We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we wanted in a B&B”
Review of The Harp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Harp
Ranked #45 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything we wanted in a B&B”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Joan's B&B The Harp is conviently located for a short walk to Killarney. Joan is very friendly and helpful, the room was very clean and comfy, the breakfast was excellent and finely presented (she even had maple syrup from Canada). We ended up staying two nights. The price was right, too. You won't be disapointed!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
44
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is by far the very best B&B during our 2 week trip in Ireland. Joan was a very gracious hostess. Her home is in a great location - a short and pleasant walk to town. Joan's home is immaculate, modern, comfortable and beautifully furnished with many 'decorator' touches. We especially loved the lounge area with teas, coffee, and cookies available. It was a very relaxing and inviting room to relax in. Breakfast was perfect - and you could choose from several items from a menu that was provided. Joan went out of her way to make us comfortable and even gave my friends daughter a separate room since we came during a quiet time. You won't be disappointed you booked with Joan. Thanks for making our stay so welcoming. Cece, Peggy, and Claire.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cece s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, CT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Joan welcomed us right in, even though we arrived a little on the late side (after 7:00). She put on a pot of tea for us, gave us some suggestions for the area and showed us to our beautiful room. Everything has clearly been updated in the house as the bathrooms were impeccable (such pretty tile I took a photo to try to find it at home!) and the beds were beyond comfortable. Her breakfasts were delicious...full Irish if you desire and if you want something lighter, she'll make you delicious scrambled eggs to have with fresh fruit, yogurt & cereal. The muffins and brown bread were the best we tasted the entire trip! When we went to drive around the Ring of Kerry, she gave us suggestions on places to visit that were off the beaten path and were one of our favorite things to see. Wouldn't think twice about recommending this B&B to a friend and would stay here again in a heartbeat! Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelmhanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilltown, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2011

my wife and i would like to say a big thankyou to joan and erika for the verry warm welcome we recieved when we arrived at your door for our 2 nite stay at ur b&b it was our 1st time we liked it so much we have booked for june 2012 our room was lovely clean &fresh the bed was comfy the breakfast was great we were spoiled for choice #we highly recommend the HARP B & B joan is a wonderfull friendly host thankyou again for making our stay so special

Room Tip: our room was at the rear nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnjardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

The hostess was welcoming and friendly. We enjoyed a large, clean room with a modern bathroom en suite, and an excellent "full Irish" breakfast--the best breakfast of our trip. The B&B is located in a quiet neighborhood, a short drive into the town of Killarney, and the price was reasonable. We HIGHLY RECOMMEND this B&B!!

Donna and Tom

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerly, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed at 6 different B&Bs while traveling in Ireland and Scotland and Joan's breakfasts were the best. She was very helpful in advising us. The location was close enough to the center of Killarney to walk.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyLady2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Very friendly Family (especially with the kids) and number 1 Breakfast. Very close to Killarney town centre and many amenities. We will go back there again and recommend it to our friends. Thanks Joan and Erika!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckdandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.2 km away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#25 of 38 in Killarney
477 reviews
1.6 km away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
733 reviews
2.3 km away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#8 of 140 in Killarney
380 reviews
7.8 km away
Douglasha House
Douglasha House
#1 of 4 in Fossa
70 reviews
2.0 km away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#31 of 140 in Killarney
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harp

Property: The Harp
Address: The Harp Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Harp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing