We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what was needed to relax, refresh and feel looked after”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clare Island Lighthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Stayed in the Achill View room of the Clare Island Lighthouse, which overlooks Achill Island across the bay - stunning. From the off everything was lovely. We were collected from the short ferry crossing from Roonagh, took a quick tour around the lighthouse itself, right on the edge of europe. Our room was lovely, cozy warm and very comfortable. The 5 course Dinner was delicious and meeting with other guests was fun. Walks, relaxing by the fire, enjoying the scenary makes the Lighthouse a treat, and will you'll feel so refreshed. Excellent hospitality, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sguthrie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1954, General Manager at Clare Island Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Very happy you enjoyed your wee break at the Lighthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Wonderful island, great lighthouse and perfect hospitality! The perfect place to get away and enjoy the great outdoors. Getting to the lighthouse was a fun adventure and it just got better from there.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1954, General Manager at Clare Island Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017
Google Translation

Delighted !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed on 20-22nd Sept 2017.

Arrived on the ferry from Roonagh. Met two lovely sisters who were chatty and an American couple visiting island for 2nd time. Mix up on the harbour meant I was waiting for pick up and the Lighthouse team was there all along.

Manager disarmed me immediately sensing my grumpiness and could not have been more friendly. I was staying with a group of 11 or 12 Italians and the only solo traveller separate from the group.

Was hoping to meet several other
Travellers and enjoy the communal dining which I've done many times.

Didn't like them - inconsiderate / selfish / rude group who tried to dictate what time we ate and a number of other things. Had a 14 year old in group who should have been at school and no under 18's allowed. Their guide was a supercilious individual who had no awareness (didn't care) about anyone else's enjoyment or space.

Anyway team could sense it was awkward for me and made a fuss of me. I ate with the manager in 1st night and second I was invited into Kitchen for dinner. Manager showed me around Island as a special thing to do and showed me the lighthouse tower when Italians were out.
Food very good quality. Room comfortable. Location a one off.
I would recommend anyone goes but ensures they are in a mix of couples / solo's and not a bigger group who should either take the whole place or not dominate the stay. Island is beautiful and 2 days is enough. Glad I went. Disappointed I had to meet these horrible other inconsiderate travellers. Must say they even played the piano before dinner but couldn't play at all so it was like listening to a small child bang the keys. Such was their ignorance.

Would like to thank the team for doing their best to make me welcome and look after me. Hoping the 14 year old gets a serious detention when back at school and his parents a fine for taking him out of school term time !

No complaints about the team - lovely people. Great island. Worth a visit.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank GordonsBrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoieWestport, General Manager at Clare Island Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Thank you and really glad you enjoyed your stay with us despite your misgivings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

This was our second visit to the Lighthouse and yet again nothing was too much for our hosts. The attention to our needs was second to none and it always felt like they downplayed going that extra mile to ensure we had a lovely time. Book in here if you are lucky enough to get the chance... its a bucket-list experience not to be missed!

Room Tip: You are staying in a Lighthouse - you can't go wrong as the views everywhere are spectacular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1954, General Manager at Clare Island Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Was really delightful to see you back at the lighthouse and hopefully will see you again next year !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Had booked to stay at what looks like an extraordinary location in October four weeks ago. Got emailed to say booking was cancelled due to circumstances beyond their control. I felt Rachel was very sympathetic as I had spent hundreds of pounds on flights for this trip and had great difficulty in getting the time off work.

Another member of staff appeared unimpressed when I pointed out I had been short-changed in my deposit return (this was kindly returned.

Overall I'm very disappointed I wasn't able to stay at the venue and the situation has left me in a difficult position which is nobody's fault really.
I do feel the situation could have been communicated more effectively. Having lived and travelled extensively across the world I have rarely felt dismissed by a hospitality organisation. Maybe I've just been lucky.

The bluntness by the second staff member was more than was needed for business. Disappointed it happened in my homeland.

Stayed: September 2017
2  Thank McCloskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1954, General Manager at Clare Island Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

We are indeed truly sorry we had to cancel your booking and fully appreciate your disappointment. Once the booking was cancelled our main concern was to refund your deposit as quickly as possible. When you let us know there was a shortfall in the full refund amount due to admin charges we immediately refunded same. We are sincerely sorry you felt in any way dismissed as this was never our intention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

What a phenomenal place to stay! Few places in the world offer such fantastic sights, beautiful food and amazing hospitality. It is the perfect escape for complete relaxation. After exploring the island there is nothing better than returning to a cosy fire in the living area, crisp bedsheets and a warm welcome. The views from the lighthouse are breath taking along with the local fish that was served in both the Lighthouse and Sailors bar. Staying in the Clare Island Lighthouse is such a wonderful experience and one not to be missed!! We shall definitely be returning. xx

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1954, General Manager at Clare Island Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Delighted you had such a lovely time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We recently took the Ferry to Clare Island, and seen the light House, it's a B&B now so you can't tour it but it was still nice to see. It sits on the edge of the Island with some beautiful views and a nice quiet location.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank donegal52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1954, General Manager at Clare Island Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you, come and stay next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
28.7 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,024 reviews
30.3 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
977 reviews
31.4 km away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Westport
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 km away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 13 in Westport
1,113 reviews
30.6 km away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Westport
2,144 reviews
30.1 km away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 13 in Westport
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare Island Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare Island Lighthouse

Address: Westport, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Westport
Price Range: $190 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clare Island stands guard at the entrance to Clew Bay, off Ireland’s western Atlantic coast. For almost two centuries, the island’s lighthouse has been a nautical landmark perched high on the craggy cliffs, watching over Achill, Westport and beyond. Once a safe haven for sailors, this heritage property now offers accommodation and sanctuary of a different kind. Room rate includes bed, breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing