We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal city location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Newark Notts.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ideal city location”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed three nights for the racing festival and found the hotel on the internet.Booking was straightforward and efficient.
Close to city centre but immediate area looks a bit run down.
Check in very efficient with my predelivered race tickets logged on the computer so they were handed over on arrival.
Room was clean and as requested on a high floor(14th) with a good view of the river and city especially effective at night.
Breakfast was substantial and all the food was well cooked and fresh with hot tea /coffee.
Used the bar for a couple of meals and the food was well presented and hot.Good choice to suit all tastes and budgets.
Reception were good for local information and booking taxis with polite service.
One down side was that room service trays were left by the lift for too long and looked unsightly

Room Tip: High floor river facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherwoodforesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Thank you for your review on our hotel. I am delighted to read that you had a very enjoyable stay with us over the Christmas period. We always receive many compliments on our friendly staff and great food. I will speak to our room service team to ensure that we are collecting those trays on time. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    405
    183
    68
    45
See reviews for
199
381
48
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed at The Clarion Hotel Limerick for new years break. Couldent rate this hotel highly enough,
From the excelent staff on reception they were so helpful and friendley. The rooms were spotless with beautiful views of the river shannon and the city, with tea and coffee making facilities in each room which you dont get now in a lot of hotels it was nice to have it. Next i must say something about the bar staff who were great, it was very busy there for newyears eve so they were working very hard all night and service with a smile. We went to the restuarent for our meal at nine o clock not knowing what to expect on the menu, The food was just amazing [ Complements to the Chef ]
It was super, All the staff in the restuarant wer just fantastic looking after us thanks also to the restaurant manager for table by the window with beautiful views. Well done to all, great hotel and staff. Will deffinatley be back. Well done. Gena. [Ireland]

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dear Gena. Thank you for your review and your 5 stars. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us on New Years Eve. We receive lots of compliments about our food and staff, we are very proud of them. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Booked the hotel myself, and emailed the staff about internet and local resturants. They were very helpful even befor i ever got there. I enjoyed the hotel resturant and the pub down the street to the right (forgot name). The car park across the street closed me out once, but the person in the main lobby was quick to let me in.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrrld_Trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you found our staff very helpful with the information that you required to make your trip an easy and safe one. The pub that you are thinking of is Dolans. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I have stayed here on numerous occasions for business purposes. After the first time I stayed the hotel took note of the room I had been in and the services I had acquired example. location of room, wake up call, breakfast etc. When I arrived back the second time they offered me all the same things. Each time I have stayed I have been in the same room which I loved as there was no room on either side (no noise). The staff are so friendly and the food is wonderful - they have such a great variety from traditional irish food to spicy thai.

The hotel also offer a loyalty card, each time you stay you get a stamp and after 10 stays a stay - I also receive text messages from the Clarion with special offers. Great for a gift Idea.

Cant wait for my next trip to Limerick...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey_Mc_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you are a regular customer of ours and that we continue to look after you time and time again. Once we know your requirements, we are very good at ensuring that we make your stay with us as comfortable as possible. We appreciate your business. If we can do anything additional for you, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2011

i stayed with a friend on the 99 euro deal for bed and breakfast with 4 course meal.This is an excellent deal.We will return again.It was lovely hotel and staff were very nice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lol123186609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Thank you for your review. Please make sure that you sign up to our newsletter on line and also make sure that we have your mobile number so that we can text you with special offers as they happen. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I stayed for 2 nights with my family and we really enjoyed ourselves. We asked for a room on a high floor and got one on floor 9 with great views. Our room was clean and comfortable - the only extra I would have loved would be a large flat screen TV! A substantial buffet breakfast is served and we ate well! There is a swimming pool and it was nice and quiet - we enjoyed ourselves there. What impressed me most was the friendliness of the staff - all we met were professional and helpful - you can tell that they get on well together. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockmanGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to highlight the positives surrounding your stay. We are currently looking at our TV offering with a view of changing all our TV’s towards the middle of this year (2012). Looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

My wife and I plus our 2 young kids stayed here for a night as we were attending a function.

It is a nice modern hotel and the staff were friendly.

Our room was plenty big - very big double and a single. We were asked if we wanted a camp bed but the double was more than big enough for 3 of us to sleep in. We were on the ninth floor so had a nice view overlooking the city and the river Shannon.

Food was good at the function we attended and breakfast was fine. Good selection of cereal, it is not everywhere you get Special K.

There is a leisure centre and whereas the pool is small we had it to ourselves which the kids really enjoyed.

I have given the hotel a rating of 3. I would have given it a 3.5 if I could.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeclanKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
1.4 km away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,945 reviews
0.7 km away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,535 reviews
0.6 km away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,155 reviews
5.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.5 km away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Limerick

Property: Clayton Hotel Limerick
Address: Clarion Hotel Dock Road Steamboat Quay, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Limerick)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing