We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant!”
other travellers have booked this property
There is no fire like your own fire.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
There is no fire like your own fire.
Our lodges The children's play area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
There is no fire like your own fire.
Our lodges
The children's play area
The adventure area for the older children
Plenty of space
The View
The View
The View
The Mountain Bike Park nearby
The Gate Lodge near the lodges. great walking area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
County Limerick

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
PIERSQUIN
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed April 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The area is stunning and the accommodation is excellent. Look no further for a place to stay. I have stayed in a lot of places in this area as I have family near by, this is the best place to stay, so far.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: size of the property
Liked least: no internet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Didn't want to leave”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I am just back from a fantastic week in Ballyhoura and what a week I had. I traveled with 4 friends for a relaxing week of walks and some biking. We were greeted by the lovely Ita who very warmly welcomed us. She was very helpful and had loads of info about things do see and do. The accommodation was very comfortable and clean, ideal to come back to after a long day hiking or biking. It had everything we needed. Can't wait to go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic area,”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

First time staying in the area, fastastic area, lodge was large with lots of space inside and out. Local area offered lots to do, ie trail riders, ballyhoura horse trail, killmallock mart, Carron mountain walks, fishing, karting, and a hurling match in Kiildorrey. Food was good at the hunters rest in Mitchelstown. Lodge had it own fire which my 5 & 8 year old loved to collect the wood in the forest outside the lodge. On the first morning cows were looking in over the fence. Local pub was welcoming, (Nuala) great pint. The steam at the bottom and the woods helped build imagation for games. Only issue were the woods were under development which let some of the area out of limits. ( but still lots of wood available). Great time would recommend to a friend.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedKillia...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cabin in the Woods”
Reviewed March 6, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The cabins are in a quiet, remote corner of Limerick. However, the area is beautiful and tranquil and an ideal base for mountain biking in Ballyhoura.
Ita was extremely helpful and personable while the Cabin itself had all you need bar the limited television reception.

Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous, magical retreat in the woods”
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Came with friends for the Hearsay Festival in Kilfinane, could NOT have stayed at a better place. The cabins are gorgeous both outside and in, and Etta (I think is the landlady's name - so sorry if I got that wrong!) was very welcoming and really hospitable. Very highly recommended.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Gorgeous location
Liked least: Bit cold when first arrived, but soon warmed up!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2014
Thanks for the review. Ita would only mind if you didnt enjoy your stay. come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connor W
1 review
“Cosy, lovely setting, nice people!”
Reviewed November 30, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I stayed here as a guest of the HearSay Audio Festival, and am keen to spread the word! The lodges were very comfortable – warm, with everything you could ask for provided. In the mornings I had time for lovely walks up the track – but even from my breakfast table inside I saw a tree-creeper run up a tree a few metres away. The planting looks good too, to provide colour year-round.
For a nature lover with a car this is a great place to stay!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We love when people experience the real beauty of the area. Call again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkB4
1 review
“love it so much, this was our 10 year to return”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have being going to Ballyhoura for Halloween for the past 10 years and are already planning for next year. The homes are always immaculately clean and presented. Have ways felt really welcome by Ita. The scenery is amazing and the local pub is a short walk away.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2014
Sorry for the delay in responding to your very kind review. We look forward to having you to stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing