We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely stay at the Skeffington” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skeffington Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Frankfort, Kentucky
1 review
“Lovely stay at the Skeffington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Spacious, clean, well-lighted, quiet room for a good night's rest. Delicious breakfast in charming historic dining room. Staff were very friendly and helpful - especially Stephen at the front desk, and our server at breakfast. We were too tired to enjoy the bar but it looked wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Guest,

On Behalf of the team here at The Skeffington Arms Hotel thank you so much for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and I really appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your experience. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all our staff especially Stephen, he will be delighted!

On behalf of all of us here at the Skeffington Arms Hotel, thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    145
    43
    26
    39
See reviews for
48
182
46
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
omagh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We were in Galway in July for a week or so. Stayed here for the most part. Staff were lovely and so helpful. Brill location and lovely rooms. We had a large one at the front. Had a lovely time in Galway and returned in Oct unfortunately not to the Skeff as they were booked out but will defo return again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tatertotsOmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on trip advisor and taking the time to let us know your thoughts of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here with us and will be sure to pass on your comments to the team here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you both back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Had a comfortable stay at the Skeffington Arms Hotel. Staff was genuinely friendly and helpful (especially Michelle at the front desk). Great location, room was generously sized, and bathroom adequate. Wonderful breakfast in beautiful setting. Looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank USA71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Dear Guest,

On Behalf of the team here at The Skeffington Arms Hotel thank you so much for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and I really appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your experience. I will pass on your kind comments to all our staff especially Michelle, she will be delighted!

On behalf of all of us here at the Skeffington Arms Hotel, thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Great location, helpful staff. Rooms cramped, dirty.Horrible heat, either suffocating or freezing. No heat in bathrooms! Fire alarm went off during the night and front desk said that happened all the time. Way overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask for internal room for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hootietigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Skeffington Arms Hotel and taking the time to submit your review.
I was delighted to read your comments about our helpful staff as we always place a high emphasis on customer care.
I was disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the room as our rooms are always cleaned to the highest of standards and we have never had any issues with cleanliness in the past.
Our rooms are fully heated with state of the art heating and cooling units and our bathrooms are fully heated as well including heated mirrors.
As we are a non smoking Hotel the alarm unfortunately went off because another guest was smoking in their room, they are brand new alarms and detect the slightest trace of smoke, we place a high value on all guests safety here at The Skeffington Arms however I appreciate that the noise may have inconvenienced you and I do apologize.
In relation to our rates we pride ourselves on continually offering the best price in the best location in Galway City.
100% Guest Satisfaction is very important to us and we aim to get this right with every guest I am saddened if we did not fully meet your expectations on this occasion.
Should you wish to stay in Galway again please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the Hotel on lisa@skeffington.ie and I will make sure your stay is an enjoyable one.

With Kind Regards,

Lisa Nee,

Front Office Manager,

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone?

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We decided to stay overnight in Galway on our drive down south. We rang around a few hotels and read a few reviews and the Skeffington read quite well. It was a Saturday evening, so we figured we would be paying a bit more for accommodation if we wanted to be in town. We booked the Skeffington.... well... for Euro 165 it was woeful. The rooms were tiny, no airconditioning... no safe, no nothing. It was horrid! Meanwhile, the breakfast was ok, but nothing special. If you can find somewhere else, it would be worthwhile to do so in my opinion.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having stayed with us recently and for your review here on trip advisor. As mentioned in previous review responses, feedback is very important to us and is certainly welcomed.

Trip advisor comments are very valued and we are happy that you used it as a decision making tool when booking your stay in Galway. Our hotel meets all standards to qualify for its three star rating. We have air conditioning in all our 24 rooms and also personal safes inside our wardrobes as you enter your room. Reception would have been more than happy to assist you with that enquiry. In relation to our rates, here at the Skeffington Arms Hotel we pride ourselves on offering the most competitive rates in Galway City.

Again, we thank you for booking with us. We would very much welcome the opportunity to have you as our guest again in the future. Should you wish to book with us again, please do not hesitate to contact me on lisa@skeffington.ie

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review.

Warm regards

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone?

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Islands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stayed at the Skeff for a short city break and was slightly worried about the noise from the bar so upon booking I asked for a quiet room. Check in was quick and efficient and I was assured that we were in the middle of the hotel and that there should be no noise. Despite it being a weekend and there being plenty of students about I slept well without any interruptions. It would seem that some of the rooms that overlook Eyre Square might be a bit noisier but I certainly had no issues on a busy Friday and Saturday night.

Breakfast in the morning was efficient and friendly and the manager who did the breakfast shift every morning is an asset to the skeff. Helpful, friendly and genuinely happy to help. Breakfast was good, a nice selection and the cooked breakfast was also cooked well and served in comfortable surroundings with a morning paper ready and waiting.

Staff overall were friendly in the hotel and the options for evening meals in the bar / restaurant were also good with fair sized portions representing good value for money.
The hotel has 24 rooms and is very well situated for exploring. The only negative I can comment on was that our room was slightly dusty and the small vent in the shower was thick with dust in room 207. The throw on the bed also had a few stains on it but I just removed that. Having said that the very generously sized shower made up for that and even though the room faced onto another room it still felt private and was accommodating. The bottled water in the room (whether it was spring or tap water I don’t know) was a nice little touch.

Overall we had a lovely stay and while housekeeping was not perfect, this could easily be improved on by the management and not a complete deal breaker.

I would recommend the Skeff to others as it is well situated, pleasant staff, good value for money and has a charming old world feel bar & restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottishExplorers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for talking the time to write your review regarding your past stay in The Skeffington Arms Hotel. I’m delighted to read your enjoyed your stay in the “City of the tribes”.

I was sorry to read that you did not rate our rooms positively and indeed your comments are taken on board straight away (which is so often noted upon positively on these reviews) and pricing levels / value for money (which I am glad to say are also are a constant positive feature of the reviews we receive both on Trip advisor and internally). Our team here at the hotel is among the friendliest out there, definitely something in the Galway water I think!! It is our ultimate goal to provide all of our guests with a high level of comfort and your kind comments really make all of the hard work worth while.

We are sorry that we failed to impress you on this occasion but we would appreciate the opportunity to host you again and prove that we strive to improve our standards.

Warm Regards,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone?

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed in a twin room with a friend as we were in town on my brother in laws stag party. In spite of it's proximity to the centre of town - and to the busy pub/club complex next door, the hotel was quiet, spotless and very nicely presented. Staff were warm and welcoming, the rooms were clean and comfortable...all round a very pleasant stay. Bit of a stroll across the square for car parking but I think that's true of a lot of Galway city centre hotels. Recommended for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review based on your stay with us at the Skeffington Arms Hotel, Eyre Square. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I really appreciate you taking the time to tell others.


On behalf of all of us here at the Skeffington Arms Hotel, thank you for being our guest and I really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 km away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#26 of 47 in Galway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.1 km away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#34 of 47 in Galway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.2 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#25 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
0.2 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#11 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skeffington Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skeffington Arms Hotel

Property: Skeffington Arms Hotel
Address: Skeffington Arms Hotel 28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Skeffington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a stay in the heart of the city in a luxury hotel, with everything on your doorstep for that perfect stay in Galway, city of the tribes. The Skeffington Arms Hotel is ideally located in an enviable position, overlooking the newly refurbished Eyre Square, within distance of rail & bus terminals & just a short stroll from an array of shops, restaurants, bars and theaters. With just 24 bedrooms, a strong emphasis is on personal service and attention to detail, so whether its business or pleasure our friendly and helpful staff will make your visit an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Skeffington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skeffington Arms Galway
Hotel Skeffington Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing