We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seapoint House a must for any trip to Ireland”
Review of Seapoint House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seapoint House
Ranked #24 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Couldn’t have been more delighted with Seapoint House. Coastal views from room balcony are sensational, but just the beginning. Immaculate spacious accommodation with incredibly helpful owner. We’ve stayed in guest houses all over Ireland, and never found anyone who met our needs so thoroughly. For setting, 4-star comfort and hospitality, highest rating.

Room Tip: Ask for deluxe balcony room with Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chantal--Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

This perfectly located, comfy/elegant lodging was exactly what we wanted: out in the country with water views, near Westport (beautiful Georgian town), with super food, charming hosts, adorable family activity... and all the mod cons. With the addition of the bicycle/walking path to Westport, this location could be everyone's idea of ideal. Clew Bay is one of Ireland's premier geographical beauty spots, I think, and Seapoint House is halfway between Westport and Newport, thus on the way to Achill Island. Fortified daily with the full Irish breakfast, we had energy to drive or walk to everywhere we wanted to visit, and easily be back for a nap before supper in the town. Carol's citified taste makes the rooms feel swanky, but always comfortable and beautifully clean and modern. This family inn has it all going for it.

Room Tip: Our room's windows faced the Bay... glorious view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marshall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is our favorite place to stay. Anywhere! It is located right by Clew Bay. As a photographer I can not think of a better place to stay. It is about 2 miles of the main road between Westport and Newport. Far enough away for peace and quite, yet very close and easy to head toward Westport or head the other direction to Achill Island. So far we have been 4 times, up to two weeks. We will be back many more times. It is a magical location. If you are looking for a quite place without all the hustle and bustle of the city or the noise from staying in a hotel, I can recommend The Seapoint House without question.

To top it all off you will never meet nicer people then Carol and her husband. We love her kids too. I would say you get to see the real Ireland when you stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishFanVirginiaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The house is situated in a magical place, by the sea, in the west of Ireland, on Clew bay, surrounded by beautiful brisk walks and at about 8 or 9 miles from Westport.
It is quiet, tastefully decorated and impeccably clean, with white cotton sheets and towels in the rooms and white table cloths for breakfast. A fire going in the big sitting room and beautiful books on local places on the coffee table..
Carol is delightful in her presence and her attitude towards her guests, as is her breakfast helping lady. I love the fact that she manages to bring up her children and be an effective business woman, with the help of her farmer husband!
It is located at about 3 miles from Rosmoney pier, where one takes the boats for both the local sailing school and the Glénans sailing school in Collanmore. As we and two of our children were visiting our other child, who is staying at the moment in the last one, it was ideal for us. We had a lovely faimiy time!
The magic of the west of Ireland was relived, even for only one short and rainy weekend! Thank you, Carol.

Room Tip: 3 rooms overlooking the sea. The other 3 are somehow smaller, but quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conchita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Lovely location, with a lovely walk across the causeway to the island. The welcome was lovely and warm, with our hosts showing us on a map our location and places to see and visit. Room was comfortable, with a lovely view over the bay from the french doors and a balcony too. Free wifi was useful for checking emails. Breakfast was traditional Irish, but plenty of other choices too. Local produce high on the menu, which pleased me, as I am a bit of a greeny :) Going back this weekend, another business trip, but I think I'll have to make more appointments here....

Room Tip: Very quiet, off the beaten track. We had a room on the front, with a view over the bay, don't kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EcowarriorIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We chose Seapoint House as opposed to somewhere in Westport , as it seemed to have a quiet location directly on Clew Bay. We were not disappointed - with glorious views of the bay from our room. Seapoint House is attractively furnished and with Carol being a most welcoming and helpful host, it a very pleasant place to spend a few days - or even longer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Just can't give this place enough praise but I think it's mostly down to the service that we received. Carol was very welcoming and on arrival we were offered scones with our tea. The rooms were lovely - nothing spectacular but everything you want and need in a room. Carol was very accommodating as we had some champagne and beer with us and she made sure we had champagne flutes and a cool bag for the beers. The breakfast was fab - great selection and lovely treacle bread and homemade jams. The setting of the place is just lovely with nice views over the bay but beware its probably further out of Westport than you think - but worth the drive! We'll hopefully return some day.....enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
11.4 km away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
6.2 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,012 reviews
7.3 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 13 in Westport
1,107 reviews
7.9 km away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Westport
1,469 reviews
7.4 km away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Westport
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seapoint House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seapoint House

Address: Kilmeena, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: $140 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seapoint House is situated on the waters edge amidst the islands of of Clew bay. It is a place of tranquility and extreme natural beauty. Ideal base for walking, fishing, kayaking, sailing, horse riding. Beside Clew Bay 9 hole golf course and only 9 Km from the award winning historical town of Westport providing Traditional pubs Seafood restaurants and good craic! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Seapoint House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing