We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and house”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Killarney, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Hankwisco
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and house”
Reviewed October 9, 2018 for a stay in September 2017

We enjoyed both the layout of this stay, along with the short walk to the night life. It was hard to find the little alley-way when we first arrived with our GPS, but once we found it, we loved it. We had some great late night walks to the bars and restaurants. Likewise, we used it as a home base for day-trips in the surrounding areas. Worked out great ---- highly recommend this rental.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marian B
1 review
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed July 16, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This home was in a great location to walk to wherever you wanted to go. It was clean and very nicely appointed and ideal for a family. The only recommendation is to keep basic staples such as spices and coffee filters so it's easier for your guests to actually make meals.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terry2119...
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Place”
Reviewed June 11, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We just completed an extended stay at Sheena's Rick Road house and it was just perfect. A few reasons why:
1)Location- it is a 7 minute walk to the holy Trinity of Killarney night life- Speakeasy, Laurels and Reidys. A lot of places advertise "walking distance to town, but Sheena's place is truly a short, comfortable walk. It is on the north side of town so you miss all the muckross traffic and it's super easy to get to the gap of Dunloe, Dingle, Tralee, etc.
2) The house is very spacious, clean and has all the amenities you need. The kitchen is fabulous; Both ensuite bedrooms are massive and very nicely decorated. My wife and I had other couples stay with us and we all had plenty of room.
3) quiet/ the house is detached and set off the road so you don't hear neighbors or traffic.
4) Sheena our host/ owner was terrific- she went out of our way to make sure we had everything we needed ( like extra wine glasses)and had tons of information on local attractions.

I can't say enough good things about this place and we have already booked it for 2019!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailF686
Picton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice house. Great proximity to town.”
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We have had a very comfortable time at Rock Road House. It has everything one would need for a multi day stay in a really nice town.
Unfortunately the couple who were supposed to share this house with us had a last minute family emergency and had to cancel. I told the owner this in case there could be a partial refund but she said she has no control over that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peakrat
Thornton, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Perfect Basecamp for SW Ireland Exploration”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This house is new, ultra clean, comfortable, very quiet, and within walking distance of downtown Killarney. We spent 9 days there and it literally felt like home by the time we departed. Sheena was easy to work with and answered our stream of emails. We had plenty of logistical questions coming from the U.S., and she made several good suggestions for us - for instance, renting a car in Shannon, vs. using the bus system to get to Killarney, and then renting. Also her restaurant and grocery shopping suggestions were spot on. We would definitely stay there again if in Killarney.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review.
I had no issue at all to answer any emails and questions you had before travelling. I enjoy helping guests get the best out of their holiday. You were both a pleasure to deal with. Hopefully the net time you visit we will be able to meet.
Kind regards,
Sheena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2012Cathe...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a great location.”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Rock road house is a really lovely house in a great location. It's very handy to town, definitely within walking distance. The bedrooms are large and the kitchen/dining area is very well equipt and comfortable. If you are lucky enough to get good weather, there is a nice area outside for eating and relaxing. Only two minor points; the electric shower is so loud it will definitely wake everyone else in the house. The house is also quite hard to find as it down a little lane. We spent about 10 minutes driving up and down the road trying to find the street, a little sign would be very useful here. These are minor points though and I would definitely recommend it for two couples or a family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review.
I do leave a detailed map with directions to the house for you but I do understand that some people do still find it difficult to find, the road is indeed very tight and hard to see initially.
With regards the electric shower, it is a triton t90 brand new shower, im afraid that is how loud all electric showers are. There is also a second shower available, that is not electric plus a bath, so plenty of options, if you are finding it too loud.
It delighted you enjoy the house plus the location.
I would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyP1...
1 review
“Great location to explore Killarney National Park”
Reviewed May 3, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A good place from which to explore Killarney National Park and the surrounding area. We visited without a car so used public transport and walked. It was only 5 minutes walk to the town and its restaurants, 10 minutes walk to the centre and 15 minutes walk to the bus station and cinema on the other side of the town.

The house was well-equipped and very clean and new and all rooms were very spacious. It was also a very quiet location with very little traffic noise. There was plenty of space for a car (though we didn't bring one with us).

The buses were good and we were able to get around Ireland, e.g. to Tralee, bus trips and to Cork and the airport easily.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
Thank you for your kind review.
I would gladly welcome you back to rock road.
Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing