We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,958)
Filter reviews
2,958 results
Traveller rating
1,826
776
226
80
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,826
776
226
80
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river across the bridge junior suite city centre sarsfield bridge lovely hotel the executive lounge wedding reception thomond park function room king john's castle car park great room top class last weekend would highly recommend this hotel hotel bar
Filter
Updating list...
2,322 - 2,327 of 2,958 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Had a wonderful stay here, was a special occasion & from the moment we arrived the staff were welcoming & happy to ensure we had a great stay. We received vouchers for a complimentary glass of wine each for booking direct with the hotel so that was a really nice touch. The room was large, warm with lovely views over the River Shannon & weir. The decor luxuroious, with comfortable large bed, feather quilts, lots of pillows & colourful cushions, large comfy relaxation chair & plenty of work space for those on business. Room was very quiet, warm & dark so sleep was no problem. The usual tea/coffee with Mugs & plenty of tea choice, little chocolates & even sweetners. Ice bucket & Wine glasses provided also & ice machine at end of hallway. This was originally built as a Hilton hotel & you can see the little extra touches that the American Hotels carry as normal. Nicely decorated bathroom, very spacious, spotlessly clean with seperate shower, nice toiletries & lots of towels. Breakfast was in a lovely well lit room over looking the river, complimentary news papers & a nice relaxed atmosphere! Lots of choice - fresh juice, fresh fruit of all kinds, yoghurts, bowls of assorted nuts & muslei along with a good variety of cereals. Plenty of breads & cakes, pastries & honey, spreads, peanut butter etc.. Hot food - great selection especially for a veggie with locally sourced puddings etc for the meat eater. Eggs cooked to order. Have to say overall this Hotel really impressed me & I would most definitely come back again. It's the perfect location for a shopping trip to Limerick or a night out on the town as the heart of everything is only a few minutes walk across the bridge. We dined out in Hamptons where the food, service & atmosphere is wonderful. Bars & nightlife is centred @ the Old Quarter where your bound to find a pub to your taste, live music, discos etc.. all @ here! Limerick is well know for it's wonderful food & great restaurants like, Azure & the Locke Bar... Chocolat, Cornstore & Thai Gourmet... We didn't get to eat in the Strand cafe or Restaurant but it won't be long before we give it a try. Didn't use the leisure facilities this time but they look wonderful & friends have used them & had beauty treatments before & rate them very highly... will certainly be re-visiting this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have a River view, we were on the 2nd floor and even on a friday evening didn't hear much traffic with the wondows open, so noise control is very good.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EHMkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I'd recommend the Strand for the a number of reasons as follows:
- the location in Limerick city is very central just a short walk across the Sarsfield bridge to main central area which has a good bar and cafe feel as a result of it being a university town among other things.
- the hotel rooms are to a very high standard and we upgraded to a junior suite as we were travelling with a small child. The cost of upgrading was not as much as I would have thought given that the room is tagged as a junior suite. it is certaintly worth the treat as the rooms are excellent - spacious, well finished, walk in wardrobe, sitting area and our room included a balcony was a great sapce to sit out and look out on the Shannon river below. It should be noted that the balcony feels outside but your are protected from the elements as there is glass between your balcony and the front of the building which is a great design feature.
- the food in the restaurant (both the breakfast buffet and for dinner) was very good.
- there is a great leisure centre with jacuzzis and sauna etc
- as it's a popular hotel (including for rugby events), there was a great buzz about he hotel bar in the evening when we were there.
Lastly, the hotel is a good base to explore the area including Co Limerick, north Kerry and south Clare - that's if you can drag yourself away from the junior suite!

Room Tip: If you can (and the difference to the standard room was not substantial by any means), upgrade to a junior suite with or without a balcony as they are very spacious with seating area, walk in wardrobe area and great bathroom with bath and shower. The junior suites with the balconies are all at the front overlooking the river and with the higher floors having a great view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhaleBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2012

The Events Team were superb in helping me to organise a surprise 40th birthday party. They were so accommodating and so helpful - I gave them the details and they took care of the rest. Everything!

Everyone had a great night. The staff in the restaurant looked after us really well. Later on, in the bar, the team there were brilliant. They were so attentive and the service was top notch, lots of people remarked it.

The only other thing that I can say is that if anyone asks me about venues for a party then I'll definitely be recommending the Stand Hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I chose this hotel as it said it had free wi fi and I was preparing for an exam and presentation . I arrived in my room , opened the iPad and hey presto I had already connected to the wifi. No passwords, no registering with a web site, no restrictions-so easy and impressive. Nicely decorated hotel. Very pleasant staff. Quick check in. Lots of plugs in room. Good breakfast. Convenient parking. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocoheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Organised a hen night at strand the weekend of the 18th of feb have to say the staff from the minute we walked in the door could not have been more helpfull reception staff excellent bar staff excellent waitress staff excellent! Room really comfortable!! food brillant top class i could not find one fault. recommend anyone thinking of having a girls night out or hen even a roantic night because the food was fab don't hesitate!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puremule11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews