We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Butler House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Butler House
Ranked #6 of 75 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Living in Ireland we have travelled to Kilkenny many, many times, however this was our first stay in Butler House. To stay in Butler House is a privilage - the house is almost 300 years old, built as the Dower House to Kilkenny Castle, so it's as close to staying in the castle as you could get! despite being 300 years old the house has been extensively refurbished so it is magnificent, warm, comfortable and inviting. We had a room overlooking the gardens and the castle. We loved the short stroll through the gardens to the design centre for breakfast every morning.

The staff were superb, their friendliness, courtesy and service was second to none.

The location is wonderful, we parked our car at the start of our stay and didn't need it again until we left, Kilkenny Castle and the City is on your doorstep.

We had previously stayed in hotels on visits to Kilkenny and being honest we had found that one hotel room was as generic as the next. Butler House does not have a spa, a bar, a gym etc - however it has an ambience that is truly unique- you will never forget your stay in Butler House.

Will we stay again? - most definitely, we are already planning our return trip!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colleen_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

A 3-day trip to the lovely Medieval city of Kilkenny was made even more enjoyable with a stay at the Butler House. The Georgian building is gorgeous with original details throughout the interiior. The more contemporary Craftsman fuirniture is an elegant complement to the building. We had a garden and castle view that was lovely. The staff was very helpful and accommodating and the breakfast in the Design Centre was excellent. The walk from the House to the Centre is short and beautiful. We were within easy walking distance to everthing in town. If you are desparate for internet in your room make sure you inquire about that since some rooms are a little distant from the source of the service. However it is easy to go to the lovely living room with welcoming fire for strong wireless access. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arizbls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We were delighted to Book a room in Butler house based upon the recommendations upon this site, and boy we were not disappointed. If carlsberg provided b & b based on location they would choose Butler house as their number one in the marble city. We appreciate it was New Years Eve that we stayed. the place was full and we did end up with the last room in the place, however out comfort was not compromised in any way, after a long journey in damp dark weather we were very pleased met by a very welcoming receptionist, immediately we relaxed, soaked in the huge bath and took in the sights smells and charms of the city, nothing seems to top Kilkenny for a night out or a weekend away and once again it did'nt dissappoint. Easy walk across the grounds next morning to Kilkenny Design Cafe for a plentiful breakfast, the Breads, Meusli's and juices were lovely but the cooked breakfast from the bain marie was a little unpalatable but this small shortfall out of a long list of positives failed to put us off the magic of the place.You must take the opportunity to meander across to the castle grounds, its a beautiful walk and place to visit. We found Richard and his staff so welcoming we will certainly be back and we hope you will visit them too, Paul

Room Tip: Rooms over the Castle gardens are the ones to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnIslandVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Fantastic location and even better service. The staff looked for 40 minutes for the convertor I left back in the states, they were truly upset they could not help. The room was very clean, huge, with a nice bath. The view was exceptional. Easy walk to the city center. You have to walk next door for the breakfast because the Butler House does not have a kitchen. You get a coupon for your breakfast and it is worth the walk through the gardens and old stables. Recommend you continue on from breakfast to tour the castle. Will return for a longer stay next trip to Kilkenny. Only bad thing is that there is no lift in the house, which is understandable for its age. There is a handicap chair lift, but nothing for your bags.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room overlooking the gardens, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alchapmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We took a 10 day driving tour of Ireland and this was probably the nicest B&B that we stayed in. The room overlooking the garden was amazing. It was just a few steps through the garden to breakfast and a few more to Butler Castle- the tour is a must. Great location close to restaurants and pubs. The staff was very helpful in suggesting places to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_P660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This, perhaps, has the best location of any accommodation we had in Ireland.
Right in the centre of town (still very quiet) overlooking the Castle and the walled garden. Our suite on the top floor was massive and nicely decorated, the bathroom (with bath) was generous and modern and the bed nice and firm. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and pointed in the direction of the Design Centre where we were to breakfast. Breakfast was from the bain marie but was perfectly fine especially given that the place is very good value for money. There were many many places we stayed in Ireland that I would never go back to but we wished we could have stayed here longer - very nice place to stay in one of the nicest towns imaginable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smtsslt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We loved our stay in Butler House and the view of the Gardens from both our room and bathroom. It was wonderful to walk through the gardens for our breakfast in the Design Centre in the morning and than brose through the shops when they opened at 10. We stayed here half way through our trip as a place to relax and it was awesome! The room and Bathroom were huge, the beds comfortable and laundry service plus breakfast was terrific. Bonus we were walking distance to all the historic sites in Kilkenny.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
2  Thank olddog55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,858 reviews
0.3 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
14 km away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,064 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,080 reviews
0.2 km away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butler House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butler House

Address: 16 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range: $130 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Butler House, Luxury Guesthouse - formally the Dower House of Kilkenny Castle built in 1770. This historical house is situated in the centre of Kilkenny City, adjacent to Kilkenny Castle. An integral part of the Kilkenny Castle Estate, Butler house was home to the Earls of Ormonde, who also built the castle, stables and coach houses at the rear. Sweeping staircases, magnificent plastered ceilings and marble fireplaces are all features of this 18th century house. The house is a combination of contemporary furnishings and period elegance. Butler House boasts thirteen special rooms and suites, all with their own individual character. Designed to provide maximum comfort, each has a modern bathroom, and is decorated with soft coordinated fabrics and furnishings. The balance of old and new is prevalent throughout the rooms – contemporary furnishings are combined with the magnificent original features, which afford guests an impressive sense of comfort and space. The spacious superior rooms and suites have bow windows, which overlook the secluded gardens and Kilkenny Castle.In Room Facilities include: Queen Sized BedsMulti Channel HD TVHair DryerTea/Coffee FacilitiesTelephoneSafeComplimentary WIFI accessComplimentary Mineral WaterOn Site Facilities include:Free Private Car ParkComplimentary Full Irish breakfast (served in the Kilkenny Design Centre)Access to the walled gardenDVD PlayerCots for babiesBabysitting Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Butler House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butler House Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing