We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
TD

Wonderful hotel with excellent staff

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 14, 2024
One of the best hotels you will find in the area with the most amazing staff. We love it there as a family. My son has additional needs and every time they see him the staff treat him with the upmost respect and care. We have been going to The Ballyroe Heights Hotel on/off for the last 20 years and there is no place else my family would rather support then this fine establishment. You wont be disappointed with the food, atmosphere or views from the hotel. It is a gem of a find.
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: Don't drive passed, stop by, you wont be disappointed.
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$238
C$212
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$212
1.4 km from Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$230
  • Booking.com
5.0 km from Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$233
  • Expedia.com
    C$252
4.3 km from Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$194
  • Priceline
4.4 km from Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$313
  • Expedia.com
    C$322
7.3 km from Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
4.6 km from Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$186
  • Expedia.com
    C$204
6.2 km from Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$368
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$368
  • Priceline
8.4 km from Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
6.8 km from Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$202
  • Expedia.com
    C$223
4.5 km from Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Tralee
Reviews (1,245)
Filter reviews
1,245 results
Traveller rating
872
257
75
23
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
872
257
75
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wedding reception wedding venue tralee bay lovely hotel waiting staff food was amazing from start to finish family room bar food could not fault top class full irish breakfast staff were so friendly night stay last weekend jonathan kerry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,245 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2024 via mobile

From the friendly welcome to the excellent food this is really a great place. Just booked it by chance and hopefully we will be back. Really friendly service throughout our stay. Both dinner and breakfast were exceptional and a lovely bar setting. February weather just ok so I can only imagine what this place is like in the summer. Yes we will be back. Thank you to all the friendly staff.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank brendan617
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ballyroe Heights Hotel, Marketing at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2024

Good morning,

Many thanks for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ballyroe Heights Hotel.

Kind regards,

Jennifer Brosnan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2024

I Had An Excellent Time Out From Hard Hiking Either Side Of My Stay. I Was Wrecked By The Time I Arrived There. On Leaving I Had Fully Recovered. The Bed Was So Perfect And Being Able To Take A Lovely Invigorating Bath Really Made It So Refreshing. Lovely Friendly Warm-Hearted Staff Made It Feel So Welcoming. I Felt Very Special. I Will Be Back Again

Room tip: If A Person Can Check In The Afternoon Time And Relax The Following Morning Before Leaving Because It Certainly Was Beneficial For Me To Do
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jem T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ballyroe Heights Hotel, Marketing at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2024

Good morning,

Many thanks for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back. I will forward your review to our staff who will be delighted to hear of your relaxing experience in Ballyroe Heights Hotel.

Regards,

Jennifer Brosnan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2024

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel for an anniversary night away. Upon arrival we noticed that the hotel was very quiet. At first we didn’t find this overly unusual until we accidentally pressed the wrong floor on the lift. When the doors opened it was clear that there were refugees staying in this hotel as there were kids and parents running through the hallways and on their iPads. We have no problem at all with refugees but I do think it’s something we should have been made aware of before booking. As we did pay €188 for the room for the night.

We went to our correct floor and arrived at our room 410. It was a basic room with a balcony that has clearly not been used in quite a while. Furniture was not up to standard. Again, we paid extra for a balcony room so this was not acceptable. The bed was rock hard, and there was an awful smell coming from the toilet.

Our intentions were to not leave the hotel. We planned on having food here and staying for drinks. We went to the bar and it was only us and two women inside. There was no atmosphere at all in this hotel. Instead of staying here we decided to get a taxi to Tralee.

Overall, this hotel does not deserve its 4 star rating and it should be made clear that there are refugees staying here as when you’re paying money for a night away, a certain hotel standard is expected. We will not be returning.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ballyroe Heights Hotel, Marketing at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2024

Good morning,

Many thanks for your review. I will pass your concerns to the relevant department heads. Yes we are housing Ukraine families & are delighted to be able to help. These families have had to flee their country in horrific circumstances & if we can give them a sense of home & safety then we feel we are doing our part to help.

We are not obliged to announce to anyone, who is staying in the hotel or what nationality they may be. I am sure you would not appreciate me informing other guest that you are staying with us, GDPR does not allow us to disclose any information in realtion to anyone staying in the hotel.

We are infact a 3 star hotel & not a 4 star hotel as you had thought.

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We hold ourselves to a very high standard here at Ballyroe Heights Hotel.

Regards,

Jennifer Brosnan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2024

We recently celebrated our wedding at Ballyroe Heights Hotel and it was amazing from start to finish. Patrick and Mike could not have been anymore helpful, they were there for us from start to finish and really went above and beyond. We had a big wedding and everyone who attended is still talking about the food it was so good. Rooms are lovely and spacious. The breakfast was superb. The staff in the hotel are all so friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend having a wedding in the Ballyroe Heights Hotel, it really was an amazing experience and one we will never forget.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ballyroe Heights Hotel, Marketing at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2024

Good morning,

Many thanks for your review. I am thrilled to hear ye had a fantastic wedding day. I will pass this on to Patrick, Mike & all the staff. We look forward to seen you both in Ballyroe Heights Hotel soon!

Regards,

Jennifer Brosnan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2023

A very nice hotel with beautiful views and a friendly and helpful staff. Our room was very nice and well appointed with everything we could need. the view from our balcony was excellent but the blacony furniture could use a bit of sprucing up. Dinner in the restaurant was very good and the booths are cozy and feel private. Our breakfast was phenomonal and our waiter went above and beyond and we had a great conversation with him which made for a lovely start to our day.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DonC3735
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ballyroe Heights Hotel, Marketing at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2024

Good morning,

Many thanks for your kind review. We do hope to welcome you back to Ballyroe Heights Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Jennifer Brosnan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews