We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”
Review of Park House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed here just for one night the end of March...We were a group of 6 needing 3 rooms which we got a great rate by booking in advance on the website-no breakfast included in our rate but there was coffee and tea available in our rooms. We arrived in Galway at noon and took a chance that our rooms would be ready-even though we were very early. Two out of 3 rooms were available which was great as we could leave our belongings behind and explore the city! The bathrooms had heated towel racks which was a surprise bonus that we loved. Would stay again for sure! Location was great too-we could walk to pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marica810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,897)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,152 - 2,158 of 2,897 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

We just had Easter Sunday lunch here. The restaurant was packed, so much so that although we had booked some time ago we ended up in an overflow lobby type room.

The starters were very ordinary to be honest - clearly plated in advance. The main courses were very good. Three of us had the stuffed duckling legs and one person had salmon. We were all more than delighted with the main course. The desserts were again very ordinary - more or less thrown on the plate or into the bowl as I would do at home although they tasted well.

Serve was a little erratic - our main waitress was definitely a sub. The wine, a Malbec 2010, was fine although a 2008 was listed in the wine menu. The change of vintage was notified to me by the waiter. Strangely, for Easter Sunday there was no lamb on the menu! Overall a satisfying meal but for the price we paid I would not have expected some of the corners that were clearly being cut.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank LOGITRAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Bad place to stay in general although the location is fantastic. The room was clean although very basic. Felt like a budget hotel with the cheap furniture and bad customer service except the prices are anything but! At breakfast there was a very pushie, fake friendly, head waitress or maby supervisor 'talk lady with dark hair and a suit' who insisted on interrupting about 3 times along with the waitress another 2 times just to check was everything ok!! We had lunch in the restaurant one of the days only to find athe food was slaped up and tasted like it was just flung onto the plate without any tlc given to cool it. Despite all this we said we would give dinner a chance as we heard it was supposed to be good, and to be fair the food was nice and our waitress was genuine but the man who greeted us when we arrived was just simply rude. I believe his name was John. He made me feel like i never left work and my boss was still beside me shouting the odds. After my experience as a whole i will never return or recommend this hotel to anybody. Awful, avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AwfulOrFantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I have stayed a the Park House hotel many times , and once again stayed last week . To see that same faces in the staff year after year is a rare thing in hotels nowadays. They take pleasure in their work,Nothing is a problem. food brilliant warm friendly atmosphere large spotless room.Situated in the heart of Galway city. I Can not fault it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This hotel is one of the friendliest and most efficient hotels we have stayed in.
This was our second visit and it lived up to our high expectations. Everybody, from the porters, the receptionists, the waitresses to the managers were so cheerful and welcoming that we really felt at home. The example comes from the top and is set by the owner/managers who are so clearly interested in the excellent service provided by their hotel. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. The food is of a very high standard including the wholesome breakfasts.Having tried several others, in our opinion, this has to be the best centrally located hotel in the city of Galway.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms at the front are the largest, but the the ones at the back are more modern. Both typ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed for 2 nights with a couple of friends.All were happy about the hotel.
The rooms are quiet,spacious and very clean.Our rate included breakfast,which was a good idea,because it was excellent.The service including the valet parking was exceptionally good.
The location is a dream,it is right in the heart of Galway with lots of pubs and restaurants in walking distance.We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank men1908TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We had a wonderful experience at Park House Hotel. It is conveniently located betwen the train station and bus terminal near Eyre Square in the middle of town. The room we stayed in was recently remodeled and completely up to date. We had probably twice the space in our room at Park House than we had at either of the hotels we stayed in elsewhere in Ireland, with all the amenities you could ask for. While the hotel is conveniently located, which means there are plenty of pubs nearby, it was quiet at night. The hotel has an excellent restaurant and a bar, if you choose to be more casual. And the best of all of this is the staff was helpful and courteous. We would love to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
7.5 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,777 reviews
0.7 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,106 reviews
3.1 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
4.5 km away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,225 reviews
3.2 km away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Hotel

Address: Park House Hotel 18 Forster Street | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galway
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#2 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $140 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park House Hotel, Galway is conveniently located in the heart of Galway's city centre, with private secure car-parking on the grounds of the hotel. The hotel blends the warmth and personality of a boutique hotel with the style and luxury of a contemporary 4 Star international hotel. Guest accommodation comprises of 84 rooms divided into superior & deluxe rooms, suites and serviced apartments. The award-winning Park Restaurant is a favourite with locals and guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Park House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing