We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lake Hotel(Killarney)
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Gleneagle Hotel(Killarney)
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eviston House Hotel(Killarney)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Heights Hotel Killarney(Killarney)(Great Value!)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
15
6
15
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
6
15
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack valleykerryhostsaccommodationsireland
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 41 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2016

This B&B is off the beaten path and is a great location for hikers as the area is mountainous and beautiful. My wife and I stayed 2 nights and used this as a home base. You must see the Gap of Dunloe. Our hosts were great,the room was good and the breakfast was very traditional. Another must stay B&B!!!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph Dianna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2016

My husband and I spent one night here during our Kerry Way hike. The farmhouse is isolated and since there are not many available places to stay, our provider booked us at Hillcrest. Our bedroom (#6) was on the second floor and it was the smallest bedroom I have ever seen--think "doll house" tiny. This room (and bathroom) are really cramped and short of space. The real issue was that it was extremely hot in the room--we could only leave windows open until dusk as the owner came upstairs to make sure we closed all windows due to small, black flying insects (midges). It was so hot we had to leave our bedroom door open all night.

As others have noted, due to the remote location we had dinner at the farmhouse. We chose sandwiches and soup for dinner @ 12 euros per person. We were hungry after a long 17 day hike, so the ham sandwiches/soup were good. Breakfast was sparse with very limited options--no fruit or yogurt offered--small serving of scrambled eggs and bacon.

Overall: The hot, cramped room was miserable...I was glad to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACM1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2016

We stayed at Hillcrest Farmhouse on our first night of hiking the Kerry Way. From my understanding, there are only 2 or 3 available places to stay in Black Valley, so there is not much choice. This house is fine and provides the basic needs. Bed, hot shower, breakfast. The common room is not very welcoming. Also, it seems you get taken advantage of just a bit in terms of dinner. They charge 27 euros for what I would also say was a pretty basic meal.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank akimbrell21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2016

We stayed here during our walk along the Kerry Way. Hillcrest Farmhouse is conveniently located, right off the Kerry Way. As others have noted, the accommodations in this area are very limited ... and I couldn't help but feel the owners took advantage of that fact when setting their prices. Mary, our host, was very welcoming and offered us tea and biscuits upon our arrival -- much appreciated after a long day's walk. We enjoyed it in the lovely, flowered garden area outside the front door. Our room was nothing special and was somewhat cramped with two double beds crowded into a moderate-sized room. However, it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom, too, was rather cramped. Since there were no alternatives in the area for dinner, Mary prepared our dinner and we opted for the full dinner (salmon or chicken entree) at 27 euros apiece, plus a bottle of wine (16 euros). It was nicely prepared. We also purchased the typical trail lunch for the next day (8 euro).

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NHtraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2016

We stopped here while walking the Kerry Way. Our hosts were quiet and fairly private. We ate dinner there as there is no where else in the area to get a meal. Breakfast was also just okay. Our stay was average but I'm not sure there are other options along the path.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews