We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”
Review of Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake Hotel
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here for one night. From the moment we arrived we were happy. We were greeted with a smile and a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe, lakeview room.

The hotel provides a tranquil and beautiful setting. Situated about 2km from Killarney town, there are many local walks around the lake to enjoy. The lounge bar and restaurant also share the beautiful views.

The original building dates from the 1840s so has a nice old-world character. Many of the bedrooms are in the modern extension, which blends in well.

We will definitely go back for another visit.

Room Tip: Get a lakeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinMED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,662
    370
    98
    27
    13
See reviews for
399
1,288
48
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

An absolute gem of a hotel, certainly one of the most picturesque location we have ever visited, Family friendly and friendly staff,
This hotel could not be beaten for views and the suites that overlook the lake are to die for.

Room Tip: request lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucystoneDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed for six nights and tried every service and amenity. My heated rowel rack and lovely room were at the top of elegant stair case. Lovely bar and two gorgeous restaurants all with lake view. Lounge with old mansion feel had huge fire roaring all day with comfortable wingback chairs. I got a bargain rate on Booking.com.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth88H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Kerry, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Spent a lovely night here with my husband for our anniversary on 14th April. From check in to check out, couldnt fault the place. The setting is breath taking. Our room was beautiful with spectacular lake view, and a jaccuzzi in the room, not in the bathroom now at the end of the bed, fab. Our meal in the restaurant was delicious, flavour of the food, service, everything perfect, as was breakfast next morning, such a great variety. Will certainly go back, a special mention to front office manager Breda, excellent at her job, always so pleasant.

Room Tip: Has to be lake view, magic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandNene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just back from Killarney and the wonderful Lake hotel. What makes the hotel so wonderful is the staff, I couldn't say enough about them, from the moment I rang the hotel to book the rooms the receptionist was so courteous and helpful she couldn't do enough to get me what I wanted for my party of 6 (sorry don't remember her name I think it was Heather) and when we arrived we were greeted by 2 more lovely ladies, they were full of smiles which was lovely and they chatted to us and organised the rooms which were fabulous, we were up graded to the new wing without asking which was a much appreciated gesture. I would say try a visit to the Lake hotel you will love the grounds around it, its great for a stroll before or after dinner and its peaceful and charming. The bar had lovely music trad of course on Saturday night and Sunday was quite which was lovely it was nice to chat and there again the bar staff were very helpful and nice to the customers. Whom ever employed the staff I say well done, they couldn't do enough and that was all of them. Ring and they will give you a good rate and a very enjoyable stay to look forward to. Will go back again hopefully soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mellysue17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is one of the gems of the South of Ireland. Wonderful family run hotel in wooded lakeside setting .Drive in and let the world go by .But should you decide to check out the area the sights are spectacular.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view room and watch the local deer roam around hotel grounds at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnOFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We decided to book into the Lake Hotel because of the reviews on Trip Advisor.We had a beautiful room with a lake view and this room had a very comfy armchair by the window to give a perfect view of the lake and one could sit there for hours as the views are absolutely stunning.
From the moment we walked in we were welcomed and greeted by everyone there.The service was excellent.Breakfast in the mornings was first class-quite the best hotel breakfast we have had for a long time.I unhesitatingly recommend this hotel and already looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
5.9 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.9 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,201 reviews
1.6 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,389 reviews
6.4 km away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
945 reviews
2.3 km away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hotel

Property: Lake Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#16 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Hotel is a friendly Family run hotel, Free Parking, safe secure, environmentally sound hotel on the lake shore in Killarney. The Ring of Kerry begins and ends at the Lake Hotel. We will give you a traditional Irish welcome from the Huggard Family and Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing