We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing”
Review of Hotel Westport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Westport
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2011

First impression very dated hotel.
Stayed in premiere room.
Rooms very dark even on sunny days - inadequate lighting for reading in bedrooms and at mirror in bathroom.
Bed uncomfortable. Very poor nights sleep. nothing special about these rooms.
Very nice bathroom with seperate shower and bath. Nice finish but dark.
Food is really good.
Staff pay more attention to coach tours than other guests ..used breakfast dishes piled up and were through 2 course before they were cleared.
Leisure facilities ok children enjoyed the pool.
Liked Westport and hotel is in good location but wouldn't return.
Holiday for relaxation and left anything but...

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank erneway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,103)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Westport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

963 - 969 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2011

Stayed with my family and one year old son. From check in to checking out the staff were exceptional. Had our meal in the restaurant the first night and it was lovely. It is adjoining the Westport house where there are loads of activities for the kids but unfortunately we didn't have the weather to avail of this so settled for the lovely indoor swimming pool at the hotel. Treated myself to a spa package in the Ocean Spirit spa which was fab and highly recommended. Overall couldn't fault this hotel in any way.

Room Tip: Great deals on booking.com which included dinner
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dromcill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

spent a few days family break , it was great staff so helpfull friendly collett was excellent
children had a great time. we had a great time .

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louiserebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

The hotel is conveniently located and within walking distance of the town but to be honest that's probably the only real advantage it has over some of its rivals. First off, it's not a 4 star in my view. My room was outdated - the bathroom in particular was very jaded, some of the tiles were yellowing and cracked. I agree completely with the previous reviewer about the wi-fi access, it was poor and intermittent. The worst part was the bill - I stayed in a twin room which cost €150 for the night which I felt in no way represented value for money. Worse still, three other guys in our party paid €320 per night for a triple room which I thought was outrageous. So, be very careful when booking this hotel online that you're not getting ripped off. I stayed in the Knockranny House last month and there's no comparison in terms of quality or value for money, I would go for the Knockranny every time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank roytheboy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Stayed here as nearly all the hotels in Westport were full and needed somewhere to stay, went for room one up from basic room, was clean and fine but had strange smell in the corridors....like a sick or damp smell...

They say there is WiFi, and when i rang reception to ask why my WiFi was not working properly in the room, I was given a sarcastic response that maybe my iPad was broken or i had a firewall......far from this actually the WiFi could only be picked up by the door, however I did not want to sit in the wardrobe to use my iPad and if I wanted to sit in the room or bed the WiFi would cut out....so that was a bit annoying....

the bar area was packed as football was on and a wedding (most the male guests had obviously slipped out to watch the game :) ) however this meant there was limited space and we could not get a space until the game was nearly....went into town for dinner and found a nice place to eat there.

Only had breakfast at the hotel, wasn't over-impressed, the food was all sitting out buffet style but didn't look completely clean, and you had to make your own toast through the machine. The breakfast is included in the rate always so ok if you want cereal or just a piece of bread or croissant.

If returning to Westport in future I would try one of the other hotels first.....however the bedroom is clean, just not worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Charlottes-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Stayed here one night to escape building site at our home! Very enjoyable stay only wish it had been longer. Very friendly and helpful staff. Have to mention "Panda Club". Our nine year old son had a ball and we had many hours to relax. Very well run and naturally hospitable.

Rían: (9yrs) Loved the Panda Club & Breakfast Train and well done to Michael (Panda Club Staff). Food & Service was really nice. Will definetly come back for longer stay. :)

Dad: Forgot what hospitality used to be. The management have got it right! Broadband coverage faultless.

Mum: Great value & service. Food great and plenty of staff.

Five stars easily!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coadyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel for my sons Holy Communion and a large group of our family members also stayed with us to celebrate the special occasion. From the minute we arrived the receptionists were just so helpfull and friendly especially Kathleen, and we were given a complimentary upgrade to a beautiful room which we greatly appreciated. I realy caint rave enough about this hotel. Staff in all the departments are just genuinely friendly and helpfull and even Tony in the leisure centre couldnt do enough for us and its hard to find hotels that are like this anymore and so for that reason thats why they have so many great reviews. Oh and the beds OMG they are sooo comfy and the food is also very good we all sat down on the Sunday night to a beautiful meal all 26 of us and its very unusual to please everyone and let me tell you they did everyone just could stop talking about the beef it was devine and yet again the staff were great. Also I got to experience the spa as a birthday pressie and I got a few treatments done by a lovely lady by the name of Angela so relaxing and enjoyable. We enjoyed our stay sooo much that we stayed for 2 extra nights at a great rate. Only one negative and that was the weather it was dreadfull but it didnt hamper our trip we still tried to make the best of it. This hotel is a fantasic base to explore Westport and the west what a beautiful county so much to do and see just breathtaking. I would have no hesitation in recommending Hotel Westport to family and friends. And would like to thank everyone for making our trip such an enjoyable and memorable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millie21Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.4 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
976 reviews
0.9 km away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,084 reviews
0.3 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,095 reviews
1.3 km away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,414 reviews
0.6 km away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westport

Address: Newport Road, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Price Range: $170 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westport 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Westport is secluded in 7 acres of beautiful woodland in the heart of Westport, Co. Mayo. They are renowned for their theme breaks, Golden Years, Golf, Walking, Murder Mystery, Bridge, Indoor Bowling, Theatre Breaks and Family Holidays.The Hotel has 129 bedrooms including 6 Suites and 48 newly extended and refurbished Premier Rooms, offering guests a more luxury and stylish sophistication. Other facilities include their Award Winning Ocean Spirit Spa & Leisure, Hair Salon, Maple Bar and Islands Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing