We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST STAY!”
Review of Butler House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Butler House
Ranked #6 of 74 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2009

My husband & I traveled with our 2 teenage children for our last BIG family vacation throughout Ireland. I thought the rooms a bit pricey when I first explored options for stays in Kilkenny but kept coming back to the Butler House because of the reviews,photos & walking distance to the Castle and town. I am so glad that I booked a room there. We had a awesome huge family room overlooking the beautiful gardens and the Castle. The beds are comfortable and the breakfast was good. I can't say enough about the staff, especially Monica, who arranged for our flat tire to be repaired late on a Saturday evening so we could get back on the road on Sunday morning.The Butler House itself holds alot of history and it's well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BobKat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2009

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at Butler House after a long day travelling cross country. Richard welcomed us and was very nice telling us he had a surprise for us. The surprise was two beautiful, large rooms overlooking the fantastic gardens and with a view of Kilkenny Castle. The rooms are very individual with a touch of class and elegance. Breakfast the next morning was situated in the converted stables of the castle. Breads and scones are fresh and delicious. We have been to Kilkenny many times and this was our first time to stay here - we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Red_Kazzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

After a bit of searching to find the entrance of the main road, we were really pleasantly surprised. The service was friendly and prompt, the rooms spacious and the gardens beautiful. Breakfast was served in a resturaunt adjacent to the House and was generous and the produce fresh. The whole package was definately worth the splurge

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestAussieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

My husband and I, with our 3 college age children, spent two nights at the Butler House at the end of May. We were in one of the "superior" rooms with a beautiful view of the garden. The kids were in a "standard" room which was considered a triple. They had 2 rooms--one with a full bed and another with 2 twin beds. They were amazed at their bathroom which was huge with a shower and a sunken tub.

The breakfast each morning was delicious and kept us going until late afternoon. We didn't mind the walk to the design center where it was served. Luckily, the weather was great while we were there. It was also close to everything else we visited in Kilkenny. The castle is literally in the back yard and the other sights are well within walking distance.

The management at the Butler House was very helpful. Frieda was there when we checked in and was extremely helpful with suggestions for dinners, pub choices, and spent a long time setting us up with a golf tee time. My husband was enchanted with her accent! Richard, the manager, was there later in our stay and he mapped out a route for the rest of our trip adding suggestions for stops, as well. After we returned home we got an e-mail asking if we had left a ring in one of the rooms. Turned out we had, and they offered to mail it back to us! What service!

We loved Kilkenny and would definitely go back there and to the Butler House.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beechnut9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

The connection to Kilkenny castle makes this a very special place to stay. We had a huge room with the elusive 'wow' factor and a huge bathroom too. The room had a lovely view over the garden towards the castle. Location couldn't be better, in the centre of the city. Staff were very friendly and helped us with all our requests. Only negative is it is a bit dated, would have preferred a duvet to blankets and the water pressure in the shower wasn't great though strangely was good in the bath. The noise from footsteps overhead was annoying.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dubbie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

When we sent Rachel and Ben to Butler House, as part of their honeymoon, we wanted something traditionally Irish, but out of the ordinary. We booked online. Richard (from Butler House) and I communicated a few times and although it looked spectacular, it seemed costly, I booked the least expensive room. When Richard wrote back to confirm our reservation, he gave us a wonderfully special room with a sunken bath and a beautiful view. Even better, after Rachel and Ben's stay we received the most enthusiastic email about their time at Butler House. They loved everything about it...especially that upon their arrival, they were again upgraded to the Presidential Suite! They were ecstatic. They raved about their terrific room, the great service and the fantastic location. They said that their stay at Butler House was the highlight of their Ireland trip. Now that's a high recommendation.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pookafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

My friend and I stayed at Butler House for two nights. We just took a chance based on what we read on their website. I cannot understand the negative reviews. No, it is not a traditional hotel. However, it is beautiful. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. The staff were very accomodating and helpful, especially Richard. You don't really need a restaurant or bar because there are so many options just steps from the Butler House. I thought it was quite nice for the price and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mykazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,844 reviews
0.3 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
14 km away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,044 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,058 reviews
3.1 km away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butler House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butler House

Address: 16 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range: $131 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Butler House, Luxury Guesthouse - formally the Dower House of Kilkenny Castle built in 1770. This historical house is situated in the centre of Kilkenny City, adjacent to Kilkenny Castle. An integral part of the Kilkenny Castle Estate, Butler house was home to the Earls of Ormonde, who also built the castle, stables and coach houses at the rear. Sweeping staircases, magnificent plastered ceilings and marble fireplaces are all features of this 18th century house. The house is a combination of contemporary furnishings and period elegance. Butler House boasts thirteen special rooms and suites, all with their own individual character. Designed to provide maximum comfort, each has a modern bathroom, and is decorated with soft coordinated fabrics and furnishings. The balance of old and new is prevalent throughout the rooms – contemporary furnishings are combined with the magnificent original features, which afford guests an impressive sense of comfort and space. The spacious superior rooms and suites have bow windows, which overlook the secluded gardens and Kilkenny Castle.In Room Facilities include: Queen Sized BedsMulti Channel HD TVHair DryerTea/Coffee FacilitiesTelephoneSafeComplimentary WIFI accessComplimentary Mineral WaterOn Site Facilities include:Free Private Car ParkComplimentary Full Irish breakfast (served in the Kilkenny Design Centre)Access to the walled gardenDVD PlayerCots for babiesBabysitting Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Butler House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butler House Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing