We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Killarney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Killarney
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good little getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed at the property in May, it was a great little get away!
The rooms were large and the bathrooms are in good shape.
The bar downstairs was great, lots of space and food was yum! They have live music on a saturday night and played a rugby game while we were staying so there was a great ambiance to the place!
It is a short walk into town, so if you are less mobile then may not be the best place for you but there are always taxis :)
Would def recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    191
    138
    53
    21
See reviews for
213
171
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Went off season and the hotel was a bit eerie, however the rooms are quite spacious and the food is good quality. The water in the pool was cool for the kids but the hotel is clean and good value price wise.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Friendly helpful staff, both receptionists we dealt with were great. One, a German lady (sorry, didn't catch her name), really went out of her way to be helpful.

Have stayed in both Double room (two large double beds, not a lot of space around) and a Suite, two separate rooms and bathroom off a small corridor.

They do seem to offer many packages and deals and the deal we got was very good.

Pool is small but clean.

Breakfast was ok, but I do understand the 'Holiday Inn Express' comment made by another reviewer. Veggie options thin on the ground, but the kitchen obliged with some poached eggs and mushrooms when asked.

Bar food - was ok for a toasted sandwich and a kids meals (breast of chicken potatoes/veg) looked ok, if very large. At least provided a healthier option than the usual kiddie fodder (also on the menu).

Room Tip: Suites, a good size, a long way from the lift. Both rooms had issues with window catches, the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GIE68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

We had a fantastic few days in Killarney for the Easter break and a huge thanks goes to Misja & the staff of the Holiday Inn who made us feel very welcome. We had a family suite which was ideal for the trip - the rooms were very clean, bright & spacious and there was a little kitchenette that proved a useful addition. The facilities were very good ... the kids (and parents) enjoyed using the pool and they made great use of the kids club in the evening, in particular, they enjoyed the evening show (exotic pets) that was put on by the hotel. The breakfast we got in the morning, gave us a great start for the day (wanted for nothing). The hotel is very well located with a 5-6 minute walk to the town centre and 5-10 minute drive to most activities. We met plenty of families who enjoyed the excellent atmosphere that was created by the staff in the hotel. Overall, a great stay and we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Our regular room (121) was going to be a squeeze for us (family of 4, kids aged 9 and 6) so were able to upgrade to junior suite for extra e30 per night.
We stayed 2 nights.
Lady at check-in was very helpful. (Irene, I think?)
Room 151 on ground floor was adequate with separate double room for mum and dad, kids were in a single bed and a camp bed in the living room. The sofa was also convertable if required, although not at all supportive for sitting on! The fridge was very useful for our kids' snacks etc.
1 wall light in living room needs a bulb fitted. I forgot to tell reception about this.
Extra pillows etc were delived immediately when requested.
Bathroom was nice clean and bright, but we showered at pool changing rooms after swimming (we went 2 times every day!)
Room 151 is very close to the pool and gym, with no nuisance noises at all.
Pool- water was clean and warm. Got a little busy during swimming lesson times, but on sunday morning was nice and quiet. Our kids had a blast in the pool. Us adults enjoyed the steam and sauna baths also.
Hotel corridors were a bit tired, carpets are a bit 'lived in'.

Dinner was included 1 night and was very nice.
Kids food (extra @€9 ea for 3 courses) came very quickly and was good too.
We had sirloin steaks (€5extra) which were lovely. Vegs and desserts etc v good too.

Breakfast was included (kids extra €5 ea per day) was great, porridge on request and lovely hot cooked buffet, cereals breads juices etc. The self serve toaster machine was quick and actually worked! :-) -unlike most other hotels'! Tea & coffee were hot and freshly served. No fruit available when we ate.
Padraig the waiter was very attentive at dinner and breakfast, well done him!
The bar/pub was clean and well operated, good beers and soft drinks, and was well supported by guests and locals too, friendly atmosphere.
Our kids enjoyed a game on the pool table.
Lobby was comfortable, with plenty seating and open gas fire.
-Perhaps the lobby furniture could be rearranged in a more informal style? No complaints though.
But as a budget hotel Holiday Inn Killarney fitted the bill just fine.
We would consider staying again as a family

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClonBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I recently stayed in the Killarney Holiday Inn with my wife and kids, and overall was not impressed.
On arrival, nice lady at check-in, friendly and efficient. Room (a family room) was clean and fresh. Bathroon clean and basic stock. The single wall light in the room was not working - basic room cleaning should see this. All table lamps were hard wired and working. Only one double socket available - not much use in a family room where kids want to plug in and charge/play electronic items. One socket of the double not working - switch broken - again basic maintenence. So one available socket in the entire family room. One spare pillow available - request for more not followed up.
No wifi in room - only internet through tv or wired connection to tv unit (RJ45 cable supplied ) and charged extra for it - € 4.95 for 1 hour or € 9.95 for day. Total ripoff. "Free" wifi in bar not working.
2 cups and 1 spoon in this family room - take turns having a cuppa. Room service breakfast on time and nice food. Charged € 5 per person to deliver breakfasts. Starting at a reasonable rate, when all the extra charges were added it became quite expensive. Room cleaning did not replenish, tea/coffee sachets or sugar sachets.
Very little storage space in room. Open unit behind door to hang clothes and one shelf over this. Could use a shelf unit.
A number of small annoyances but together they mean we will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinKerry62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

stayed two nights , staff were very good.room was clean and tidy and the breakfast was very good. ideal base for walking.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baglanjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 km away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
10.9 km away
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#3 of 3 in Fossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.4 km away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#27 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#21 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.9 km away
International Hotel Killarney
1.0 km away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#36 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Killarney

Property: Holiday Inn Killarney
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Killarney 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Killarney, your haven for all seasons, located quiet yet central in Killarney town on the famous Ring of Kerry road, close to all the amenities and everything Killarney has to offer. We pride ourselves as the perfect place for a getaway: great staff and efficient service, always good value, exciting dining options, live entertainment and full leisure facilities. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Expedia, IHG and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Killarney Hotel Killarney
Killarney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing