We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Westport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Westport
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Two nights on family break with one dinner included.
Reception/Staff- Helpful, except the personnel from Bistro.
Food - You can find around muck better places for quality and price.
Room - Old and poor equipped (old TV set, old bathroom, no good duvets or pillows)
Leisure/Pool - The only good thing in the hotel.
Internet access - Poor Wi-Fi quality in the room, OK in the lobby/reception.
Unfortunately, will never come back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sandiebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    316
    110
    52
    27
See reviews for
300
389
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
athy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Loved the location of this hotel, quiet and secluded, but within a short stroll of the town centre and Westport House. The staff were fantastic, couldn't do enough for us to make our stay enjoyable. We upgraded our room as we were travelling with two small children and it was well worth it as the rooms were spacious and well appointed. The breakfast was ok, it kept the hunger from the door, but I think the quality and standard is something this hotel can look into to really compete with the other Westport hotels.Sleep quality was a factor, the beds were very soft, the pillows very hard and the duvet cover was far too big for the duvet....seemingly a small niggle but surprisingly annoying at 3am!!! I was also irritated by the fact that the children had to be out of the pool by 6pm. I felt this was unreasonably early for a 'family' hotel meaning if we wanted to avail of the pool we had to be back in the hotel before 5pm and this was not practical and clashed with swimming lessons held in the pool as well. I think the hotel should consider extending this to 7pm for the summer months, which I would consider acceptable, still allowing the adults 'child free' time for three hours. Other than that little gripe, we loved the seperate toddlers pool, our little lady took her first strokes without a supporting hand....and the 'bubble pool' as our son christened it. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay and will keep it in mind if we return to Westport again.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can, we felt it was worth the small premium for the modern, extra comforts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luliec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Attended a family wedding at the hotel on Friday of the bank holiday weekend and have to say that the whole experience was fantastic and this is down to the wonderful staff. From Noreen at Reception who checked us in to the Accommodation supervisor who sorted us out with a sewing kit for emergency repairs to a dress hem, the amazing Panda Club staff who kept the kids entertained, serving staff at the wedding and restaurant staff at breakfast, especially the young trainee manager with long dark hair ( sorry I can't remember your name ).
Only small piece of constructive criticism is that while the food at the reception was piping hot, plentiful and tasty the service was disjointed with no manager seeming to take control of the room and direct staff, Obviously this was managed from the pass but the instruction seemed lost when staff hit the floor.
Hotel was spotless with rooms having all of the usual amenties with the added bonus that the function room is located to the opposite side of the hotel to the bedroom block meaning no music or smokers outside disrupting non wedding guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snudge73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

My wife and I and our 2 kids stayed for 2 nights and from first greeting everything was absolutely first class. Our room was great size and absolutely spotless. We had lunch in the bar on both days and the food was excellent but the service provided by colleen was exceptional,she is a great asset to the hotel. The bar manager John is a very warm and welcoming person willing to help with any query. Overall we had a great stay and hope to be back soon !!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b00b0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Beautiful,quiet,in the town yet in a secluded location, lovely hotel by the riverside.
Nice pool with this hotel & always seems to be quiet so you can relax.We have been here 3 times & cannot say anything wrong about it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

I cannot recommend this Hotel enough. The staff - all the staff - are wonderful and that includes the restaurant staff.
About the restaurant - we purchased the meal plan with our 3 day reservation. We expected the usual meal plan - pick beef or chicken, etc. Unbelievably, every menu, every night was a 3 to 4 course meal with 8 or 10 special chef creations for each course - and each meal, each course, was exceptional.
The reason we chose the Hotel Westport was its location to town - a 100 yard walk - so you were away from town but did not have to drive to enjoy a pint at Matt Malloy's. But the hotel was so much more than that.

What a great time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maithgoleor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

had a great midweek stay here last month. fantastic hotel. staff friendly and nothing was a problem for them, what ever you needed. food was lovely i had the steak. the room was also nice. shower and decor of room upto date and nothing looking worn. will be back for another stay here soon i hope.

Room Tip: just book this place you will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEILMCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.4 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.6 km away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
0.3 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
0.3 km away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
4.6 km away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westport

Property: Hotel Westport
Address: Newport Road, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westport 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Westport is secluded in 7 acres of beautiful woodland in the heart of Westport, Co. Mayo. They are renowned for their theme breaks, Golden Years, Golf, Walking, Murder Mystery, Bridge, Indoor Bowling, Theatre Breaks and Family Holidays.The Hotel has 129 bedrooms including 6 Suites and 48 newly extended and refurbished Premier Rooms, offering guests a more luxury and stylish sophistication. Other facilities include their Award Winning Ocean Spirit Spa & Leisure, Hair Salon, Maple Bar and Islands Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing