We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding feedback”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We just like to share our feedback regarding the rivercourt hotel in Kilkenny. We had our wedding day organised there end of April for 120 guests and we have to say that everything went fine and was greatly done by the hotel team. The meal, wine, accommodation were excellent and Martin and his staff did their best to accomodate our wishes and they ensured the day went smooothly. We would definitely recommend this hotel to other couples, and the midweek wedding package is a great deal.
Elaine and Olivier

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irisholivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,378 - 1,384 of 1,748 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

stayed in the river court hotel with a group of friends last night. the hotel is very well located and has a huge car park. the staff are extremely nice & helpful. the rooms are standard and clean. we had no towels in our room, which is an oversight and when the towels arrived they were thin & ripped. plus our shower didnt work properly either. breakfast was fine. all in all i feel at 180e for a double room & breakfast it is too pricey for this hotel. also i feel the hotel should waive the carpark fee of 3euro.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

we were booked into McCourts Townhouse which is also on the property but were upgraded to the main hotel which shares a car park. The hotel is ideally situated on the main road with a lovely view of the Castle. The rooms were a good size with comfy beds, big bathrooms, windows that opened and plenty of outlets. The wifi was strong. Everything in Kilkenny was in easy walking distance, shopping, historical sights, restaurants. There was a main dining room where I had a delicious dinner and a bar which served food from lunch until early evening. My traveling companion was under the weather and they cheerful gave me a bucket of ice when I asked.
Everything in the hotel was well maintained and the staff were very helpful. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nwgrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This hotel is in the perfect location and from the terrace there is a fantastic view of Kilkenny Castle. Our room for two peope was huge and had three beds in it. The staff were very nice and the breakfats was lovely. It was expensive at E145 pp for two nights but it was worth it for the location and the surroundings. Parking does cost extra though.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrlieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My partner and I spent a weekend here during the month of April. The staff were very friendly and professional; the room was beautiful and the location was brilliant - central to everywhere, with magnificent views of the castle.

The town itself is nice and lively, and whilst the hotel has a central location - you still feel a world away from town life.

The food in the hotel was phenomenal. We ate from the a la carte menu, and we can both honestly say - it was one of the nicest meals we have had when eating out. The attention to detail with the presentation, the portion size were all fantastic. Would return for the food alone!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jatasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

If spending the night in Kilkenny, this is the perfect hotel for your stay. We stayed for only one night but wished we had a longer visit. They have a wonderful bar and bar menu - it was nice to just stay put rather than walking around town looking for a dinner option.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with a view of the castle and river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YYZ2SFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This was an excellent hotel. It was centrally located near the main tourist attraction - Kilkenny Castle. The room was unairconditioned so you had to adjust temperature with opening and closing the window. Parking was available. Breakfast was provided and you got to sit and view the castle high above on the other side of the river while enjoying great service and food. There was a great place for reasonably priced meals and drinks late into the night. We used the hotel as a base for exploring the town of Kilkenny. Walking down the streets of town you would be surprised when all of a sudden a building or church from centuries ago would just appear right next to a modern building. We used a walking map provided by the hotel to explore the city. The castle was self-guided. We used our cell phone to bring up a description of each room that we had downloaded prior to taking our trip. This guide was provided by Rick Steves online.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Kilkenny Castle and the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrapevineGrammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.3 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,831 reviews
3 km away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
1.3 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,032 reviews
0.2 km away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
841 reviews
0.3 km away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range: $108 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing