We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Award winning food and service”
Review of Mangos Restaurant - CLOSED

Mangos Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Award winning food and service”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

If you like good sea food cooked to perfection this is the spot. It was my birthday and I wanted a place that did good sea food but also offered something different. It was a friend who recommend the place and I am glad I went with her suggestion.
I had the award winning Black pudding and Scallops to start and I can see why they won an award for it. It was mouth watering. My friends had the mango salad, seafood starter and Oysters. All were perfect. The mains again were gorgeous and we cleared the plates. We got side orders with all mains which we didnt need or eat because the servings were perfect.
The staff were very friendly and there was a lovely feel about the place.

I would highly recommend it and I'll be back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johannawhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    114
    53
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Westport March 2012”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Mangos was recommended by Larry at Porterhouse Pub on Bridge Street. The food and wine were excellent. It is small place with a great atmosphere. The South African house wines were excellent. The mussels in a white sause was delicious. The prize winning black pudding was also excellent.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Meade J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

went to this restauranton the 2nd feb 2012 while staying in westport, we did not have a booking but as it was early in the evening we were given a table, we went for the early bird menu which was only E20 each for two courses it had good choice of starter and main courses and was great value we will be back next time we are in the area i would recomend anyone going for a meal after 18.30 to book a table as it was getting very busy as we left.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank joshnamrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food,”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Very tasty food, portions could be a little bigger.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GalwayGal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Seafood treat!”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Very nice restaurant...great for seafood.. we had crab claws and scallops... yummy... we will be back!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dee2ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mangos Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing