We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay”
Review of Butler House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Butler House
Ranked #6 of 74 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Don't let the appearance of the front of the house put you off (the back looks far better; that's what you see in the pictures). It's a first class hotel and strongly recommendable. The bedroom and bathroom we had were very spacious, well furnished/equipped and modern.
Despite the house being several centuries old, the rooms are very well insulated (except for the windows). It was quiet as a mouse, except for some street noise, though the hotel seemed to be pretty full (judging by the amount of people having breakfast the next morning at the design centre ;very peculiar having to take breakfast there, but very good and very good service). Access to the car park was a bit of a hassle and I would not recommend this hotel if you cannot walk stairs (as there is no lift, but hey this is a listed building!).

Room Tip: Garden side rooms are most probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reisduif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

Greeted by wonderful ladies. The room was beautiful. It was perfect. Wonderful large space. The garden took my breath away. I fell in love with it. They even have a hedgehog! I could have stayed out in the garden all day long. The food was amazing. I am so happy we found it. If I go back to Ireland. I will stay there again. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Room 51 was the perfect room. It was on the street side but there were no noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Helen and Richard made us feel so welcome and were so helpful to us during our overnight stay at the Butler House that we felt like royal guests in a private manor home. We can't thank them more sincerely for making our visit to Kilkenny a wonderful experience. They made excellent recommendations about what to see, how to use our time, where to eat, and where to find music. They brought tea to us at a table in the garden -- a totally unsolicited but an inredibly warm gesture by hosts who recognized that a tough drive had made us a bit stressed. We enjoyed the junior suite because it allowed us to spread out and relax like we were at home. Bed comfortable, lighting good, bathroom sumptuous with both tub and shower, as well as heated towels. Highly recommend this hotel in quiet end of Kilkenny, although it is within easy walking distane to everything.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Likegoodplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Wow, beautiful rooms and great food. Right outside our window was a castle and gorgeous gardens. If you are there on the weekend, go out as the people are friendly and nightlife is happening! Thanks for our host at Butler House that gave us great recommendations for things to do and where to eat.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank JoAnnploen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

First impression to front door was a bit of a let down. But once you walk through the door your in another world. The staff from he Manager Richard, to Freda & Wendy, we're delightful and so helpful. Free wi-fi in all rooms. Great lounge to sit in front of. Our room was for 3 so we had street views, but the rooms overlooking the garden & Kilkenny Castle were stunning. The bathrooms have been recently renovated, very spacious, sunken bath and separate shower. The bedroom was huge and the beds were great to get into after a long drive. We were short on adapters to charge everything, they provided us with one and told us to keep it for future travel. They also do a great breakfast., and provide info on what to see and do. And really reasonably priced. A real gem.

Room Tip: Room 50 was street view and a triple room. If you were a couple definitely ask for garden view well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kay d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This was our first bed and breakfast after we left Dublin. Butler appeared to own most of the town of Kilkenny. Sits on the grounds of butler castle. We were greeted by Richard. He is a trip himself. We loved hearing him talk. The rooms were big,could have used some spiffing up. I felt all night like a ghost was ready to talk to me. Breakfast the next morning was great in the old horse stables

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Glad we followed the advice on TripAdvisor by staying at the Butler House for our night in Kilkenny. The rooms are spacious and very well kept. Bathroom seemed to have been recently remodeled as well. The hotel staff was very friendly, providing suggestions on what to do in Kilkenny and where to eat. Butler House is centrally located and in easy walking distance to anything in town. Breakfast at the Kilkenny Design Center was delicious, so much so that we ended up coming back for lunch.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoshInChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,844 reviews
0.3 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
14 km away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,044 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,058 reviews
3.1 km away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butler House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butler House

Address: 16 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range: $134 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Butler House, Luxury Guesthouse - formally the Dower House of Kilkenny Castle built in 1770. This historical house is situated in the centre of Kilkenny City, adjacent to Kilkenny Castle. An integral part of the Kilkenny Castle Estate, Butler house was home to the Earls of Ormonde, who also built the castle, stables and coach houses at the rear. Sweeping staircases, magnificent plastered ceilings and marble fireplaces are all features of this 18th century house. The house is a combination of contemporary furnishings and period elegance. Butler House boasts thirteen special rooms and suites, all with their own individual character. Designed to provide maximum comfort, each has a modern bathroom, and is decorated with soft coordinated fabrics and furnishings. The balance of old and new is prevalent throughout the rooms – contemporary furnishings are combined with the magnificent original features, which afford guests an impressive sense of comfort and space. The spacious superior rooms and suites have bow windows, which overlook the secluded gardens and Kilkenny Castle.In Room Facilities include: Queen Sized BedsMulti Channel HD TVHair DryerTea/Coffee FacilitiesTelephoneSafeComplimentary WIFI accessComplimentary Mineral WaterOn Site Facilities include:Free Private Car ParkComplimentary Full Irish breakfast (served in the Kilkenny Design Centre)Access to the walled gardenDVD PlayerCots for babiesBabysitting Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Butler House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butler House Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing