We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hello n no thanks”
Review of Daly's B&B

Daly's B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Daly's B&B
Ranked #68 of 73 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Province of Leinster, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“hello n no thanks”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

my husband and I were after arriving in kilkenny so we had parked on the street to look for a b/b we came across this place that advertises itself as a b/b ,we were greeted by a lady that looked like shed just got out of bed she had such an attitude with us that we felt like intruders rather than paying guests,she showed us a room and im not joking but the smell of damp was unbearable and the decor was so outdated, while showing the room she informed us breakfast was between 8.30-9.00am .I said no thanks we wont be staying here and then as we left she banged the door out behind us what a horrible place and a very rude woman...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BLING999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    7
    8
    4
    14
See reviews for
1
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Myself and my husband went to meet our son in kilkenny, we said we would stay over night if we could get somewhere to stay as the hotel our son was staying The rivercourt was booked out, we went next door to Dalys B/B.They had a room the lady seemed nice an friendly she showed us to the room it was a family room with unsuite you could smell the damp we were only staying one night i said it will do.We were told breakfast would be served between 8 30am and 9 00am we were shocked .We went out to meet our son i told him about breakfast he said we must have heard wrong.We got back to the room at 12am i checked the time for breakfast it was on the back of the door and we were right it was 8 30 to 9 0.The towels in the bathroom were a terrible brown colour well washed, There were no facilities to make tea or coffee in the room there wasnt even a glass to have a drink of water.We went down for breakfast at 8 30 all the tables were set with bowls of cornflakes an orange juice you couldnt help yourself the juice was hot it must have been there a while. We just finished breakfast and left i could wait to get home and have a shower in my own home.We will not stay there again it was terrible.It was 70 euro to stay it was not worth the money.

Room Tip: should be no carpet should have tea and coffee facilities in all rooms and clean towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kilkenny199125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kilkenny hotels

East N
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We drove into Kilkenny without having a place to stay, we attempted one B&B that would have been about 5 to 10mins. away from the City Centre and they stated they were booked so we continued driving thru the main street, John Street and ended up parking to try and find somewhere. We had a rental car so private parking was important to us to protect our asset. There was a small sign for Daly's B&B in baby blue with pink writing and said there was a private parking lot behind it, the entrance was directly on John Street. We were hesitant because it was a Saturday night and were afraid the noise might be too much, we walked down a private driveway, rang the bell and Mrs. Daly opened the door and said there was availability. We were showed the room immediately, the B&B is actually behind the main storefronts and therefore it was extremely quiet!! The room cost 30 Euro per person including breakfast, all rooms were en suite, the Wi-Fi was being fixed so there was no access but it was a relief to have our car safe and sound and be in walking distance of everything and just minutes away from our beds once we were exhausted. The car park actually gets locked at 9pm and you receive a key for the gate and then one for the door, and one for the room. It was safe, clean, big room, and an excellent location!!

Mrs. Daly was extremely accommodating and made the perfect traditional Irish breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

stayed here with a group of lads and never again the landlady was not plesent and when she opened my room at 4 in the morning to see if i was alone i was not to pleased just as well i was alone the rooms are basic ive seen better caravans and they smell damp breakfast is served far to early and only for 30 min the only good thing about this place was the day we left its dirty unpleasent

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ryan-tuberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at Daly's for one night during our road trip through Ireland. The plant-filled reception area is very welcoming. I read in our guidebook that B&Bs in Kilkenny tend to be more impersonal, like hotels, and Daly's is proof of that.

The room itself was small and nothing really stood out to me. It would have been nice to have a little more space, but we had everything we needed. Breakfast in the morning was tasty (only available in a very short 30 minute time frame) and we were allowed to keep our car parked in the lot even after we'd checked out.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

I certainly would not recommend this establishment to anyone. The proprietor is extremely rude and unhelpful. She is gifted at making people feel uncomfortable. Overall, the place is dated, rooms are stuck in the 80s, even found a bed bug in my sheet. Please avoid this establishment, it resemble a dingy Brazilian love motel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Munster20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

This modest B&B is in the heart of the shopping district, and a short walk to hopping pubs and restaurants. The room was comfortable, with a tiny TV. Furnishings were basic, but sufficient for our ease. The price was the best we obtained anywhere in Ireland.

I would recommend this B&B to a friend travelling on a budget, but not to my luxury loving pals.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.7 km away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
752 reviews
0.3 km away
Cleeres Greensbridge House
Cleeres Greensbridge House
#62 of 73 in Kilkenny
20 reviews
1.4 km away
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
#15 of 73 in Kilkenny
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
McCourts Townhouse
McCourts Townhouse
#70 of 73 in Kilkenny
68 reviews
0.3 km away
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
#3 of 20 in Kilkenny
121 reviews
0.2 km away
Celtic House B&B
Celtic House B&B
#28 of 73 in Kilkenny
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daly's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daly's B&B

Property: Daly's B&B
Address: The Lane | 82 John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Daly's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing