We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay - Enjoyed It”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillcrest Farmhouse
Ranked #101 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We stayed here one night while hiking the Kerry Way - it is in the middle of no where. The owners were very nice. Robert is very quiet and reserved but Mary is much more the conversationalist. They were both very kind and made sure we had what we needed. The house was very clean - the room was perfect and the bathroom was quite spacious. We enjoyed our dinner which they prepared. Very good soup and sandwiches and fruit. For breakfast we had eggs, toast, bacon and juice. It was perfect - we enjoyed our stay and would stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vicki802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stayed here one night while hiking the Kerry Way. We had read other reviews and knew the owners were not going to be as gregarious as other hosts might be. Saying that, Mary and her husband were nice enough. We were served a good dinner (even though for 26 euros, we thought it was pretty expensive) and got a good nights sleep. We also had a normal full Irish breakfast in the morning. All in all, it was just fine.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMurphy211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

This B&B is off the beaten path and is a great location for hikers as the area is mountainous and beautiful. My wife and I stayed 2 nights and used this as a home base. You must see the Gap of Dunloe. Our hosts were great,the room was good and the breakfast was very traditional. Another must stay B&B!!!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph Dianna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

My husband and I spent one night here during our Kerry Way hike. The farmhouse is isolated and since there are not many available places to stay, our provider booked us at Hillcrest. Our bedroom (#6) was on the second floor and it was the smallest bedroom I have ever seen--think "doll house" tiny. This room (and bathroom) are really cramped and short of space. The real issue was that it was extremely hot in the room--we could only leave windows open until dusk as the owner came upstairs to make sure we closed all windows due to small, black flying insects (midges). It was so hot we had to leave our bedroom door open all night.

As others have noted, due to the remote location we had dinner at the farmhouse. We chose sandwiches and soup for dinner @ 12 euros per person. We were hungry after a long 17 day hike, so the ham sandwiches/soup were good. Breakfast was sparse with very limited options--no fruit or yogurt offered--small serving of scrambled eggs and bacon.

Overall: The hot, cramped room was miserable...I was glad to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACM1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

We stayed at Hillcrest Farmhouse on our first night of hiking the Kerry Way. From my understanding, there are only 2 or 3 available places to stay in Black Valley, so there is not much choice. This house is fine and provides the basic needs. Bed, hot shower, breakfast. The common room is not very welcoming. Also, it seems you get taken advantage of just a bit in terms of dinner. They charge 27 euros for what I would also say was a pretty basic meal.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank akimbrell21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016

We stayed here during our walk along the Kerry Way. Hillcrest Farmhouse is conveniently located, right off the Kerry Way. As others have noted, the accommodations in this area are very limited ... and I couldn't help but feel the owners took advantage of that fact when setting their prices. Mary, our host, was very welcoming and offered us tea and biscuits upon our arrival -- much appreciated after a long day's walk. We enjoyed it in the lovely, flowered garden area outside the front door. Our room was nothing special and was somewhat cramped with two double beds crowded into a moderate-sized room. However, it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom, too, was rather cramped. Since there were no alternatives in the area for dinner, Mary prepared our dinner and we opted for the full dinner (salmon or chicken entree) at 27 euros apiece, plus a bottle of wine (16 euros). It was nicely prepared. We also purchased the typical trail lunch for the next day (8 euro).

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NHtraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016

We stopped here while walking the Kerry Way. Our hosts were quiet and fairly private. We ate dinner there as there is no where else in the area to get a meal. Breakfast was also just okay. Our stay was average but I'm not sure there are other options along the path.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
11.7 km away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
10.1 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
11.1 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
604 reviews
8.6 km away
The Dunloe
The Dunloe
#1 of 1 in Beaufort
707 reviews
11.8 km away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Farmhouse

Address: Gearahmeen, Black Valley | Killarney, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing