We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveller rating
327
136
48
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
136
48
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdesign centerkilkenny castleno elevatorbreakfast is servedold stablesdower housetop floorheavy bagshistoric houseoverlooking the gardenrooms overlookingfacing the streetlarge roomcastle groundssconesloved kilkennyperfect location
Filter
Updating list...
407 - 412 of 538 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2012

A 3-day trip to the lovely Medieval city of Kilkenny was made even more enjoyable with a stay at the Butler House. The Georgian building is gorgeous with original details throughout the interiior. The more contemporary Craftsman fuirniture is an elegant complement to the building. We had a garden and castle view that was lovely. The staff was very helpful and accommodating and the breakfast in the Design Centre was excellent. The walk from the House to the Centre is short and beautiful. We were within easy walking distance to everthing in town. If you are desparate for internet in your room make sure you inquire about that since some rooms are a little distant from the source of the service. However it is easy to go to the lovely living room with welcoming fire for strong wireless access. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arizbls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We were delighted to Book a room in Butler house based upon the recommendations upon this site, and boy we were not disappointed. If carlsberg provided b & b based on location they would choose Butler house as their number one in the marble city. We appreciate it was New Years Eve that we stayed. the place was full and we did end up with the last room in the place, however out comfort was not compromised in any way, after a long journey in damp dark weather we were very pleased met by a very welcoming receptionist, immediately we relaxed, soaked in the huge bath and took in the sights smells and charms of the city, nothing seems to top Kilkenny for a night out or a weekend away and once again it did'nt dissappoint. Easy walk across the grounds next morning to Kilkenny Design Cafe for a plentiful breakfast, the Breads, Meusli's and juices were lovely but the cooked breakfast from the bain marie was a little unpalatable but this small shortfall out of a long list of positives failed to put us off the magic of the place.You must take the opportunity to meander across to the castle grounds, its a beautiful walk and place to visit. We found Richard and his staff so welcoming we will certainly be back and we hope you will visit them too, Paul

Room Tip: Rooms over the Castle gardens are the ones to stay in.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnIslandVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Fantastic location and even better service. The staff looked for 40 minutes for the convertor I left back in the states, they were truly upset they could not help. The room was very clean, huge, with a nice bath. The view was exceptional. Easy walk to the city center. You have to walk next door for the breakfast because the Butler House does not have a kitchen. You get a coupon for your breakfast and it is worth the walk through the gardens and old stables. Recommend you continue on from breakfast to tour the castle. Will return for a longer stay next trip to Kilkenny. Only bad thing is that there is no lift in the house, which is understandable for its age. There is a handicap chair lift, but nothing for your bags.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room overlooking the gardens, well worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alchapmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We took a 10 day driving tour of Ireland and this was probably the nicest B&B that we stayed in. The room overlooking the garden was amazing. It was just a few steps through the garden to breakfast and a few more to Butler Castle- the tour is a must. Great location close to restaurants and pubs. The staff was very helpful in suggesting places to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_P660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This, perhaps, has the best location of any accommodation we had in Ireland.
Right in the centre of town (still very quiet) overlooking the Castle and the walled garden. Our suite on the top floor was massive and nicely decorated, the bathroom (with bath) was generous and modern and the bed nice and firm. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and pointed in the direction of the Design Centre where we were to breakfast. Breakfast was from the bain marie but was perfectly fine especially given that the place is very good value for money. There were many many places we stayed in Ireland that I would never go back to but we wished we could have stayed here longer - very nice place to stay in one of the nicest towns imaginable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smtsslt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews