We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Recession Buster in Castlebar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Welcome Inn Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castlebar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Welcome Inn Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Castlebar
Tuam, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recession Buster in Castlebar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I organised an end of year night away/bonding night for a group of male footballers in Castlebar recently. We stayed in the Welcome Inn and I found it to be excellent. I dealt with Martha and Aisling in the lead up to our trip and found both to be well organised and extremely efficient. We got a very competitive group rate which included a breakfast in the morning as well as entry to the nightclub. The hotel is located right in the centre of the town, near all the best pubs and restaurants and was exactly what we we were looking for. There is free parking and all staff were very friendly and helpful. The residents bar was open and there was no problem with a few drinks after the nightclub. Some players were late for breakfast (because of said residents bar!) and the staff still produced a breakfast for them. Also when some of the group had some drinks in the bar next morning the staff produced some finger food(chips, sausages, chicken nuggets) free of charge. I have organised a number of such trips in the past and have rarely been as pleased as I was with the Welcome Inn. I would highly recommend the hotel for any groups on such a trip and for value for money, it would be hard to beat it. I will definitely be going back with groups in the future.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Laoch1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    14
    13
    15
    15
See reviews for
11
8
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Kerry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed in the hotel Sunday night of the August bank holiday and was greeted by two friendly girls behind reception who were both very helpful and let myself and my husband view the room before we took it, the room was fine very spacious bathroom could do with being updated but was still fine, when we went back downstairs, the girls told us it was E40 each for the room, excellent value, we were then informed that there was a nightclub on but we were on the quiet side of the hotel & should not hear anything, thankfully this was true as we were both tired from a long drive, if I am up this end of the country again I will definitely stay in this hotel, thanks for all the extra help girls directions ect!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryBernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed here for 9 nights on a business trip at very good price bed and breakfast. rooms very basic and although slightly basic and dated rooms are comfortable size, flatscreen television and breakfast made to order. Free parking and location very central. Ate dinner in bar twice which was also nice. Staff very friendly and nice

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etravelsdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

I organised a training course in the Welcome Inn over a weekend in June 2011. The Manager and Staff were extremely helpful whilst organising the event. The students feedback was very positive and they found their stay very enjoyable. The conference facilities were perfect for the students. The Staff were always friendly and helpful and would adopt to suit our needs. The food was of a a high standard and plentiful.

A big "Thank You" to the Welcome Inn for their hospitality.

Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank raymalanaphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

I stayed here on 23.4.11, and i do agree that the rooms could do with a bit of t.l.c, however, the welcome i got was excellent, as a manager myself, the young girl who was working, you would be happy to have work for you! nothing was a hassle! as im from coleraine in the north and my partner is from ballina, i do stay in different places quite a bit-but this is by far the best!, and i will definately book again! thanks!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ballinacomayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

At the end of the day it was a roof over my head and a bed to sleep in, but...

General upkeep of the hotel in general leaves a bit to be desired. Now, the room at first glance seemd quite reasonable, but upon drawing back the net curtain to see out, the curtain pole fell down - had a look and it wasn't actually attached, just a spring loaded effort that didn't fit right. Not a huge deal.

Next, a little surprise - a jacuzzi! While filling up, I noticed a lidless shower gel/shampoo container on the bath - presumably from a previous occupant. Add to that a couple of hairs of 'intimate origin', and I wasa bit reluctant to have this jacuzzi... Not to worry as it didn't actually work anyway! Had a dip anyway and had a lovely view of the cracked ceiling complete with a huge damp stain, probably from a previous leak.

As the internet wireless connection didn't reach the top floor, I tried to phone reception, but no dialling tone. Upon closer inspection, it wasn't surprising given the state of the wiring at the telephone socket. After trawling away down to reception, they knew about the fault (so whay hadn't they fixed it??)

Anyway, back up to the room and time for a coffee after a long journey from Dublin. Picked up the cup in the room, only to see a big lipstick mark on it, which wiped off easily enough, so I guess it just hadn't been cleaned...

Night time was OK, apart from some noisy contraption outside below my window that made a noise like a hot air balloon being filled with air. As it kept stopping and starting it was virtually impossible to zone out, so a sleepless night ensued. Didn't help me investigating the noise at 3 a.m., forgetting the collapsing curtain pole!

Meals and staff were adequate at least, if not exceptional, but for the price I wouldn't really expect it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rednap36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castlebar hotels

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

good location. hotel in need of a coat of paint. had no seperate shower only a shower head over a jacuzzi bath(which didnt work). shower had very low pressure which would have been a problem if we were staying for more than one night.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariatipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
1.9 km away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 8 in Castlebar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.3 km away
Breaffy Woods Hotel
Breaffy Woods Hotel
#4 of 8 in Castlebar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.9 km away
TF Royal Hotel and Theatre
TF Royal Hotel and Theatre
#5 of 8 in Castlebar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 km away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
31.6 km away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
0.7 km away
The Connaught Inn
The Connaught Inn
#8 of 17 in Castlebar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welcome Inn Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welcome Inn Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Property: The Welcome Inn Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Address: | New Antrim Street, Castlebar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Castlebar
Hotel Class:2 star — The Welcome Inn Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Welcome Hotel Castlebar
The Welcome Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing