We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“warm and comfy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paddy's Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paddy's Palace
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“warm and comfy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

my stay was good, i was here for 3 nights at 8 euro a night you cant complain, breakfast was included and the shower had good pressure.

Room Tip: get a dorm room to meet other travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank victorialucy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddys Palace K, Manager at Paddy's Palace, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Thanks for reviewing! Glad you had a good stay and met some interesting people :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    29
    23
    24
    15
See reviews for
1
21
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed there a few weeks ago with my friend. Had room 3 beside the "common room" nosiest room EVER!! We'd a double bed in our room, the matrass was like sleeping on a bed of rocks it was so uncomfortable... The curtains were broken so we'd light coming in the room at the crack of dawn. Room was freezing and the heater wasn't working in the room. Also the room would want a lick of paint! there was a hole in our celing also which creeped me out!!
We'd have been better off paying for proper accomodation and getting an enjoyable experience elsewhere

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Killarney hotels

Clare, South Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed at this hostel as part of a Paddywagon Tour. the checkin staff were very helpful, breakfast was terrible, we went out after seeing what was on offer, but we had a bunk room with ensuite which was a bonus. There was only one sheet folded in half on the bed with a quilt, by morning I was sleeping on the mattress protector which was gross.
Overall good location and good staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Not much to recommend the place. The carpets were dirty, the curtains were ineffective, some staff totally indifferent, although others were nice and helpful (Sean). Breakfast was poor, tesco carborad cereal and cheap bread jam and juice... The showers were hot for some of us in the evening which was great but not in the morning. Beds ok pillows thin and worn. And how come its not called a hostel? el marked off on all the signs????

Room Tip: room 7 was further from the common room so a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, MO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Paddy’s Palace, Killarney Ireland is in a good location just off the beaten path. Many of the towns attraction are just 1-2 block away. Paddy's offered the second night free with a two night stay. We did like the accommodations, but if we were to return, we would like to see what other accommodation are available in town. Of course the big attraction is explore the lakes & Killarney NP.

Pros:
* Good location.
* They had peanut butter!!!!
* Bathroom En suite.
* Our hostess was great, and she kept the kitchen and place VERY clean.
* NOTE - there is free, off street parking in a public parking lot just two blocks away (next to St. Mary’s Cathedral).
* Free WiFi.

Cons:
* The building was under renovation so the kitchen and common room were temporally in the same room (May 28 & 29, 2011).
* No elevators to the upper floors.

Room Tip: Being off the main streets the rooms were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2sassytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

I stayed here as part of a Paddywagon tour, and on arrival was met by the lady in reception (sadly I can't remember her name) on our tour we had a challenging character who was immediately rude to the lady on reception insisting to be dealt with first, interrupting as she gave us all the briefing for the hostel etc. The lady was fantastic though, and remained polite and patient throughout, despite having a customer being exceptionally rude to her.

I stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm with en suite facilities, which was amazing, particularly after spending a long time in 10-14 bed dorms with one shower to share. The shower itself was high powered and hot (and the temperature could be adjusted - another novelty!)

The locality was good, just a short walk from a couple of really nice pubs, and when I arrived home alone at 2am I was greeted by a night porter who was also pleasant.

The kitchen was clean and the breakfast provided was good.

Fantastic hostel and credit to the staff!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_the_explorer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Overall I was happy with the accommodation at Paddy's Palace. The rooms were very basic but that's what I expected for the price I was paying. I did have an issue with one of the staff members being quite confrontational at first, but from then onwards she was lovely and really helpful and provided us with information about bike hire and tours etc. The hostel itself is a bit dingy, you walk in and there's nobody there and you actually have to go upstairs to find the reception/kitchen area which is a bit weird. Myself and my friend stood there for quite a while wondering what we were meant to do! Breakfast wasn't great either but if you're not fussy then it's alright. It's fine for the price you pay, I didn't mind staying here at all.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank redpanda91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 km away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#20 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.1 km away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#1 of 47 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.2 km away
Neptunes Hostel
Neptunes Hostel
#7 of 47 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Purple Heather
The Purple Heather
#4 of 6 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 km away
The Laune B&B
The Laune B&B
#131 of 145 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.8 km away
Railway Hostel
Railway Hostel
#43 of 47 in Killarney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddy's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddy's Palace

Property: Paddy's Palace
Address: 31 New Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Paddy's Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paddy's Palace Killarney is a nice little hostel in the centre of the town, 5-minute walk from the bus and train stations. It has free Wi-Fi , a well-equipped kitchen, dorms and private en-suite rooms. The hostel can assist you with arranging trips around the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing