We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful,quiet,in the town yet in a secluded location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Westport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Westport
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Beautiful,quiet,in the town yet in a secluded location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Beautiful,quiet,in the town yet in a secluded location, lovely hotel by the riverside.
Nice pool with this hotel & always seems to be quiet so you can relax.We have been here 3 times & cannot say anything wrong about it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    304
    108
    52
    27
See reviews for
288
379
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

I cannot recommend this Hotel enough. The staff - all the staff - are wonderful and that includes the restaurant staff.
About the restaurant - we purchased the meal plan with our 3 day reservation. We expected the usual meal plan - pick beef or chicken, etc. Unbelievably, every menu, every night was a 3 to 4 course meal with 8 or 10 special chef creations for each course - and each meal, each course, was exceptional.
The reason we chose the Hotel Westport was its location to town - a 100 yard walk - so you were away from town but did not have to drive to enjoy a pint at Matt Malloy's. But the hotel was so much more than that.

What a great time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maithgoleor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

had a great midweek stay here last month. fantastic hotel. staff friendly and nothing was a problem for them, what ever you needed. food was lovely i had the steak. the room was also nice. shower and decor of room upto date and nothing looking worn. will be back for another stay here soon i hope.

Room Tip: just book this place you will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NEILMCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights last week mid week. Overall I really enjoyed staying in the hotel however I wasn't able to give te hotel 5 stars due to the bedrooms.
Positives of hotel -
- great location. Only 5 min walk from centre of town and right beside Weatport house.
- the staff are so friendly, genuine & very efficient. It's rare to find that ever staff member we encountered were top class
- the food in the restaurant was fabulous. We couldn't fault any dishes we got. Breakfast as wll each morning was great quality. The hot food seemed to be freshly cooked regularly. Great selection of cereals as well.
- The lobby and the bar were very comfortable spaces

Negatives
- the only negative I can find is that the bedroom we had was dated and from the state of the bathroom and furniture in the room, they hadnt been updated in many years. You can pay €10 pp per night to upgrade to a new room but in reality you expect the type of Tom the newer rooms are from a hotel now days as standard. I think the dated rooms lets down an otherwise fabulous hotel

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Great family holiday, wonderful service, spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable. Good food. Only tiny drawback is that bedroom doors slam quite loudly when guests don't hold them and as we were right next door to the honeymoon suite we almost needed a cigarette ourselves afterwards!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank endas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights at the weekend whilst visiting family. The hotel room was of a good size, clean and well stocked with Coffee & Tea (no biscuits though). The only minus point was the toilet paper which reminded me of school. We ate in the bar when we arrived which was good value and breakfast was fine. All of the staff we encountered were polite, helpful and friendly and a credit to the the hotel. I would definitely return to this hotel, but look forward too softer potty paper!
Westport town is lovely and a credit to the people who live there. Lot's to see and the scenery is stunning. If you go you must visit the pubs and a trad music session, just don't lose count of the Smithwicks you drink!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stumbled on Westport Ireland while travelling. With no reservations, we stopped in on Hotel Westport. We were told 38 Euros per person including breakfast and this seemed reasonable. The hotel is in a quiet and secluded setting off the beaten path which is fine. Restaurants and bars are easily walkable. The hotel is very quiet. Lots of elderly folks so very little noise in the restaurant and hotel bar. The room we received is not as trendy in decor as the ones pictured but it is still very nice. Bed was comfy. Bathroom was large. Water pressure was excellent. Breakfast was very good and plentiful. Service was excellent. Grocery store is down the street. There are other very trendy places in town but priced much higher. This was a solid choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quail84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.4 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.6 km away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
0.3 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
1.4 km away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#6 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
0.3 km away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westport

Property: Hotel Westport
Address: Newport Road, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westport 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Westport is secluded in 7 acres of beautiful woodland in the heart of Westport, Co. Mayo. They are renowned for their theme breaks, Golden Years, Golf, Walking, Murder Mystery, Bridge, Indoor Bowling, Theatre Breaks and Family Holidays.The Hotel has 129 bedrooms including 6 Suites and 48 newly extended and refurbished Premier Rooms, offering guests a more luxury and stylish sophistication. Other facilities include their Award Winning Ocean Spirit Spa & Leisure, Hair Salon, Maple Bar and Islands Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing