We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hostel”
Review of Neptunes Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Neptunes Hostel
Reviewed 17 November 2017

A basic hostel. Had some nice features but the wifi did not work in dorm. Had to go down to lobby or dinning area to use it. I did not like the womens bathrooms. Very cramped and water all over the floor and no place to hang up clothes etc while showering. Staff very helpful in arranging day tours.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stella k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

The location is great, in the centre of kilarney, staff are very friendly and helpful, we stayed in a private double room, very basic a bit run down but good for the money we paid, and lovely hot shower, WiFi was poor, overall would definitely stay here again, breakfast provided in the morning.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Siobhán D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

We booked a night stay for 3 adults and a child, we got a room in new part of the hostel and it was great, small but comfy, and the stuff was really friendly and helpful, it's in the centre and close to park, restaurants, pubs and stores, they don't have a car park, but will show you where you can park for free.

Stayed: November 2016
Thank DonLuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Great location, complete kitchen for guests. However, their reception staff is very unhelpful and unfriendly.
Me: Hi, do you guys have a different wi-fi router for the 3rd level?
Receptionist: sure, what's your room number?
Me: 20
Receptionist: oh no, never mind we don't have wi-fi.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the lower levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Basic room, Very clean. Ideal for an over night stay in Killarney. Great location in centre of Killarney. Very friendly staff. Check out by 10am. We stayed in a double en suite room in a separate building, very quiet.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ozzy_horse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

arrived at 3pm sat, paid deposit. we went to our room and got a knock on our door saying someone of you probably didn't pay as I have looked at the till and it doesn't add up..we were then told we could pay when we check out. I got a phone call while I was in town eating at a restaurant saying that if I didn't come down and pay in full I would not get in. I will not stay here again..

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cathal f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We arrived late on a Friday and check in was super easy and very friendly. We stayed in a double room that was spotless, the bathroom and shower were super nice. We unfortunately never got to try the breakfast, due to being lazy in the morning, but we know they offered one, :) We were in the middle of the town and easy walk to everything, and some great restaurants and pubs along the street. We felt safe, since there always was someone at the reception and were available for advice on what to do and see. So thank you for a lovely stay! :)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
611 reviews
1.1 km away
Killarney Court Hotel
Killarney Court Hotel
#31 of 38 in Killarney
881 reviews
2.1 km away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#24 of 38 in Killarney
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
791 reviews
4.5 km away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
58 reviews
0.3 km away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#2 of 47 in Killarney
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptunes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptunes Hostel

Address: Bishop's Lane | New Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range: C$28 - C$92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap, Cheerful, Clean and Green!! Low prices, friendly and knowledgable staff, all the amenities you could ask for, free breakfast, free internet/wi-fi, satellite TV, clean and secure, and now as green as the landscape around us. We have recently received a Silver rating from Green tourism, an organization dedicated to reducing our impact on the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Neptunes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing