We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas Mansion”

Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park
Ranked #7 of 44 things to do in Westport
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Westport House and Pirate Adventure Park has welcomed over 4 million visitors with its range of heritage, family-fun, camping and adventure activity offerings. From small beginnings of 2,700 visitors in 1960, it has become one of Ireland’s best loved attractions and was recently voted one of the Best Family Visitor Attractions in Ireland by Primary Times magazine. One of those rare attractions, it appeals to everyone in the family with its extraordinary mixture of-- history and heritage in this 18th century historic house with 4 permanent exhibitions, over 30 rooms open to the public, guided and self-guide tours, tea rooms and gift shops-- the fun of the Pirate Adventure Park – a primarily outdoor amusement park best suited to the under 12’s which features water and swinging ship rides, train, swan Pedaloe boats, slides, playgrounds, pitch & putt and in-door soft play area-- exhilaration with the adventure activities such as zorbing, archery and water sports-- child-friendly fun in its varied events calendar with our Fireworks Extravaganza, Halloween Fest and Winter Wonderland being highlights-- the family-friendly Caravan & Camping Park in the gorgeous park and woodland setting with excellent amenities. Owned and operated by the Browne Family, who have been onsite for over 300 years and can trace their roots back to Grace O’Malley, the Pirate Queen of Connaught, Westport House provides a full days fun – and more to any visitor to the West. The jewel in the crown of the West, you cannot visit Mayo without stopping in. We look forward to welcoming you.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Xmas Mansion”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Such a beautiful mansion. Weather was bad so didn't get to do boating or zorbing but there's so much to see inside the mansion itself. Loved it. They have an Xmas decorated special all around the house at the moment. Well worth a view

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Con_Keppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granuaile2009, Director of Sales at Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Con_Keppel -

Thanks so much for coming to see us and for writing about it, we genuinely appreciate it. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed the House in all is Christmas finery - we are very proud of how lovely it looks so it does our heart good to hear that you likewise enjoyed! You'll have to come back and visit another time to try out all the other activities available on site.

All the best -

Biddy Hughes, Director of Sales & Marketing, Westport House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    214
    103
    60
    36
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for the kids”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Great for the small ones, lots to do for the day. A bit pricey for a family.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ginger100Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granuaile2009, Director of Sales at Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Ginger100Dublin -

Thanks so much for coming to see us and for your positive feedback. We are delighted to hear that you found the facility great for the kids -and hope that the grown ups enjoyed it too!

We feel that we're offering a quality experience and a full day's fun for a family in exchange for our ticket prices. I would encourage you to look at buying your ticket on our website to get discounts or to talk to your hotel - if staying in one - to obtain another good deal (discounted ticket and next day free). Hopefully, some useful food for thought if you're coming back to see us sometime.

Wishing you and yours all the very best for 2012 -

Biddy Hughes, Director of Sales & Marketing, Westport House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely grounds , interesting visit.”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Visited Westport House while on a weekend trip to Westport. Though it was interesting i didn't think it worth the 12euro entry charge. The grounds are very nice .

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jackiestu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granuaile2009, Director of Sales at Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Dear Jackiestu - thanks so much for coming to see us and for leaving your comments here. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and found the grounds pretty and the history interesting.

Regarding the price - I can see from you're from the UK where generally entrance fees to stately homes and gardens are indeed much lower priced - so I can appreciate why you might think it high in that context. However, you may not be aware that in Ireland and certainly Westport House, which is privately owned by the Browne family, we do not receive any state funding to assist in the upkeep, maintenance, promotions or operations of the House and gardens. You might be glad to know that the family funnels all proceeds from ticket sales back into the house and estate so that we can continue to deliver this quality experience for our visitors. I hope this helps explain the cost a little.

Again, thanks for your visit and your feedback. I hope you'll come back.

All the best -
Biddy Hughes, Director of Sales & Marketing, Westport House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Lots of watery fun!”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We visited in July, for our children to enjoy the Adventure Park. Having already visited plenty of historical attractions across County Mayo, this was top attraction on my daughter's wish list.

We didn't wish to visit the House itself, as our autistic 4 year old son may have wrecked the place, so we asked at the visitor reception beside the carpark , where you pay entry, whether it was possible to pay into the Adventure Park only? Unfortunately you can't. It's a set rate which includes the House and the adventure park. I think it would be great if you were given an alternative entry fee if you just wanted to go to the park.

Anyway, we headed first to the go carts, opposite the reception area. The guy who was on duty here was a natural with kids. He was a great ambassador for the place. Very friendly.
We then made use of the toilets above reception, and the soft play area, where my son spent about 20mins. My son also spent some time in the outdoor kids playground. Nice safe area.

Next we headed for the park, passing the Zorbing on the way. It looked great fun, and I think it was definitely worth paying the extra to go on, judging by the faces of the people coming out the exit. We didn't go on ... Too scary for us 40-something.

We walked straight to the Lake, and queued to go on a swan boat. The queue moved at a steady pace, appropriate life jackets were provided, and staff were very good at helping everyone in and out of the boats. After some pedaling we decided it was time to return our swan boat and to have a ride on the mini train. My son loves mini-trains, and this one didn't disappoint. It also provided our first view of the Adventure Park rides.

Having managed to stay dry so far, my 11 yr old daughter persuaded me to accompany her onto the log flume. The guy manning this ride let everyone have a second lap of the ride if they wanted to. This was appreciated, and again the queue moved along quickly enough. Having been on the log flume 5 times in total, I was soaked from head to foot. Advice to those wanting to ride the log flume, bring waterproof footwear or a change of footwear as there is water inside some of the boats, about 2 or 3 inches deep. Also, the person who sits on the back seat stays drier than the one who sits in front, so choose your seat wisely! We loved this ride despite getting soaked to the skin. It's a water ride so you can't really complain if you get wet on it. I think that there's an opportunity for Westport House to sell disposable waterproof ponchos, with their logo on. Anyone seeing the wet people get off the log flume might pay an extra euro or two to stay dry! It'd also be a nice souvenir, and with our Irish weather being as unpredictable as it is, they are a handy item to have in your bag.

After the log flume we were too wet to go on the boat swing. It looked very frightening too. My son enjoyed the bouncy castles. I agree with the earlier reviewer who suggested additional seating in this area.

After all the excitement of the log flume we had a long walk back to the car park, with water squelching out of us at every step.
If we return to Westport, which I'm sure we will, I'm sure that we'd return here again, and definitely try to see everything before getting soaked on the log flume.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ash1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granuaile2009, Director of Sales at Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Ash - thanks for taking the time to review us and indeed, for visiting us this past summer. It truly sounds like you and the family had a blast - your account of the visit from the soft play area through to the train and Log flume was a pleasure to read. I'm glad you found the activities entertaining and the staff helpful. To your suggestions: you know, we do indeed provide ponchos for the water ride - for your exact reasoning :) They're a must have!

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again real soon.

All the best -
Biddy Hughes, Director of Sales & Marketing, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Very disappointed with Westport House”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Visited Wesport House during mid-term break and found it very disappointing and poor value for money - cost 59 euro for 2 adults and 2 children. The staff member we met at the Admissions Desk was very unfriendly and unhelpful. My children enjoyed the water log ride but apart from that there was little to do or see. There was no lighting on in the main house upstairs and the shutters were closed so we literally couldn't see a thing! When I enquired downstairs I was told by the lady in charge that she was on her own and couldn't leave the desk. The activities were only suitable for under 10' s - mine are 12 and 14 and weren't impressed! Didn't see any tour of the house and didn't hear there was one available. So apart from the log ride we were not impressed.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank trixiebelle2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granuaile2009, Director of Sales at Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Trixibelle -

Thanks for visiting us and for taking the time to share your comments here. I'm sorry to hear that you and the family were disappointed in your visit to Halloween Fest. And particularly so to hear that you found our staff unhelpful...we do our best to deliver a warm welcome at the Ticket Office. We will investigate this further.

With regards to the House: the shutters were indeed closed and the lights on dim as we were in Halloween mode with the House playing a Haunted House. As such, there were no heritage tours running that week. And yes indeed, most of our attractions and activities are targeted at the under 12 year olds - although, we had some tween and teenagers enjoying the Jack O'Lantern Carving as well as the Dance Workshop. Although, I can absolutely appreciate that they might not have been your children's "cup of tea". In fact, our adventure activities might have been appropriate for your 12 yr and 14 yr olds e.g. the zorbing or archery? These may be something to consider if you return to see us.

Again, thanks for stopping by here Trixibelle, we appreciate your custom and your comments.

Sincerely -
Biddy Hughes, Director of Sales & Marketing, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park also viewed

 
Westport, County Mayo
 

Been to Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing