We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautful Garden”
Review of Butler House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Butler House
Ranked #6 of 74 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We stayed in Butler House on recent trip to Kilkenny. The hotel is small but has been updated with modern conveniences. The hotel has it's own off street parking lot, which is nice in a busy town and is set on a beautiful garden. Our room as small but there are larger rooms and suites available. We would recommend a larger room overlooking the garden. Also, there is no elevator so it is tough to move heavy bags up to the 3rd level.

Room Tip: Larger rooms overlooking garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017

The hotel is within walking distance of the medieval mile. It backs on to the court yard that is in front of Kilkenny Castle. So you have one of the main places to visit while in Kilkenny right behind the hotel. The staff members were awesome and extremely polite. Made you feel like your were at home. The hotel itself is old but well maintained. Definitely would recommend this place. When we plan on returning back to Ireland we would start off our trip again with this location.

We were vacationing with another couple and everyone enjoyed the stay, the atmosphere and the staff made it worth our first night amazing.

Well done Butler House. :)

Room Tip: location to downtown Kilkenny, 2 minutes away and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Canadian-Irish-72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Dead center in town, a 5 minute walk to Kilkenny Castle, we had a spacious two room suite with a kitchen, overlooking the beautiful gardens. Very comfortable. The hotel is being refurbished, and there was a smell of varnish coming up while we were there. Excellent breakfast in old stables, which you must go out and walk through the garden to. Walk to town center are 10 minutes with many restaurants. Parking around the corner was useful.

Room Tip: Insist on a room facing the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HansGH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed the B&B. It was in a great location and near all the sightseeing and local attractions. All the eateries were also in walking distance. I would highly recommend the Place.

However, during our stay they were performing repairs and upgrades to the building. It would have gotten the fifth star if they had not been performed during our stay. In my opinion they should occur in the off season. Nothing was critical. I would make sure you call ahead or email to make sure they are not occurring during your visit. Great staff and breakfast.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rcminella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Great location, very nice room, especially loved the large bathroom. Staff was extraordinarily helpful! The house was under construction during my visit but that's only an inconvenience if you make it - if you're like me, i'm sure you'll be scoping out Kilkenny. Awesome thing about hotel is that it's directly across from the castle! It was a nice stroll through a beautiful garden to breakfast. (food was just ok, but it was included with stay so no worries) If you're driving in make sure you look for the sign, it's easy to miss. If you're a light sleeper, avoid a street view of course. And security is pretty tight, so no wild parties. Really enjoyed stay!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank redatya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

Great location and stunning grounds. The room was huge with a beautiful, quiet view of the garden. The house is going through some renovations but it did not dampen our experience. The staff was wonderful - so very helpful and assisted us in marking some calls for dinner reservations and rental car return. No elevator or air conditioning if that is necessary.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank SEB915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

I stayed at Butler House on June 13 for one night. I would like to have stayed longer. I had a big beautiful room with a large jacuzzi. The accommodations were clean and very comfortable. The breakfast is delicious! The hotel is close to everything in Kilkenny. You can park your car and walk the town. The hotel parking was difficult to find but I am so thankful for free parking. I would stay there again!

Room Tip: I had the suite with a large separate jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angiecakes94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,803 reviews
0.3 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Zuni Hotel
Zuni Hotel
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
431 reviews
0.1 km away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
800 reviews
1.7 km away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butler House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butler House

Address: 16 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range: $193 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Butler House, Luxury Guesthouse - formally the Dower House of Kilkenny Castle built in 1770. This historical house is situated in the centre of Kilkenny City, adjacent to Kilkenny Castle. An integral part of the Kilkenny Castle Estate, Butler house was home to the Earls of Ormonde, who also built the castle, stables and coach houses at the rear. Sweeping staircases, magnificent plastered ceilings and marble fireplaces are all features of this 18th century house. The house is a combination of contemporary furnishings and period elegance. Butler House boasts thirteen special rooms and suites, all with their own individual character. Designed to provide maximum comfort, each has a modern bathroom, and is decorated with soft coordinated fabrics and furnishings. The balance of old and new is prevalent throughout the rooms – contemporary furnishings are combined with the magnificent original features, which afford guests an impressive sense of comfort and space. The spacious superior rooms and suites have bow windows, which overlook the secluded gardens and Kilkenny Castle.In Room Facilities include: Queen Sized BedsMulti Channel HD TVHair DryerTea/Coffee FacilitiesTelephoneSafeComplimentary WIFI accessComplimentary Mineral WaterOn Site Facilities include:Free Private Car ParkComplimentary Full Irish breakfast (served in the Kilkenny Design Centre)Access to the walled gardenDVD PlayerCots for babiesBabysitting Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Butler House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butler House Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing