel is close to the main square and easy walking distance to the main shopping/drinking streets. Close to pubs and a convenience store. Close to bus station and parking was 10 euro for 24 hours. The restaurant was a definite win - delicious dinner, lovely wine and an unmissable chocolate fondant! We had dinner and breakfast included in our room rate and it was well worth it for 2 courses. Breakfast was also tasty, bacon and eggs, fruit, pastries, cereal, toast, juice and coffee. Definitely recommend this hotel, would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niall051, General Manager at Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear RebeccaM,
I would to thank you on behalf of the team at The Forster Court Hotel for your kind comments posted on trip advisor.
We are delighted that you had an enjoyable trip to Galway city, it is great to read that you enjoyed the food at the restaurant and our freshly cooked breakfast.
We do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Forster Court Hotel in the near further.

Best wishes from all the time.

Kind Regards,

Niall Coffey
General Manager
The Forster Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Decent hotel, dont be put off by the 5-10 minute walk to the shopping area. Room was a little small but not a concern, decent standard. Shower would have a been a problem if you're 6ft tall. Staff were great as was the food in the restaurant. If I wanted to be very picky there was a bit of street noise but didnt put me off. Galway is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leftturnclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niall051, General Manager at Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Totoahbelfast,
I would to thank you on behalf of the team at The Forster Court Hotel for your kind comments posted on trip advisor.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the food and found all the team to be friendly we have a number of room with walk in showers on your next visit please advise the reservation team and we shall insure to reserve you such a room.
We do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Forster Court Hotel in the near further.

Best wishes from all the time.

Kind Regards,

Niall Coffey
General Manager
The Forster Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012 via mobile

I gave this 4 stars because of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and they even smile while doing it! The room was a good size, and very clean. The all day breakfast was good. 1200 checkout is great and other hotels in Europe and the UK could learn from this. The bus station across the road is a bit noisy early but would not prevent me from staying again. Parking was a bit of an issue, and we needed to walk a bit. It would be a pest if it was wet. Like all the other car parks we experienced, the spaces are very small! Despite the boasts of many hotels, this was one of the few where WI Fi worked in our room. The hotel was well located.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank jaycar98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niall051, General Manager at Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear JayCar 98,
I would to thank you on behalf of the team at The Forster Court Hotel for your kind comments posted on trip advisor.
On your next trip we offer complimentary valet service , we will park & collect your car we have a special deal with the local car park of 50% discount to all our guests a cost of 10 euro per 24 hours, just pull up out side the door and let us do the rest.
We do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ireland and to The Forster Court Hotel in the near further.

Best wishes from all the time.

Kind Regards,

Niall Coffey
General Manager
The Forster Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Clare, Rep. Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

The Forster Court Hotel is in a ideal location minutes from the heart of Galway and Shop Street. The staff are welcoming and friendly and the food in the restaurant is high quality. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean.

Our stay was great value as we had a Groupon voucher but ordinarily the prices are good value and definately worth checking out if you're looking for a good quality hotel at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bercar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely time. The staff are very friendly and helpful and could not have been more helpful. The breakfast is served in the restaurant until 12 noon and if you dont make it in time for that then it is served for the rest of the day in the bar which is great. Had an evening meal in the restaurant which was excellent and reasonable. The bar seems to do very well for lunches so that is a great sign. Bed Rooms were a very good size and nicely decorated. Only fault I would have was the bathroom is very small but this would not stop me from going back. Overall a very enjoyable stay would recommend it as its only 2 min walk from Eyre Square.
Carmel. Co. Clare

Room Tip: Smoking rooms are all directly across the road from the Coach station so noisy in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carmel534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oz
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

could have no complaints with overnite stay,.... service, sleep, room all very good and cheap compared to the big smoke!!.....got great advice to eat down at Dail Bar in town centre, top spot and feed

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leonardo1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niall051, General Manager at Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Leonardo,
On behalf of all the team at The Forster Court Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on the Forster Court Hotel.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes from all the team.

Niall Coffey,
General Manager,
Forster Court Hotel,
Galway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 km away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#26 of 47 in Galway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.3 km away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#28 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.2 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#22 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
0.0 km away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
0.2 km away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Property: Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Address: Forster Court Hotel Forster Street, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Galway
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just off Eyre Square, the hotel offers you the freedom to explore Galway’s many attractions and festivals including the Galway Races, Galway Arts Festival and the Galway Oyster Festival.With 50 luxurious bedrooms and our newly refurbished "Elwoods Bar & Grill". The Forster Court Hotel is the perfect location whether business or pleasure. It has everything you want from a city centre hotel.With every need anticipated and no detail overlooked, Forster Court Hotel in Galway city centre offers style, luxury, relaxation and above all else professional and attentive service from our dedicated team. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Forster Court Galway
Hotel Forster Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing