We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Home and Breakfasts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Almara House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Almara House
Ranked #11 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional Home and Breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

My family of four stayed with Matt and Marie in December, and must say we thoroughly enjoyed their accommodation, and wonderful choice of breakfasts including our favourite
Eggs Benedict with Hollandaise. The rooms offered fluffy towels and toiletries, and I loved the feel of the soft Duvets and memory foam pillows. We have wonderful memories of Almara House. Our GPS refused to work while we were in Galway and Marie kindly offered us the use of her Sat Nav.





us hers

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monica r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    44
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
52
130
16
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Was hard to find to start with. Room needs some update. Breskfast not too bad and very friendly owners.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 153Walt_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

We enjoyed our stay with Matt and Marie, who are very friendly and helpful, and have a lovely, extremely clean home, 5 min drive from Galway City center, and famous Quay St., in the Latin Quarter. My husband and I, as well as our adult children, found the ensuite rooms and beds to be quite comfortable, tho our bathroom was a bit small but fine. Matt escorted us to our rooms on the 2nd floor, and requested that we fill out our preferences for breakfast. The Eggs Benedict, and all other choices were perfectly done, and we all enjoyed our stay. Our children also enjoyed the dance clubs on Quay St. till the wee hours, filled with college students and young adults..they liked Galway the best! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie92_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

After last minute changes of plans, I needed to find a B&B quickly in Galway the day before we were due to arrive. Almara was one of only two places that could accomodate us at reasonable rates.

Upon arrival we were surprised to notice just how far out of the town centre we were, relatively speaking. Maps suggest that the B&B is within the town centre but the reality is it's a good 15 minute bus ride away. This wasn't a problem, the bus stop is not even 5 minutes walk away and the bus services were frequent, even on a Sunday, but it did catch us out initially. Location wise, unless you are desperate to be right in the centre of Galway, it's fine. Approx 1 euro each bus fare to go into town, and we paid between 8 and 10 euro to get back after dinner/drinks each night on taxis.

The accomodation is very clean and perfect sized for a couple with individual en suites for each room. Shower was slightly underpowered, I'm guessing because the water pressure for what is basically a large, family home is being redirected to a number of ensuites added after the fact perhaps. Our biggest complaint however was the bed and it was almost certainly to do with personal preference - our bed was one of the cheaper memory foam matresses (or it certainly felt like it!), but was too hard for us and both myself and I suffered from relatively poor sleep because of it. Not enough to ruin the trip and I'm certain this wouldn't bother others at all, but still was a disappointment.

Our hosts were very nice, friendly and helpful, giving advice on how to get into town, what to expect etc. as well as advice on our planned trip to Connemara. Breakfasts, which form a large part of any B&B experience, were good though not as spectacular as some tripadvisor reviews made out. Portion sizes were quite a lot smaller than I expected - for example, the sausaage with sweet chilli option is literally just that. I had expected a number of sausages, perhaps some egg, but a small bowl of chilli and three chipolata sausages was all I got. Tasty, but small. Other dishes were a little larger and you can fill yourself up on their toast if needed, but I was expecting more on this front.

Overall, it was a very good B&B and it's really only a couple of niggles, some unique to myself and my wife, that would stop me giving this place the full 5 stars. We realised after the fact that rather than feeling like a regular B&B it was like staying with grandparents which I think is testament to the care & attention our hosts put into it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indigo_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

While it was a little interesting to locate with a GPS (get good directions beforehand), Almara House was a wonderful stop along our journey. Our room was very comfortable, and had all the amenities we needed (alarm clock, hair dryer, etc. – we learned that not all B&Bs have alarm clocks and the like). Matt and his wife were very accommodating and were very helpful with directions on how to take the bus into Galway city center (it is not really walkable, though the busses are frequent). Breakfast was very tasty, with several unique options not seen at other B&Bs along our trip. We would highly recommend Almara House!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimandMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinebeck, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Almara was our first B and B in Ireland at the beginning of our two week experience, and unfortunately we judged everyone after on their model. Matt and Marie are true professionals, their home is immaculate, VERY tastfully decorated, nothing is overlooked. The breakfasts were the best we had during our two week tour of Ireland. Marie takes time with each guest, answers all your questions, makes you feel truly welcome. We used this location for visiting Galway, the Aran Islands and Connemara and it was very accessible. Almara deserves its 4 stars!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nybailey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Stayed here part of out trip across Ireland for our honeymoon. The couple that run this place are amazing !! They truly care about their guest. My new wife loved the homemade breakfast in the morning, she thought that it was well put together. We had the upper room at the top nice and big. The bathroom wasn't but we didn't mind.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
3.4 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
2.8 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
10.2 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.5 km away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
5.5 km away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 11 in Oranmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almara House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almara House

Property: Almara House
Address: Almara House 2 Merlin Park Merlin Gate | Dublin Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Almara House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an elegant AA 4 star family residence. Guide du Routard, National Geographic, Arthur Frommers, and The Italian Touring Guide recommended. Contemporary Rooms with complimentary WI-FI, Fridge, Hospitality Tray, Mineral Water, Hairdryer and choice from our Extensive Breakfast Menu. Located in the city suburbs just 5 minutes drive from the City Centre. Tours to The Cliffs of Moher and Connemara can be organized and you are collected from our Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Almara House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing