We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ann S
Belfast, United Kingdom

Exceptional Hotel

Review of The James Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 18, 2024
What a wonderful hotel! I really cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. I concur with everything that has been already said, high quality finishes, attention to detail, staff that go above and beyond and also that are happy and smiling and delighted to help their guests. Lovely bar area downstairs for breakfast and extensive menu. (Didn’t dine here though in evenings). Nothing seemed to be an issue at all. What a wonderful thing to hear Irish in the lift, have never heard this before! I had a huge problem with my dates due to family circumstances beyond my control. Eimear couldn’t have been more helpful with my bookings for 3 rooms and everything worked out perfectly thanks to her, even though it was a very busy time in Tralee. I have never encountered this amount of help in other hotels to be honest and I honestly cannot wait to return. Thank you The James Hotel.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eimear Duffy, Guest Services / Front Office at The James Hotel, responded to this review
Responded May 18, 2024
Dear Ann,
Thank you kindly for your wonderful review, it was a pleasure hosting you and your family here in The James Hotel! We look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit to Tralee. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to our team.
Kind regards,
Eimear
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$265
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$237
  • Expedia.com
    C$265
0.8 km from The James Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$252
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$252
  • Hotels.com
    C$252
  • Priceline
0.2 km from The James Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$406
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$384
  • Hotels.com
    C$406
3.3 km from The James Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$367
C$310
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$367
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    C$367
4.4 km from The James Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$242
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$242
  • Agoda.com
    C$221
  • Priceline
1.4 km from The James Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double Room
C$140
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    C$139
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    C$140
0.2 km from The James Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$265
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$265
  • Agoda.com
    C$234
  • Hotels.com
    C$252
2.3 km from The James Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$223
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$219
  • Agoda.com
    C$223
0.2 km from The James Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$205
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    C$205
6.1 km from The James Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$266
  • Expedia.com
    C$282
0.3 km from The James Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Tralee
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
28
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
28
0
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 29 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2024

This newly refurbished hotel (which longstanding Tralee residents and visitors may have known as The Bridge) deserves to do well. Unlike many other hotels in Ireland, that invest in the peripheral plush (flip flops, bath robes and so on) the James concentrates on getting the basics right, like ensuring you get a good night's sleep. Triple-glazed windows, comfortable beds, even a lavender oil-infused spray to use on your pillow, feature alongside an esspresso machine and good quality tea-making ingredients. The rooms are spotlessly clean. The welcome is genuine. The staff are helpful and courteous.

They only do breakfast from Wednesday to Sunday (which makes perfect sense if bookings on Sunday/Monday nights are lower - and let's face it, there are no shortages of places to get a good brekfast in Tralee within a short walk of the hotel).

The best aspect of the whole stay, though, was the room price. To be able to secure a room in a major town in Ireland over a public holiday weekend for little more than 100 euros, and for the quality experience we enjoyed, makes this somewhere to return to again and again.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 623tommyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eimear Duffy, Guest Services / Front Office at The James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2024

Dear Tommy,
Thank you for such a glowing review of The James Hotel!
Sleep is key to us as a hotel, we're delighted you enjoyed the soundproofing windows, the lavender pillow mists, sleepy-tea, and our Ultimate Floatation mattresses.
I will pass on your kind words to the team here in The James, and should you wish to return to us, please contact me directly on stay@thejames.ie and I'll be sure to look after you.
Kind regards,
Eimear

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2024 via mobile

This hotel is an absolute find. It’s not open long but the owners have carefully managed the opening of the various components wonderfully starting with the bar, then the bedrooms and while we were there, the food offering .The bedrooms are very comfortable, beautifully furnished and well equipped. Every detail has been thought through. Our bathroom had a window giving ventilation and light. The toiletries supplied are by the Handmade Soap company, excellent. The staff were super friendly and couldn’t have done more for us. This hotel is exactly what Tralee has needed for a long time; an excellent top class boutique hotel. We have already booked to return!

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Seamus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eimear Duffy, Guest Services / Front Office at The James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2024

Dear Seamus,
Thank you kindly for such a glowing review of The James Hotel! I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit!
Kind regards,
Eimear

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2024

Our recent stay at the James Hotel was truly enjoyable. Upon arrival, we received a warm welcome from the friendly staff, who made sure our experience was memorable. Situated in the heart of Tralee, the hotel's location is ideal for exploring the town's attractions. We appreciated the personal touch of it being a family-run business, which added to the charm of our stay.

The rooms exceeded our expectations with their modern comfort and tasteful design. And we can't forget to mention the cocktails – they were the perfect way to top off a fantastic evening.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eimear Duffy, Guest Services / Front Office at The James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2024

Deal Helena,
Thank you kindly for taking the time to write such a glowing review of The James Hotel! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Eimear

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2024 via mobile

Excellent hotel in centre of the town. Brand new and really clean. Staff were so helpful. Rooms and beds were perfect and modern. Bathroom and shower were also very clean. Breakfast in the morning was lovely. The hotel bar was also really nice and good atmosphere. Music on the night we were there

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank cathalo329
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anthony O'Carroll, Owner at The James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2024

Thank you very much Cathal, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and we wish you the best in your future travels, Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2024

Absolutely perfect boutique hotel in the heart of Tralee. It is completely brand new as of January. Rooms are super comfortable and clean and price was very reasonable for what you get. If we had the time we would have loved to have stayed here longer to explore more. We will definitely be back!

Room tip: Across the street is Cassidy’s restaurant-the food is absolutely amazing!
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimarabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anthony O'Carroll, Owner at The James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2024

Thank you so much for you lovely review, be sure to book in for longer the next time you're in town! Cheers, Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews