We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable B&B - King Size Beds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newlands Country House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newlands Country House B&B
Ranked #10 of 77 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Comfortable B&B - King Size Beds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

My husband and I and our two adult children stayed our first 2 nights of an 8 night trip at Newlands Country House, Danesfort, Kilkenny, Ireland, in May of 2011. We were thrilled to find comfortable king size beds (the only king size beds of our trip) as we were all very tired from the long plane trip. Our hosts were wonderful. They did let us check in a little early as we just really wanted to take a nap before we went to explore the town. They made nice recommendations of where to eat in town and places to see. Breakfast in the morning was very tasty, everything on their menu was either available cooked to order or set out on a buffet table for sampling. They had some really nice cheese. I would highly recommend this B&B for families or couples. I can’t say enough about the comfort of their beds. We stayed 8 nights in B&B’s and I so wished we would run into another king size bed but all the rest of our accommodations had double beds. This property also had very good water pressure. This was an issue for us at one of the other properties we stayed at.

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms have king size beds but it was very nice to get a king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edgewood1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    34
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
114
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and from the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. Nicola is an excellent host and made our stay a very pleasant one. The breakfast each morning was second to none and our room was fabulous. It is so close to the motorway and just outside Kilkenny, perfect for all types of travellers. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CormacHegarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

My husband & I stayed at Newlands County House recently. As soon as we walked in the front door we knew we would be looked after. We really enjoyed our stay, room was fabulous, great big bed and so comfy. Bathroom spotless with lovely fluffy towels. At breakfast next morning Nicola served us, the range on display you would'nt see in a top class hotel. My husband had the grilled Irish breakfast, cooked to perfection by Eamonn. I had some cereal, great selection.
Many thanks to Eamonn & Nicola, top class 5 star B & B.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank autumnIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We spent two nights here and although the home was lovely, our ensuite bathroom was small and shower extremely tight. Difficult for any average sized adult to fit into.
We found the service lacking compared to all the other B & B's we had experienced on our trip, to the point of having to go and search for the owner at breakfast to get a cup of tea!
We found the owners not to have the warmth and welcome required as hosts in this enviroment and there were notices and rules up everywhere.
Although Nicola did give us a very good recommendation for dinner on our first night. Langtons was a great Pub with the Celtic Cats playing and they were great. We even bought their CD and went back again the next night!
Newlands is a fair way out of town and the GPS did lead us astray so be prepared.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar1232011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Care has been taken in furnishing the rooms and providing quality linen. A very comfortable stay in a quiet setting outside of Kilkenny. Delicious breakfasts and accommodating hosts. A bit of a drive into Kilkenny for dinner so not ideal if you want to have a night out with a few drinks and have to drive back. Easy to find with instructions - GPS can lead you a bit astray with the B&B's location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzTrippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Been traveling across Ireland and this was our last B&B before arriving to Dublin.
The place was nice and so were the rooms. Is located on a peaciful site around 10 minutes to Kilkenny.

The Breakfast quite good also.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

My husband and I started out our 2 week journey in Ireland at Newlands Country House. The house is about 5-7 minutes outside of Kilkenny city centre and is very easy to find. It is on a GORGEOUS piece of property and the house itself is stunning. If you like being a little outside of the city and in the country, this is the place for you! Nicola, who runs the front desk and serves breakfast, was incredible! She gave us recommendations on where to go and what to see and even called us a taxi for the evening when we wanted to go out. This place is fabulous and definitely the place to stay! Breakfast is fantastic too!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ejonesy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
7.0 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
8.0 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
7.8 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
10.9 km away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
7.7 km away
Butler House
Butler House
#5 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newlands Country House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newlands Country House B&B

Property: Newlands Country House B&B
Address: Newman House Lower New Street | Danesfort, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Newlands Country House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ostrovok and Priceline so you can book your Newlands Country House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing