We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
646 results
Traveller rating
526
99
14
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
526
99
14
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast yogurt parking garage kilkenny castle rick steves mini fridge her husband perfect location great hosts traditional irish music brown bread great place to stay longer stay rental car within easy walking distance first stop b bs
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 646 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2017

My wife and I had been told to visit Kilkenny but really didn't have a clue what to expect. So, I check on line and found this spot and booked us in for a few nights. John and Yvonne responded quickly to my emails and we were welcomed upon our arrival with "open arms" or at least it seemed like it. The room, number 7, was on the second floor and was everything we could have asked for in comfort. Lovely bed, nice bathroom and areas to set up my computer and other electronics without a problem. While we had a car, which gets free parking close by, we never left Kilkenny but just stayed in town and explored. We visiting a number of spots - and did some shopping - but the highlight really was the Kilkenny Castle.

As I said to Yvonne (hostess), it's not a matter of if we come back but when! And we will certainly reach out to Butler Court for a place to stay.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank davidlK7128RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2017

We stumbled on this place in late August 2017 while we were a little lost and in fact, we liked it so much that we never actually made it to our target destination. The owners are very helpful, friendly and hospitable. John is a wealth of tourist information and is always happy to chat. The room was Large and the beds are all Super King size which was perfect for me being 6 foot 3". Very clean and comfortable room, even the shower was a good height for us taller people. The location was fabulous and we pretty much walked the entire village. We enjoyed great food, irish music, historic buildings, a castle, and some of the friendliest people in Ireland. The continental breakfast was very good, the bread was nothing like we have here in Australia but it was actually really nice. Overall, we left as happy travellers so thank you John and Yvonne from Ralf and Melissa Queensland Australia.

Room tip: We chose up stairs where we found it more private, also the rear of the courtyard would be good.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ralf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2017

Delightfully situated motor court which used to be castle stables. Clean, roomy with self catered breakfast. Hosts very solicitous hosts who were very helpful with travel tips. Even found us a great parking space for our vehicle.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2017

This B & B is a fun place to spend a night or two. Bo Jr., the family dog, patrols the courtyard and personally welcomes each guest. The rooms come with continental breakfasts in the room. It's not fancy, but it's pleasant and definitely a bargain.

Room tip: A popular place to stay, so book early. Friendly hosts and pet.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FraniDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2017

Very comfortable room, beautiful courtyard, and lovely host. John and Yvonne are so gracious and helpful. The location is perfect. Walking distance to everything, but quiet, calm and peaceful. Coffee, tea, fresh fruit, and wonderful yogurt and muesli made locally.
And best of all, Beau the dog! I highly recommend Butler Court.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KMHDCSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews