We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Have already started planning my nxt trip”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax
Outside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Relax
Outside
Bedroom 2 - 2 singles
Sofa bed upstairs
Wireless
Spring
Patio
Kitchen
Hanging out
bedroom 1- Double
Real ireland
the view from the barn
Sandy Beach 10 mins walk
Stoney beach 10 mins walk
Beautiful on a stormy weekend 10 mins walk
Outside
Garden
Outside
patio
Outside
Watering
we have an eco outdoor oven for pizza baking or baking your fresh fish
Celtic Canoes
Newgrange
Belfast
Newgrange
Mellifont abbey
Fishing
Trim Castle
Christmas all ready for you
Castle Bellingham
Dunany harbour next door
port beach
Dublin Penny Bridge
40 mins Europe's largest wooden rollercoaster opens at Tayto Park
sofa kingsize bed
Local water park 25 mins drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
County Louth

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
aoifeoreg...
County Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Have already started planning my nxt trip”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

went for a simple nite away with my 3 college friends. it was a fantastic location for the four of us to catch up, chill and have a great giggle. Hostess fantastic, location beautiful and stunning, I am already planning my nxt nite away there, cant wait to go back x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K
1 review
“Nice boutique lodge + warm, friendly hosts”
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just stayed at the lodge and enjoyed a few sunny days of the east coast of Ireland. Beautiful coastal view every moment you look out of the window from the moment you wake up. Ciara + family are warm and friendly and will do all to make your experience feel unique to you and all guests (after all you're looking to stay on the east coast of Ireland so you're probably looking for a stay away from the usual tourist trails). Would absolutely recommend to friends and family. Thanks for a wonderful time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location + warm friendly hosts
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10butlej
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Oak Barn, perfect location for relaxing visit”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I recently returned from staying at the Oak Barn with my family, and we had a wonderful time. We arrived after staying the first week in the southern half of Ireland, and were warmly greeted by Ciara with tea and coffee.
The barn was beautiful! Ciara did a wonderful job decorating. There were six of us staying and we were all very comfortable.The barn has a beautiful view of the mountains and the sea, and is just a short walk away from the beach. There is an option to have Ciara cook dinner for you, which I would highly recommend. It was delicious!
Ciara was also very helpful in suggesting places for us to visit and even set up a tour of a local castle garden for us! There are many historic sights nearby, including Newgrange Tombs, and it is conveniently located between Dublin and Belfast, only 50 minutes from Dublin and one hour from Belfast. We did the coastal drive to the Giants Causeway, which was beautiful.
Staying at the Oak Barn gave us a cultural experience we wouldn't have gained staying anywhere else. We got a true taste of Ireland. I would recommend it to anyone visiting Ireland. Ciara and her family are so lovely and truly made us feel at home. We were ready to move in by the end of the week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2015
THANKQ THANKQ...it was our pleasure to have such a 'wonderful' family stay with us, our parish priest is still talking about you all as a beautiful family. You are certainly all welcome back anytime to stay at our home...

Hope you have all settled back after 'all' your site seeing here in Ireland north and southbound!!!! Take care the Butler Family and we 'hope' to see you again xx ciara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABOVEBOAR...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“A little piece of Heaven”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I stayed here with my young daughter earlier in the year and we adored it. A great escape from our busy lives in the city and not far by car. If you are looking for and a place to completely "switch off" and recharge the batteries, then this is the place for you. Family friendly with lots to see and explore, surrounded by fields, forests and a glorious unspoilt beach, only a short walk from the front door. And not to forget the friendly Alpacas, which go down a treat with the kids. The cabin is spacious and well kitted out, you won't want for anything and if you do the owners are so lovely, they even offer a "dinner service" if you don't want to cook, they'll put on a delicious spread for you . I can't recommend it more! Enjoy your stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space and tranquility, the owners are lovely people, very knowledgeable and helpful
Liked least: that i had to go home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for a wonderful review it was our pleasure to have you and your beautiful child stay at the Oak Barn... next time you will need to stay longer so you can enjoy the scenery, nature trail, walks on the beach, and our supper nights..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmamex
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, friendly, relaxed, beautiful stay”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a fantastic time at the Oak Barn. When we arrived, we were welcomed with homemade scones, butter and jam, which were lovely. The barn lived up to its photos, as Ciara has an amazing eye for design, all really well done. The outside spaces were also brilliant, the immediate garden was very peaceful and overlooked a field out to the sea and mountains and we enjoyed being outside and saw a lovely sunset whilst we were there. The property also backs onto a wood, which we explored and walked through it to the local beach. Ciara and her family were very helpful and friendly, offering advice, board games, bikes whatever we needed really, which made us feel very at home. The only slight downside was the small main bedroom, but that was really very minor given the amazing time we had at the Oak Barn and we would recommend it to anyone as a place to relax and unwind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Helpfulness of the owners
Liked least: Small main bedroom
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
ThankQ so much for the positive review.... we really enjoyed having you at the Oak Barn, wonderful family, very respectful.. and thank you for all your ideas especially the nature walks... Ciara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing