We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An Irish Dream - Centrally Located - Old...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Priory Coach House and Courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Priory Coach House and Courtyard
The Living Room in the Coach House The Living Room in the Coach House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
The Priory Coach House and Courtyard
The Living Room in the Coach House
The Living Room in the Coach House
The Living Room in the Coach House
View of the Stairs in the Coach House
The Kitchen in the Coach House
Stairs in the Coach House
Bedroom in the Coach House
Bedroom No. 2 in the Coach House
Bathroom in the Coach House
Coach House Sign
Coach House
View from Aghadoe of the Lakes
Derrynane on the Ring of Kerry - 90 minute drive
Ballaghasheen Pass 25 miles away
Half way up Torc Mountain (10 Minute Drive Away)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Killarney, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Jens K
Liederbach am Taunus, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An Irish Dream - Centrally Located - Old Stonehouse perfectly fitted”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in July 2013

The house is huge for a vacation rental - over 2 floors
The landlords were extremely nice - they let us use the barbecue at night as well - actually they live next door in a smaller house - as they are vacating the larger houses during peak holiday seasons
The house has a wonderful character - still perfectly new fitted from the inside. You will not miss anything. I would 100% recommmend this house to everybody.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueCanoe...
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An Tigin -- Elegant cottage in a great location”
Reviewed January 23, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We spent a week in the An Tigin cottage at The Priory, not the Coach House. But our stay was so nice I wanted to get this post out. In fact, An Tigin was almost perfect! We've told friends it was the best place we've ever rented and we've done a lot of self-catering in Ireland.

The well-equipped kitchen is top notch, the shower large and gorgeous, and the bedroom was the biggest we've ever had in Ireland. And there was a real closet! Even though there is a kitchen counter with stools, we missed having a small table and chairs to eat at, so we brought in the patio furniture and that worked just fine.

Tim was the one who handled our booking but was away during our stay. Bernadette was friendly and attentive to every need. She made sure we had wood and turf for the stove and was always available to answer any questions we had. The first morning she asked if we'd been warm enough the night before and when I said we were a bit chilly, she immediately set the heat for warmer and we were cozy the rest of the week.

The location is fabulous for heading out Muckross Road to the National Park or a drive around the Ring of Kerry. We never walked into town, mainly due to the weather that week, but it would be doable on a lovely day I think.

We'd go back in a minute and would love to stay in other cottages in the complex.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just loved the cozy atmosphere and decor of An Tigin cottage.
Liked least: No dining table and chairs.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanetrea...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A charming home base to visit County Kerry”
Reviewed December 26, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Tim and Bernadette were most gracious hosts. They checked in several times throughout our week long stay to see how things were going. One of the days I was trying to make some kindling out of larger logs and Tim showed me where there was an available supply. When we initially arrived they also made sure we knew where everything was and suggested how we could spend our time.

What I wish I had known before booking - Town is too far away to walk.
What delightfully surprised me - The easy access to amazing places in Killarney, you don't even need to go far to enjoy everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the fireplace
Liked least: not being able to walk into town
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine T
Dover, New Hampshire, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming and beautiful”
Reviewed November 24, 2014 for a stay in October 2012

We were a group of 6 people staying at the Priory. There were delicious scones waiting for us on arrival in the fully equipped kitchen. The property is beautiful and the owners are very friendly and helpful. There is a lovely stove in the living room that burns peat and warms you up after a day of experiencing Irish weather in the nearby Killarney national park (a must see). This was the best place we stayed in Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald C
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed September 19, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I tried to post this when we first came back but something went wrong. We stayed for a week in April and I am so happy we found this place. There are several different options but we stayed in the Coach House which was amazing. Plenty of room and all the amenities you would need plus the charm of history. Coming back to a peet fire after a long day of exploring was absolutely perfect. We also had unbelievable weather while there. It was sunny and gorgeous the entire week which apparently is completely unheard of. If you will be in Killarney and need a place do not stay anywhere else, you cannot get any better. Never met Tim but Bernadette was there to help if we needed anything, but for the most part we were happy to be on our own. Her handy laminated guides to different attractions were so awesome. We checked out places we would never have found without her help. Skellig chocolate factory for one. Imagine a willywonka style chocolate factory set into the impressive countryside with nothing around it. I'm sure they employ everyone within 20 miles of it. And it's soooo good. As for Ireland in general we had a great time. Food was way better than expected and not as expensive as we planned. Most of the people are amazing but we found a couple of pubs that were not so friendly to outsiders which was a bummer. Plus they kick everyone out at around 11 but let locals stay. Not cool and not very warm. But there were plenty of others that were friendly. All in all a 99% perfect trip and The Priory was a huge huge part of that. Will be back for sure if I am lucky.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Liked least: I could not think of anything I would change
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaymartin...
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely loved our week at the Coach House and Killarney in general. The house was amazing, well-equipped, wam and beautiful. The town was amazing, the people friendly and we loved the 'jarveys' - the horse and carts which took us around the beautiful National park. The owners were friendly yet discreet. We had the best time!

Gay and Sam

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and the amazing countryside
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne M
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The ideal location for a relaxed vacation in Killarney”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is my second visit to Killarney, which is one of the friendliest and welcoming communities in all of Ireland. During my visit in 2012 I stayed at a hotel in town. However, during this visit I stayed at the Priory Cottages, which are owned by Tim and Bern O'Donoghue. My extended family and I rented three of the units on the property. I stayed in the one bedroom cottage, which was beautifully decorated, spacious, quiet, extremely well-appointed, and very comfortable. Tim and Bern are the most generous hosts, and are always available to help, answer questions, recommend restaurants, and arrange for transportation. I am looking forward to returning in 2015!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing