We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome time in Galway!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arus Grattan Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arus Grattan Apartments
Ranked #15 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome time in Galway!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

The owner was very accomodating with our every request. The apartment was very clean and spacious. The owner went over places to visit & put together a binder with very helpful picture and information on tourist attractions. Our view was spectacular every hour of every day. I would highly recommend staying here. I would come again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bkadams88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    13
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
29
12
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

My trip was intended as a month-long personal retreat, and this place was ideal for that. It is in a quiet, mostly residential and B&B-populated area, with Galway Bay right across the street. The building and apartments are clean and well maintained. The kitchen was adequate to cook in. The owner was gracious and friendly, and though I didn't have many needs, I felt he was easy to reach and responsive.

It's not a hotel, so don't expect daily room cleaning or a front desk. This is definitely more for an independent traveller or someone who would like a reasonably-priced home base from which to go on day trips or enjoy the music and scenery of Galway City. It's got the basics of home, it's comfortable, and it's a great location.

A few things to make your stay better, if you're planning for more than a week like I did:

Hit the €2 Store the first day and get anything you need that's not already there. There are a couple of them in the city centre. For food shopping, Mortons is literally a 1-minute walk around the corner, but it's expensive. A little closer to town is a larger and less-expensive SuperValu, and further into town is an even larger Dunnes Store. Ask for a tutorial on how to use the combination washer/dryer, but don't expect it to dry the clothes too well. The owner provides a rack to hang clothes on; very bohemian :) The free high-speed internet is wired, so if you prefer wireless, bring along a wireless router with you.

Enjoy. Galway is a lovely place to spend some time.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BakerManDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2010

Would not recommend this apartment.
Priced the apartment, the man on the phone asked me 'What I was laughing at'. When unable to take the aparment - His reply was - 'GOOD'
Most unprofessional considering the price I was going to pay.
Actually left me feeling very upset.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank gemmak98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

It is an excellent pace to stay. It has all the comforts needed for time away from home. It is spotlessly clean, very secure, close to all shops and amenities, and within walking distance of Galway City. The prom is directly across the road, and the view from the living room window was great. The owner was always gracious, helpful and available. I was glad of the privacy. While I spent a few weeks on my own there, I enjoyed many activities in the area, and I could recommend it for couples or families. I hope I can return! Galway was within easy walking distance, and so it has become my favourite city!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marionreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

We rented a 2-bed apartment and were very happy with it apart from the trace smell of cigarettes in the living room. Fantastic location in Salthill, Galway. The living room was very small and we would have preferred a proper table to eat at instead of the breakfast bar arrangement, however, bedrooms and bathrooms were bright, clean and super. Owner was always around and ready to help with anything.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

If you are looking for something close to a U.S. style condo, Arus Grattan is your choice. While modest (not luxurious), our 2 bedroom apartment was perfect for what we wanted - a place for two couples to relax for a few days where we could easily socialize and get our own breakfasts. A welcome break after a hotel in Dublin, and ahead of our B&B touring after Galway.

Our unit was complete with kitchen, sitting room, and balcony with a view of Galway Bay. The unit has internet access available as well - a nice bonus. While we didn't have a car, there is parking available. You can make arrangements for the tour buses to pick you up right in front of the apartment, which we did with the Galway Tour Company.

We suggest you take cabs into Galway - you can't find parking anyway - and it is hard to get out of a pub without a couple of Guinness.

The location is just about perfect, with a grocery around the corner, and pubs and liquor/beer sales just down the street in Salthill. There is also a great local pub a block down the street, PJ Flahertys, with locals playing tunes some nights. We had a great evening there.

The owner was very accommodating to our multiple inquiries, to our changing arrival schedule, and made us feel welcome and at home.

Each of the bedrooms had a bathroom with shower. We had two single beds in one room and one double bed in the other. The owner set us up in advance with an extra single bed so we were in good shape for four adults. The beds are very very firm - a foam topper would be a nice touch. The owner responded positively to our suggestions on this and pillow quality.

If you are looking for a few days on the water, close to Salthill, easy access to Galway, with a condo-like set-up, and a gracious owner, Arus Grattan is the place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPLD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

We had a great time on holiday in Galway/Salt Hill. Convenient location with parking near amenities and short walk to Galway proper. Stayed in Grattan House not Arus grattan apartments as mentioned on webiste but just few doors down. Close to local playground, nice markets, restaurants, and pubs. Clean and comfortable with good set up for a group (3 bedroom apt).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlrrcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.1 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,784 reviews
2.0 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,589 reviews
1.2 km away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
2.0 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.4 km away
Jameson Court Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arus Grattan Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arus Grattan Apartments

Property: Arus Grattan Apartments
Address: Grattan Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arús Grattan Holiday Apartments provide the very finest holiday accommodation. These Irish Tourist Board Approved 4 star one and two bedroom apartments are architecturally designed to meet the highest standards. Comfortably furnished with all modern appliances including direct dial phone, broadband internet, hair dryer, cloths iron, cable TV, video, radio/CD, full kitchen with washer/dryer, microwave oven. Electrically heated throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Arus Grattan Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing