We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good but could be improved” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“good but could be improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We visited over St Patricks weekend. We got a family room, which was really very nice. Large and comfortable. Service was in the most part very good, but even though my wife had booked it as a spa break there were ZERO treatments available at any time over the three days we were there. The following day we approached a different member of staff and they managed to get my wife one half hour treatment just before we checked out on the Monday. We ate one night in the Asian restaurant and this was fabulous. Also great service from the Asian lady. The following night we dined at the 'posh' restaurant. Reception told us our two kids were not welcome there since they were under 12. We ignored this and booked them in later and it turned out there were loads of youn kids, even babies there, so not sure what the reception was taliking about. We used some mountain bikes provided. The gears were all broken, but to be fair we were not being charged for them so we did not complain.
Worth adding there is an excellent mini cinema for kids, which gaves the adults time for a quiet drink.
Breakfasts were all very good. Would have like some better cereal options, eg. granola. Ended up having the full fry!
The hotel has a warm, cosy, family feel to it and we like this very much. With a little bit of better management this could become a great place to stay.

Room Tip: rooms on ground floors have access to patio which is great for kids to play supervised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corkboy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,354
    497
    284
    110
    42
See reviews for
557
1,010
18
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Three sisters and mam stayed here for my mam 60th birthday .Everything about the stay was five star. Excellent food,staff, room, and spa . We will definietly be back again. So relaxing and the whole celebration was made special by hotel- upgraded room ,birthday cake and wine in room. Overall we had a great stay and cannot say one negative thing about the hotel

Room Tip: Penthouse was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lillies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

The hotel is beautiful and the old and new blends beautifully. The staff were very attentive and the rooms were spotless, and with us being on the 'ground' floor we had a wood laminate floor.
So why didn't I give it 5 out of 5? Well its a 5-star hotel and the experience wasn't quite 5 star, we had a meal in the bar on friday night, and it just wasn't good enough for the prices charged, paid nearly 50 euro for a kids burger, steak and a plate of pasta - no probs if its excellent but it wasn't. The tv in the room was huge - old style and temperamental, the lift was confusing, we were on the 1st floor, which was actually the ground floor, but the lift went down 2 floors to where our room was, took us a while to work that out!!
Food in the banqueting suite wasn't great, we were the last table to be served (about 200 people), it took nearly an hour from the order being placed to getting our starters - cold caesar salad, and almost 2hours for the children to get their meals - almost 9pm.
Spent a couple of hours in the spa and this was lovely - staff were nice, massage lovely, however it all needs a bit of attention - the thermal pool looking over the grounds was lovely but the pebble coating was peeling off in places and just looked a bit unkempt.
However all of these negatives were small and the overall experience was enjoyable - the grounds are lovely and the walks well marked out.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngeldaisyLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

It was indeed a five star experience! The staff were attentive, and friendly without being intrusive. We were impressed by the standard of service at the reception where every guest was treated the same as the top table. The food was served promptly, piping hot and cooked to perfection. The hotel is beautiful in all respects. We loved our room and found the shower to be fantastic. Over all, it was a very welcoming experience and we definitely intend to come back when we can stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thyegrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniscorthy, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Saturday march 23rd 2012 i had the wonderful pleasure attending a wedding in Lyrath estate hotel. Awesome, amazing are just e few comments i can make - food, service, accommodation and staff all deserve their 5 star award. the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in.. I will most definitely be back!! Thanks to everyone for a great day!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We were at a wedding here on fri 23rd March, the hotel could not do enough for the Bridal and party and all of the guests. All the rooms were spotless and the food in the hotel amazing.
Cannot wait to go back for a longer break.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cedev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at the Lyrath after a wedding we attended. The room was comfortable, clean and very nicely furnished. The walk in shower was great as was the breakfast. My husband said that the bacon was the best he had ever tasted.
I would recommend this hotel for a comfortable country stay

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caroldeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
3.7 km away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
3.0 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
3.8 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
13.0 km away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
3.0 km away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Property: Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper's is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee's serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing