We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service ever.”
Review of The Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Western Hotel
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best service ever.”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We spent 2 nights in this hotel this week-end, and we were pleasantly surprised with the standard of service at all levels dining room, reception, bar and even the parking attendant was a pleasure to meet. Have travelled the world staying at hotels and on cruise liners and the service in this hotel would match the best of them. Thank you staff of WESTERN HOTEL GALWAY.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkSorcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    338
    116
    56
    42
See reviews for
212
318
45
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I was staying here while on a training course, got the single room with b&b which was excellant value. Room was very clean if a little dated looking but had all I needed. I found the bed and pillows very comfortable, suffer from chronic back pain but found no trouble sleeping. Food in the bar was excellant as well and a decent pint of Smithwicks! Majority of staff very friendly and approachable, but there was an exception, and willing to help when I needed it.

The only downside was the wireless connection for the internet which seemed to be very temberamental. It was only cured when the reception gave me a dongle which made a great improvement.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMcDonagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel on a Sat night whilst in galway to meet and go out with friends. The hotel is in a perfect location, walking distance to everything and easily found. The room was spotlessly clean and bed very comfortable, shower was excellent, breakfast however was poor but all in all good hotel if you just need somewhere to sleep in good location with a good price. Parking is free too

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annemarie1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

stayed in these apartments for a hen last year, they were fantastic!!!
great price, location and decor is fab!!!
and the view was great!!!!
would stay again!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycamper101Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed here a couple of nights. Good breakfast, Nice location, rooms were not special but were clean. Friendly staff. Great place overall. I will be going back for sure.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Rooms were not special, but they were nice, clean, and comfortable. A few blocks away from the main hustle and bustle, but we still could easily walk to the fun. Nice bar open late. Traditional breakfast (eggs, sausage, bacon, pastries, yogurt, fruit, etc.) was fast and good, I think it came with the price of the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We spent three nights here and the only bad thing to happen to us was the weather. { we cant blame the hotel for that :) }
The room was large and had a double and a single in it even though we only booked a double. The food in the restaurant was excellent and great value.
The Staff was very friendly and helpful from our very first minute to the last minute even after we had checked out. I would have no hesitatation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,826 reviews
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.2 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
0.2 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,715 reviews
0.6 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Western Hotel

Property: The Western Hotel
Address: 33 Prospect Hill (off Eyre Square), Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Western Hotel holds one of the most enviable locations out of all three star hotels in the West of Ireland, right in the heart of the vibrant Galway City Centre. Behind the Western's Georgian facade the hotel hosts charming en-suite bedrooms, a relaxing and intimate restaurant and a lively bar.For something extra special, The Western also provides 4 luxurious hotel apartments, just to the rear of the building. There is free on-site valet car park available for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing