We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor standards”
Review of Manor West Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manor West Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Very unhappy with my stay at this hotel. Receptionist kept giving me keys for my room that did not work. Eventually she admiited they were having trouble with this room all day so they decided to give me a master key.They also refused to give me another room even after waiting about 30 minutes to get in. The room was right next to the cleaners closet so you can imagine the noise from pieces of cleaning equipment being moved from early in the morning.The kettle and the safe were not working in this room.I stayed in the hotel many times before and I must say standards have dropped. I emailed the GM outlining my opinion of the hotel and 9 days later still no reply.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liam501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
There are newer reviews for Manor West Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

639 - 645 of 774 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

A warm welcome and no hassle in checking in after a long journey, very helpful staff especially in providing dvd player and movie selections for the children to enjoy, good value for meals and very helpful in meeting our requests for our 5 month old, would stay there again no questions asked.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

What a fab hotel, reception staff were extra friendly and soo helpful! We got an upgrade to business class and room was brill! Very clean, and modern.
Breakfast was just fab great choice and freshly cooked full Irish breakfast! I got pancakes, and trout which were fab and fresh!
Good big car park and central to shops
We will be back

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade business rooms fab
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ciara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The location is off-putting - a soulless retail park on the outskirts of Tralee; the view from the hotel is often poor - some rotting caravans and the bins from my room - but the deal I got was good and the quality of the facilities, the cleanliness of the hotel and the charm and friendliness of the staff were world class. I stayed for one night to break a business trip and the hotel was perfect. A flawless and friendly check-in, an immaculate clean and comfortable room, a comfortable bed and a good bathroom. The hotel interior could be any Irish hotel built anytime since 2000, but unlike so many modern Irish hotels there seems to be an effort made to keep the establishment looking good. The leisure centre was well-run, with modern equipment and facilities and getting good use when I was there. I passed in and out of the hotel lobby on a good few occasions and always saw efficient professional staff looking after their guests. The hotel filled up in the early evening with coach parties, but even so I heard little or no noise in my room. I didn't eat in the hotel; in the retail park there are coffee shops and a large supermarket and I got what I needed there. The service at breakfast the following morning was exemplary and I saw staff and management continually looking after and restocking the breakfast buffet. The staff smiled and listened to guest requests, never moved across the dining room without doing something en-route such as fixing table settings or dealing with guests. I was impressed with the place and will definitely stay there again. While I was using the hotel as a stop-over and so did not need to go into Tralee, the hotel is a bit far from the centre of the town, it has no grounds or gardens and not much of a view, but once you are inside that doesn't matter - this is a great place that seems to have recovered the sense of personal attention and friendliness that so many Irish hotels lost during the Celtic Tiger years.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry_Callaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

From the moment we entered this hotel with our 3 young children, we were teated like VIP guests. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the pool area is gorgeous, rooms so comfortable and food excellent. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridgid_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Myself and fiance booked a weekend away and although we had one or two bumps over the weekend we could not fault the staff. We stayed in both a standard room & master suite (one night in each). The hotel was spotless with not a bit of dirt to be seen in any part of the hotel.

One of the greatest comforts was that the staff were at hand to handle any queries that we had throughout our stay with a warm and friendly manor from them all.

We would recommend a stay here, and if possible try to book a master suite as you get much much more for you money as you get a balcony, separate living room and a jacuzzi bath.

The hotel is wonderfully located as it is on the main road from Dublin and just outside the town of Tralee, and is situated at the edge of a retail park with great shops.

Room Tip: Try to book a master suite if possible as it is great val for money
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conlon_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Having booked my hotel via an independent site there was minor confusion on check that caused absolutely no inconvenience to myself. However, the receptionist automatically upgraded me to a mini suite that was very much appreciated and is indicative of the very high standards of customer care employed by the management of this hotel. Furthermore the receptionist was friendly and informative which created an excellent first impression. The room was furnished to a very high standard with separate bath and shower and seating area. Having had a lengthy day travelling I was exhausted and hungry and made my way to the bar where again I was greeted by extremely attentive staff. I ordered bar food from an extensive menu that excelled expectations. This was washed down with several pints of well look after Guinness!! I had requested a quite room and that was what I got ensuring a good nights sleep. Breakfast was a delight and not the normal buffet style service that is so common now in most hotels. I was again waited on by attentive, courteous staff who directed me to help myself to a wide range of cereals, fresh fruits, cold meats etc. I then opted for the full Irish which was by far the best breakfast I have eaten in a long time. Award winning sausages, quality bacon,fresh eggs etc and unlimited tea and toast not only set me up for the day ahead but ensured that I would be returning again in the very near future!!! (The next time I will avail of the leisure centre facilities.)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValentiaBM1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
1.6 km away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
618 reviews
2.1 km away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
656 reviews
1.2 km away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
875 reviews
1.7 km away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
542 reviews
6.2 km away
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
#4 of 14 in Tralee
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor West Hotel

Address: N21 | Located next to Manor West Retail Park, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tralee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#3 Family Hotel in Tralee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
Price Range: $143 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor West Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury combination of modern design and sumptuous decor. An award winning restaurant, a relaxed bar and bistro complimented by luxurious contemporary surroundings, with original works from acclaimed modern Irish artists, makes the Manor West Hotel an obvious choice for business or pleasure breaks. Situated just 20 mins from Kerry airport and on the site of Kerry's largest retail park the hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Manor West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor West Hotel Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing