We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property
Wood Stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wood Stove
Eco Natural Design
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
68 reviews
Wood Stove
Eco Natural Design
Dining Room
Kitchen
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
Living Room
Forest
Swans
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Limerick, County Limerick

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Roisin O
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We just arrived home from our 3 night stay here and it was so relaxing and such a beutiful place to stay. Gorgeous surroundings and excellent value!
Staid wit my mother sister nephew and son. Very family friendly and a great place to escape! Didn't want to leave :) 100% recommended and I will definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadBane
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
Reviewed April 2, 2015 for a stay in April 2013

Had a wonderful weekend here with family and friends.
The owners, a couple, were so friendly and attentive. Had really nice chats with them about the area and their business. The houses are beautiful. Clean, spacious, well decorated. We received wine and cheese on arrival.
We stayed during a chilly time of year, the heating system is amazing. An A rated stove that had the whole house warm in no time.
Walking in the surrounding woods is so peaceful and serene.
The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom facilities were great.
We all plan to spend another weekend here soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and location.
Liked least: The stay was too short :)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya T
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay in Ballyhoura. The lodges are beautiful. We stayed in No. 14, which was a spacious 3 bed house, all ensuite. The kids loved it and said they want to stay there forever!
The kids had a great time on their bikes outside, and in the two play areas (zip wire for older kids, and an other smaller play area). They played out all day long with other kids staying there and they all had a great time together. They didn't want to leave and go on day trips. As parents we had the most relaxing holiday in years and we also saved a fortune in bringing them off to entertain them! When the kids are happy, we are happy. It is a very quite area and it felt very safe to let them out to play all day.
Mary & John were lovely and welcoming and the emailed information prior to our stay was excellent. Their information on what to do locally and where to eat was great too.
There is very poor mobile coverage and no internet coverage, but for me who is somewhat addicted it was a lovely break away from it all and very much a positive.
From the bottom of the hill there is a beautiful trail through the forest which the kids loved on their bikes.
Will definitely visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyn W
Kilcullen, Kildare, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Houses, lovely area.”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Houses were excellent, with plenty of room and spotlessly clean. Kitchen will equipped, lots of towels and everything worked.
Area is lovely, very beautiful views and lots to do for the active.
The place is so quiet and peaceful. Forest walk is perfect for a gentle family stroll, but has access to open water so watch the kids. We were there with a few young children and the freedom they had was fantastic, they were amused for large parts of the day just running from place to place.
We will probably go back next year.
John and Mary were professional and pleasant to deal with as well as prompt and open.
Make sure you go down to the local pub, great Guinness and welcome.
For completeness I am including the following:
The only downside is that of the three play areas on site only one is actually completely usable. The first one is totally covered in debris, the second has broken equipment, some with sharp edges, and a neglected sandpit. I understand that this may not be the responsibility of these owners but it is part of the site.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The absolute peace and quiet.
Liked least: The broken playgrounds.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Jane...
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely homes in quiet rural setting”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

6 of us stayed here over the bank holiday weekend in August .

The houses are very well equipped and the most high spec of various holiday homes I have stayed in. The kitchen was very well equipped for cooking, good flatscreen tv and beautiful wood burning stove. The bedrooms were comfortable and all were ensuite. The house was presented in very clean order and the owners were easy to deal with. The area is lovely, in the middle of a forest, very still and calming. Ideal for all , families, friends and couples.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sluke-62
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very comfortable lodge in forest surroundings”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Stayed here one night to meet a friend living in the south of the country.
Lovely warm lodgevanhd very well equipment. We were facilitated with a late check out which was great. Nice walks on your door step and lodgeis perfect for a group of friends to meet up and dine in

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large sitting room
Liked least: Small towels
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing