We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Overpriced and underwhelming” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park

Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park
Ranked #6 of 42 things to do in Westport
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Westport House and Pirate Adventure Park has welcomed over 4 million visitors with its range of heritage, family-fun, camping and adventure activity offerings. From small beginnings of 2,700 visitors in 1960, it has become one of Ireland’s best loved attractions and was recently voted one of the Best Family Visitor Attractions in Ireland by Primary Times magazine. One of those rare attractions, it appeals to everyone in the family with its extraordinary mixture of-- history and heritage in this 18th century historic house with 4 permanent exhibitions, over 30 rooms open to the public, guided and self-guide tours, tea rooms and gift shops-- the fun of the Pirate Adventure Park – a primarily outdoor amusement park best suited to the under 12’s which features water and swinging ship rides, train, swan Pedaloe boats, slides, playgrounds, pitch & putt and in-door soft play area-- exhilaration with the adventure activities such as zorbing, archery and water sports-- child-friendly fun in its varied events calendar with our Fireworks Extravaganza, Halloween Fest and Winter Wonderland being highlights-- the family-friendly Caravan & Camping Park in the gorgeous park and woodland setting with excellent amenities. Owned and operated by the Browne Family, who have been onsite for over 300 years and can trace their roots back to Grace O’Malley, the Pirate Queen of Connaught, Westport House provides a full days fun – and more to any visitor to the West. The jewel in the crown of the West, you cannot visit Mayo without stopping in. We look forward to welcoming you.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Overpriced and underwhelming”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Like the previous reviewer I visited this property in off season (March 2012) when only the house was open. I was surprised at the steep cost of the entrance to the house (12 euro each) however we paid and hoped for the best. The Grace O'Malley aspect of the house was interesting but otherwise it is just another stately home with the exception that it is still privately owned. Whilst it is nice to help support the continued existence of the house, I have to say that 12 euros was just too expensive for what was on offer.
There is no doubt that I have been spoilt, and therefore my expectations have been heightened by my many visits to UK National Trust run properties which generally offer more at a fraction of the cost.
I have to say i felt a little hoodwinked upon finishing my visit to Westport House.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank njc1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granuaile2009, Interim Sales & Marketing Manager at Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear njc1978,

I am glad you found the Grace O'Malley experience interesting. As you'll know from your visit Westport House was built by the Browne family, who are direct descendants of the Pirate Queen. It is still privately owned and run by the family, and as such all maintenance costs are funded through the business. If we were in receipt of state grants (such as many of those you visited in the UK), we would be able to offer a much lower admission fee.

Not all stately homes are made equal though, and we'd like to think Westport House has quite alot to offer! There are 30 rooms and 4 exhibitions on view at Westport House, and all artwork is original. Between the house and the grounds, you could easily spend 2-3 hours. In those terms, it's not so bad value for money (comparable to same length of time in cinema, or doing other social activities).

I do understand that the price can seem expensive compared to state funded homes, but I hope you can appreciate that we're in a different position and have considerable costs to cover.

Kind regards,

Hilda Carroll - Interim Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    211
    96
    56
    32
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Only Ok!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

While in Westport we went to the Westport house, the Pirate park had already closed for the season at that stage so it was just the house available. The grounds are stunning and we went for a walk around and the house itself is beautiful but we both felt that it wasn't really worth what they charge for it. It was nice to see it once while we were there but I wouldn't go back, probably prefer to use the money to see or do something else in the locality.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank claregirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granuaile2009, Interim Sales & Marketing Manager at Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear claregirl86,

Thank you for your kind comments about the House and grounds. We have to agree with you, that it really is beautiful! With regards the price, Westport House is a privately owned estate which doesn't receive any state funding. As you can imagine, it requires a great deal of funding to maintain the house and grounds and this comes from our admission charges. As our own expenses continue to increase, we have no option, unfortunately, but to reflect that in our admission fees.

I'm sorry you missed the Pirate Adventure Park. I see you visited in September, and it is indeed closed at that time. As it mainly draws a family crowd, it is open during all school holidays, and that really does provide a full day's worth of activity. Hopefully at another time, you'll come visit us again and feel differently about the value for money.

Kind regards,

Hilda Carroll - Interim Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2 days not enough time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed in nearby Habrour Mill apartments - they have discounted family 2 day pass for Westport House. We spent about 5 hours there for 2 days during Easter 2011, kids had a ball could have went back another day. We went on the swan pedallos, through the museum-like Westport House, kids enjoyed rides at the Pirate Park, went on go-karts, mini-golf, min-train ride, cannonball run (30 fr slide), soft play are and bouncy castles.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank KiDdoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granuaile2009, Director of Sales at Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear KiDoh,

We're so glad you found so much to do during your visit here, and hope you'll be back again for Easter 2012. The Adventure Park is open for the entire Easter Holidays and we have plenty to do for all the family.

Best regards, Hilda Carroll, Interim Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballymena
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“westport house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

unfortunately the house was closed when we visited but the grounds were lovely

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
339 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Wonderful family day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Westport House just gets better and better. The staff are friendly and great with kids. It's a great place to go for a family day out, with so much to do and see and the grown ups can visit Westport House which is magnificent

Helpful?
Thank Inscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granuaile2009, Director of Sales at Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Inscribe - thanks so much for your lovely feedback. It does our heart good to hear that our visitors enjoy themselves. And that you found the staff helpful :)
Happy new year to you and yours -

Best wishes -
Biddy Hughes, Director of Sales & Marketing, Westport House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park also viewed

 

Been to Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing