We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent for hen nights” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Limerick Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Limerick Strand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
GreenLeadersGold level
clare ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent for hen nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Organised a hen night at strand the weekend of the 18th of feb have to say the staff from the minute we walked in the door could not have been more helpfull reception staff excellent bar staff excellent waitress staff excellent! Room really comfortable!! food brillant top class i could not find one fault. recommend anyone thinking of having a girls night out or hen even a roantic night because the food was fab don't hesitate!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puremule11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,354
    567
    160
    69
    38
See reviews for
473
705
97
384
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

stayed here recently and from the minute we walked into the hotel it was perfect. All the staff were so friendly and content. the athmosphere was very upbeat and the live music was very entertaining. we ate in the bar the first day and the menu was very satisfying. food amazig very quick even though the bar was very busy. the room was spotlessly clean and everything we needed was there.on the second night we at in the river restaurant and what can i say wow food was amazing. the staff went more than out of there way to get us everything we needed. also breakfast was a great variety of everything possible. great value for a quite or lively weekend away. will deffinately be back again soon

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aook8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I wouid highly recommend this hotel for a hen party group.The staff & service was excellent. Food was just delicious and rooms were very clean with the most comfortable beds.Hotel is only a short walk from the heart of the city. We really enjoyed our stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Triona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Have stayed here several times and overall it seems to be a good hotel. However, this trip there was some unwanted noise as a group of teenagers was placed on our floor. But that is not necessarily the hotels fault and it never got to the point we complained.

I like this hotel and it's location and recommend it without reservation. The breakfast is not that good however so order off the menu or go somewhere outside the hotel. 4 star price for a 2 star breakfast!! Avoid it!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Planelivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Strand Hotel has a prominent position in the city, not quite central but overlooking the river and only minutes away from downtown. The views from the hotel are great, especially at night when the bridge is lit. the hotel is modern with spacious uncluttered rooms and great bathrooms. Staff were lovely throughout. Breakfast is excellent, make sure to have a enough time to enjoy it. Dinner was good too, very nice warm duck salad.

The hotel also has a leisure centre, with gyms, large pool, sauna, steam room and whirlpool baths. Also a plus when you have time. They also have free wi fi all over the hotel - a big plus in my books.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have great views and a covered outside balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taisteal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shannon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

went to wedding at strand hotel limerick thought it a lovely place must say the service was excellant. bit pricy for drink but the meal made up for this.food was just beautiful and served quickly, staff were very helpful nothing was a bother to them special mention for paula who served our table she was very helpful and so pleasant done everything we asked . all in all a great night

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesholidaysShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012


This was my 4th time staying in this hotel. I booked the Curley up and cuddle valentines package as a surprise for my girlfriend. The website said €99 per person for one night b&b, 5 course meal and then in our room they would be showing a romantic film where we would enjoy a bottle of champagne, chocolate feast and popcorn. All that for 198 euro. Meal was lovely, room very nice, classie hotel. But this was my problem
B&b €80 (on their website)
Meal €70 per couple (also on their website)
Bottle of champagne €20
Total €170
So that left 28 euro for a "chocolate feast" and popcorn
What we got for 28 euro was a joke. Our chocolate feast was 4 yes 4 small chocolate between us. That's 2 each. They didn't even make the popcorn themselves. We got left 2 small bags you can buy in any shop for 79 cent each. Got complete ripped of. Do not book this package. Book the room and meal separate and save yourself €50

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alce2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.9 km away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
0.4 km away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.9 km away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#6 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.7 km away
Clarion Hotel Limerick
Clarion Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
5.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limerick Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick Strand Hotel

Property: Limerick Strand Hotel
Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Limerick Strand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limerick Strand Hotel is an award winning 4*hotel ideally located on O'Callaghan Strand in the heart of Limerick City Centre, Irelands National City of Culture 2014. With stunning vistas of The River Shannon and a birds-eye view of every landmark in the historical city the Limerick Strand Hotel is the ideal venue for both business and pleasure trips. The hotel offers a friendly, inviting atmosphere where guests feel comfortable and well taken care of. Executive Head Chef, Tom Flavin winner of Best Chef Limerick 2013 & 2014 (Irish Restaurant Awards) and his culinary team pride themselves in serving the finest quality of Irish and international cuisine, with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal produce with all the food traceable and where possible with an emphasis on using locally produced products. With incredible conference and banqueting facilities the hotel was awarded "Best Business Hotel in Ireland 2015,Irish Hospitality Awards, the Limerick Strand is the preferred venue for weddings, events and meetings. The Energize Health Centre is the top spot in Limerick to boost your fitness levels or simply enjoy laid-back leisure. Energize boasts not one but four pools, including a 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The hotel also boasts an onsite hair salon & beauty salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Limerick Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing