We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”
Review of Railway Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Railway Hostel
Reviewed 27 October 2011

A really helpful, welcoming and friendly place to stay. The staff are really helpful and give you ideas on what to see and do. They can’t really do enough. The service was far better than you would receive in a hotel. The hostel is basic and in no way upmarket or posh but offers a comfortable, clean and reasonably priced stay in a great location. The town has over 50 pubs so you wont be bored however the pub prices and food are pretty expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmelbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

I have stayed in this hostel twice now, both times in the 10 bed dorm. The beds are comfy and the sheets were all clean. The toilets were very clean as were the showers.
The hostel is really well situated, 1 min walk from the train station and 1 min walk from the town!
The kitchen was a bit industrial with a many gas hobs in the centre, but it seemed fairly well equipped (but i'm not certain as i never cooked here).
There is an area with tables to eat and hang out in, but the room didn't have much character.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
There was also a free luggage room and lockers to rent for €1.
The free breakfast is a bit grim with just some cereal and toast, but for €10 a night it was a bonus really!
Overall, it's a good hostel with very cheap prices!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KeenanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

staff could do with brushing up on their social skills - the entire time we were there, we didn't even get eye contact from any of them, let alone a smile. VERY noisey at night, which i'm afraid to say, was the fault of the staff as most of the noise was due to the excessively loud t.v - which is situated in the kitchen... a tiled room with no doors - not exactly ideal! unless you have ear plugs or very strong sleeping pills - or both - i would not recommend a stay there!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fthisnamething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I got there with a friend for a weekend before doing the Kerry way.

We got there on thursday. It's in the city center so it's really easy to get to all the interesting things there.

Rooms were clean and comfy. Maybe having a closet or even an extra table could make our life easier, but it wasn't really necessary.

We also enjoyed the big kitchen. It was really easy and comfortable to use.
Paying was easy and immediate and we didn't need much actually.

They have a free wifi internet which you can use with your own device, but they charge for using their computers.

We were in en-suite room

Room Tip: Just ask for an en-suite room. Cost more - but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkk1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This was the first hostel I stayed in, in Ireland anyway, and I have to say it was nice, great value 16 euro, and considering hotels are still ripping us off I thought that was great considering what it's used for:) ideal for large groups, have twin and double rooms too :) ideal location across the road from train station and 2 mins walk from town!!! No parking but car parks near by!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucyloublue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Thriving 100+ bed hostel offering dorms as well as double rooms. We stayed in the so-called dolphin room on the first floor: big en-suite room with à double bed and à single bed! Nice shower, clean room, ok bed, what more can You ask from à hostel really? We paid 52€ altogether, including à self-catering breakfast from 7.30 until 10ish made up of toasts or cerealls, with tea and coffee also available. We had à nice noise-free night, quite rare for à hostel...

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riddleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

*Clean and Safe
*Nice and helpful staff
*Nice sitting room and self-kitchen

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lukeav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 km away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#2 of 47 in Killarney
102 reviews
5.3 km away
Killarney International Youth Hostel
0.6 km away
Neptunes Hostel
Neptunes Hostel
#9 of 47 in Killarney
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 38 in Killarney
598 reviews
4.2 km away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
4.9 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway Hostel

Address: Fair Hill Cottages Railway Lodge 12 Fair Hill, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range: $28 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killarney Railway Hostel is situated across the road from the Bus and Train stations in the heart of Killarney Town. It is close to the famous Killarney National Park and an ideal base from which variousother beautiful destnaions may be explored. The Hostel has everything one would need for a pleasant vacation including complimentary breakfast, self catering Kitchen, 24 hour recepton and FREE Wi Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Railway Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing